We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is good but not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #10 of 498 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hostel has a very good atmosphere, great location (better would be impossible!) and very friendly staff (as most of the hostels in Lisbon) excluding the girl cooking crepes every morning, she didn't look very happy at all.

Positive points:
- Friendly staff
- Location
- Atmosphere
- Confort
- Electronic keys for dormitory and your private cupboard (no need padlock)

Negative Points:
- Showers are not as clean as it should
- Breakfast is VERY POOR for the price paid.
- Only one toilet (the other one is for disable people)
- Wi-Fi problematic connection with iPhones.

Lisbon is famous for having top hostels in the world, but for sure, you can't include Lisbon Destination Hostel on this list, I've been in Lisbon couple of times trying different hostels and I can assure you that there are much better ones around.

If they improve the breakfast, clean the showers more often, build more toilets and sort the wi-fi problem, they can be part of the top list, meanwhile, they are not.

-

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joasphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights last weekend and loved every minute of our stay. The rooms are nice and clean, overlooking the lounge area. The bathroom has everything you need. Ok, the bed was a bit hard, but doable. I loved the lounge area where all kinds of music instruments are available and people can just start playing them. And the pancakes at breakfast. And the superrelaxed atmosphere. And the staff ofcourse. The location is excellent: everything is within walking distance. In short: would love to return one day!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marjolein220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Big new Hostel in a great location along the river, the train station and metro are located under the hostel. The room are new & clean, the roof top area has a great view with a BBQ area and a dip pool. The staff were very friendly. I highly recommend this hostel in Lisbon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SunnyOz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have never been compelled to take time out of my life to write a review for pretty much anything unless I got something free for it.

That all ends here. The staff here were extremely welcoming and incredibly informative. They helped make my stay in Lisbon that much better.

Cool vibe, great people, fantastic location. You can't really ask for much more. I mean you could but that would just be greedy.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orenwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lisbon Destination Hostel was the first hostel I stayed in during a month long European backpacking trip. We spent 3 nights here and there is 100% no comparison. This was by far the best hostel of our trip. The staff was amazing, there are no words. Gilberto and Joao made us feel welcomed from the moment we walked and were constantly giving us pointers for our trip. Pedro's walking tours were steller and he directed us to an AMAZING look out point to watch the sun set. I could go on for days about this staff. Tom, Max, everyone..We did not meet a single staff member in any other hostel who lived up to this team.

Breakfast was amazing, cleanliness, rooms, the events, the pub crawl, location, everything. I do not have a single negative comment about this hostel (not to mention the breath taking view of Castleo de Sao Jorge) . I 100% recommend this hostel if you are looking for an outstanding time in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Plus: Friendly people, Clean hostel, Great location.
Min: Warm rooms (Im Dutch, Lisbon is warm already)

Apperently i have to add more characters in my review, so here they are:
Twentyfive to go, almst there, yes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I was a little but sceptical about booking a hostel as a lone traveller for the first time but had read many great reviews about Destination and thought it would be a good choice. I chose to book a bunk bed in a 4 bed en-suite female dorm around a week before I was due to travel.

It is located inside Rossio train station, which made it very easy to find for me having never been to Lisbon and very close to the metro station. As I was early for my (15:00) check- in I was able to leave my luggage there in the lockers. Upon arrival I was greeted by their SUPER friendly staff who all introduced themselves and were very nice to talk to. I was given help with my luggage and also personally shown to my room.

My room looked just as it appeared on the pictures online. The design is very simplistic with nothing other than beds and a small table in the room. There is also a fan and the beds are very comfortable. The downstairs living area is so cosy, there are bean bags to sit and read, a piano so if you do want to stay in they make it very comfortable for you. If you want to cook your meals there is a supermarket just around the corner from the hostel as well as many good restaurants.

Everyday they had a free walking tour of the local area and other activities including a Bar crawl, tour of Sintra and chef cooked dinners (very tasty!) These were great ways to meet other people staying there as well as see what Lisbon has to offer, although the price of these are around €10 per activity they are definitely worth it. The hostel is linked with Alfama and Sunset destination hostels so the activities will be linked with people from there too, again more opportunities to meet people!

During my stay in Lisbon I also stayed in two other hostels after Destination and this was by far the best in town.
Overall I think ALL of the staff are what makes this place such a gem for travellers to Lisbon. It seems like such a great place to work as there was nothing but good vibes between them.

My stay was originally 4 days but I decided to extend it after having such an amazing time. I was kind of sad to leave! Nonetheless it was definitely a home away from home for me.

Thank you Destination, see you soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 498 in Lisbon
584 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 498 in Lisbon
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 498 in Lisbon
288 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 498 in Lisbon
371 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#6 of 498 in Lisbon
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 498 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £14 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing