We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location for exploring ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa
Ranked #12 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good central location for exploring ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Very good central location for exploring Lisbon. Easy to get to from the airport. Near main sights and transport links. Location doesn't see much action at night but very easy to get to Barrio Alto from here.

Room large and spacious, quiet with comfy bed. Shower only - but a good one. Hairdryer decent, some toiletries provided. Free safe. Personally, I hate throws & cushions as they don't get cleaned regularly - the ones we had were a bit grubby (urgh!).

Staff pleasant with excellent English.

Quirky decor throughout. Gave it a unique, independent feel - bit hostel-like but better standards across the board.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rlhardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    243
    34
    5
    5
See reviews for
193
431
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This place is literally the best place to stay when exploring Lisbon. My boyfriend and I booked here over 3 nights during April. We booked it due to its location and is reasonable price. When were arrived, we were bowled over by the funky decor, extremely nice staff on reception (which is open 24 hours), cleanliness (which you don't often get with holiday apartments) and its extremely central location. We stayed in a studio apartment on the 3rd floor. It was about the size of a large hotel room, with small kitchenette, table and chairs, extremely comfortable double bed and full bathroom and shower with great water pressure. They were serviced every day and replenished with towels etc. They don't have the luxuries of staying in a hotel such as room service, breakfast and the like, but you're so centrally located to everything, that you don't mind that! There is a bar and pizzeria next door, we only ate here once, literally as we arrived as we were both starving. It was only okay. We never had breakfast here.
The apartments are located in a side street just off Rua Agusta which sits between Placa Comercial and Rossio Square. Heading the opposite direction, you are then in Chiado, with its designer shops and excellent restaurants.
If I go back to Lisbon, I'll definitely be back here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMCK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

4 of us had a 4th floor appartment over easter and it was just the best -

It was a good size with 2 bedrooms with separare bathrooms and a good sized lounge and kitchen - about 60 to 70 sq m in total size

Place was very clean and serviced every day

We were able to walk everywhere from this location and there were plenty of restaurants nearby

Very little noise - only downside was the stairs eveytime you went out so only go if your health is up for a steep climb

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was just the best place to stay in Lisbon. Very handy to everywhere you'd want to walk to and to public transport. Close to shops, lovely restaurants, cafes and bars. The area felt safe at night. Hard to find though - glad the taxi driver knew where it was! It was by far one of the best value accomodations in the area.

The decor was absolutely smashing! As soon as you enter the hotel you are treated to an ocular feast of colours and textures. The designers clearly had fun with this place, it is cooky and unique. Every room is decorated differently, and each door has a portrait painted on it. Very cool. Not sure if my grandparents would be into it though.

Now the not so good: the room was very cramped. It was a small apartment, with wardrobes, a kitchenette, table, sink etc. Because of that layout (kitchen was its own room) the floor plan was very tight. Personally I would prefer a studio arrangement, but I guess the room is designed as a short stay 'apartment' so someone could be having breakfast int he kitchen without disturbing another person sleeping in the other room. We chose it not for the apartment factor but for the combination of price/quality/location. We were only there for 4 nights and only used the room to sleep so no major problem. The other small downside was lighting: one of my pet hates in hotels is dim lighting. I wear a lot of black and well it was pretty darned hard to tell what top was what in my black suitcase in that room. Fine in the day, we had windows on 2 sides which let in great light but no good at night.

Service-wise, it is not a hotel so no room service or anything like that, but there is a laundry you can use and the staff at the front desk (24 hours) are just as friendly and helpful as at a 5 star hotel, helping us book tours, choose restaurants, offer recommendations and directions etc.

In summary: awesome location, affordable, great staff, novel decor. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravenhair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel six nights in dec-jan. and loved it. Staff was really friendly. The decoration of the room and the hotel was unique and special. New year's eve there was a bottle of sparkling wine eaiting for us in our room which was a really happy surprise. The small kitchen was great.
Only minus was little pit cold floor and the plastic matress cover that made the bed a bit unconfortable. Had a nice view to the street from our window and loved to watch the city life in Lisbon in the evenings with a glas of wine:) we would stay again! The location was great! Room was cleaned every day carefully!

Room Tip: Upper floor, window to the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanspray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff is either friendly, or some of them are not pleasant at all. Also the bar connected, the bartender is the slowest and worst I've ever dealt with. As far as the room it's clean and nice, although the rooms on the fourth floor felt like an institution. The only amazing thing was the internet, it was beyond great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank h3rbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonShortStay, Gerente de recepção at Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Eli,

Thank you for having reviewed your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

Customer reviews are very important for several reasons, but mainly because these are the experience feedback that other potential guests will have from someone that have already stayed with us.

Regarding your review, we are very sorry to hear that you had some problems concerning our customer service provided to you. As we recall you and your family were one of the most charismatic guests, and everyone among the staff team remember all of you with great care. For this reason we are hoping that you send us some more specific feedback via email to understand what went wrong and what can be improved in order for us to provide the best customer service possible and hopefuly only arouse feelings of happiness and joy amoung all our guests!

About the bar service mentioned, we are deeply sorry that you had such a bad experience with the service. Even though the hotel and bar are diferente institutions managed by diferente companies we always try to work together and support each other. The restaurante/bar is indeed new and they are working hard to improve their service at all levels. We will definitely forward your comments to the management and certainly they will make great use of it. We receive a lot of great feedback from guests as well which makes us believe that things are on the good track :)

Kind regards,
Filipa Neves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My sisters and I brought our mother to visit Lisbon! And we couldn't be happier with the beautiful colorful and fully equipped apartment. The employees are very helpful and all spoke very well english at the desk. Diana was very helpful and gave us good tips. It is a hotel with a lovely atmosphere run by a wonderful open and friendly family. Next to the hotel is a nice place called Navegadoors to have breakfast owned by the same family. Also here you experience the modern funky colorful atmosphere with nice cocktails, sushi, pizza, pies and lounge bar with live music. Inez made our breakfast a nice experience every morning again and because of her we came back. Eduardo made lovely cocktails and even created a new cocktail non-alcoholic for one of my sisters. The hotel is situated in the centre and close to all important sightseeings. We were lucky to have met the owner Thomas and his family. They all treated us right and made us feel home! Go team Navegadoors and Lisbon short stay! We will be back for sure!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redbull17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,531 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 251 in Lisbon
800 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 251 in Lisbon
973 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#42 of 251 in Lisbon
318 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 251 in Lisbon
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa

Property: Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa
Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 158, Lisbon 1100-580, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa are located in the most central quarter of Lisbon, Baixa, between the cosmopolitan Rua Augusta, the most popular pedestrian street of downtown Lisbon and Chiado quarter.Lisbon Short Stay was designed with the objective of creating the feel of an art gallery whilst incorporating the ambience of being at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing