We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Lisbon and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #9 of 492 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I went in Lisbon this march fot two days as a backpacker with my friends. I was really surprised by the very helpful staff, ready to serve for everything u want...and very clean.The location is super, in the heart of Lisbon...I would go back again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eriona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had the most amazing hostel experience at Lisbon Destination Hostel !
It has everything you can look for! What I liked most:
1) STAFF ; Lucas, Hugo, John were so welcoming, always helpful and smiling ! We miss them!
2) ATMOSPHERE.... it was so easy to make friends because of the large common area and the ton of activities proposed.
Also: Great location, kitchen, comfortable beds, free breakfast.

I have never seen an hostel with so many activities: walking tours (thanks Pedro!), AWESOME Sintra day and beach tour (thanks Daniel!), Fado Tour, Pubcrawls (safe and great way to enjoy Lisbon at night, we had so much fun with John and Lucas!), EXCELLENT dinners .

The area is beautiful and safe. It also has 2 sister hostels (walkable distance) where you can go; one with a pool on the rooftop, the other in Alfama (they had a BBQ there one night with a DJ; awesome!).

Wish I could have stayed longer at this place! I have been to a lot of hostels in my life and this one is BY FAR my favorite! :)

Negative: It was hard to find the 1st time... have a good printout in hand and you will be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Amazing hostel, possibly one of the best I've stayed in. Very clean and quiet despite being located inside the train station. There is a large common area and kitchen to chill and meet other travellers. There were nightly events held by the hostel such as music performances, pub crawls etc. The staff were very helpful with giving us tips and locations to visit.

Only a short walk away from the main square in Lisbon, there are also plenty of bars, restaurants and a supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magicpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

i really enjoyed it very nice people. the rooms are ok. i forgot my driver id, they
they instantly replied and shipped the ID.

:)

the price for water and beer are very ok you always get help if you need some

the location is very nice

i really much appreciated their service, it was a nice vacation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thanks to Luca and Gilberto for everything; they provide excellent service and are generous. They even allowed us to store our luggage for a few hours before our departure, days after we had stayed. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have excellent views of the Rossio entrance square, though they also have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p3rp3tua1m0t10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed in the Alfama Patio Hostel which is one from the chain of Distination Hostels in September, 2013. Hostel provide dayly activities also, every day you will have free walking tour round the old city, during week there will be party and BBQ, beach tour or visiting Sintra. So, if you don't have a right company to travel, don't worry! Stay in one of Distination Hostels and you will get pleasant atmosphere, friends from many countries, breakfast and dinner and exellent staff.

Room Tip: Rooms can be different, like dominatorry or privait. It is your choice what is better for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location (literally inside Rossio train station) and a common area with a bar, musical instruments, chess table, snooker and several places to sit, just perfect to hang out with your friends and/or other guests. Breakfast was good, with freshly made pancakes almost every day.
Young, dynamic and friendly staff. The bedrooms where good but the individual bathrooms a bit small.
The rooms get hot quite easily during summertime so the AC system was turned on during the night which was a bit noisy. Also, the rooms in the upper level had some clarity from the corridor during night time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Beatriz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 254 in Lisbon
2,807 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 254 in Lisbon
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#11 of 254 in Lisbon
643 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 492 in Lisbon
578 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 492 in Lisbon
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 492 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £12 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing