We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #11 of 494 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I greatly enjoyed my stay in this hostel - due to several factors.
a. Excellent staff who were very courteous and extremely helpful, making you feel cared for and wanted - almost as though they knew you before and want you to come again
b. Very clean, well furnished rooms with all needed ameneties
c. Availability of all basic facilities to make one feel at home - a good kitchen facility with all gadgets to prepare your hot meals; a laundry with washing machine and dryer to get your suitcase clean and ready for the next leg of your journey; free wi-fi and computer facility to keep in touch with emails and browsing the news paper from your country; TV room and screening of movies once in a week;
d. Proximity to the city centre, easy accessibility (located in one of the main train stations and at walkable distance from two important Metro stations) and location close to several places of tourist interest; possibility of being picked up for walking tours from the hostel lobby
and finally
e. the unbelievably low cost compared to hotels in capital cities.
I would not only stay in this place again but also recommend this place to my family, friends and colleagues who may visit Lisbon!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good!! Perhaps a room with the view of the movie screened on the opposite wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meera_V_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

If you are thinking about visiting Lisbon you should! and if you are looking for a place to stay then book this place .... now!

Not only does the hostel have a laid back vibe and the friedliest staff but it is in the best location in Lisbon (sandwiched between alfama and bairro alto). You will not regret this choice.

Don't miss out on Fado night with Paul!

Thanks for everything Rossio Patio and we hope to see you soon.

Paul and Becca

Room Tip: the double rooms are huge and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

If you're staying in Lisbon, stay here! Rossio Patio Hostel is clean, convenient (in Rossio train station close to everything) and courteous - the staff are fantastic! Everything from accomodation to tips about Lisbon or the best pastries in Belem, they've been super nice and friendly. The breakfast is hands down the best in any hostel I've ever stayed at (and I've been to many). Next time I'm in Lisbon, I won't even consider staying in any other hostel or hotel, the ambiance of Rossio Patio makes you want to stay longer (and I did)!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tashinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Great place and great people :) the best hostel to share an amazing time in Lisbon and feel the real portuguese hospitality. It's like being at home!

Monica

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The location is ideal for sure. Very clean and neat hostel. Super friendly staffs. And it's a MUST to do Sintra day trip with the hostel. The tour guide Carlos makes the whole trip experience memorable. Must definitely ask for Carlos if u ever stay here. Just having a day trip with him let me learnt so much about Portugal.

Ray Chan (Singapore)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I 'm Japanese and I stayed with my parents.
This is our first time to stay hostels.
The room was so clean and staffs were so friendly.
They helped us so much.
So we could have excellent time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoko730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I'd planned to stay 2 nights in this hostel but it was such a pleasant experience that I booked for an extra night. It's location is superb..right in the center of the old historical city center . The staff are all very kind and helpful, and the atmosphere is very good. I immediately felt at home. The breakfast which is included in the price, is very varied, even delicious pancakes are served. The central place (kitchen / lounge / reception) is very spacious clean and fresh, a lot of daylight coming through the big top window.
Also the sanitary very clean and modern. And I was really happy with the wifi so I could do my mails at the hostel and didn't have to go to an internet cafe which is far more practical. If I come back to Lisbon again I definitely will come back to this hostel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,814 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#10 of 255 in Lisbon
645 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 494 in Lisbon
579 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 494 in Lisbon
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 494 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £12 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing