We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best city hotels ever..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Casa das Janelas com Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Ranked #5 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“One of the best city hotels ever..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

A charming hotel in the midst of the Bairro Alto. The impulsive and rather bohemian area was well presented in the hotels atmosphere. The artsy interior, excellent breakfast and very helpful service combined with perfectly sized rooms for a long weekend trip made it a perfect stay in Lisbon. Close enough to crawl home from the bars but far enough to be quiet and relaxed from the busiest streets of Bairro Alto. We will for sure book this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonttue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    83
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
238
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

1. The location: The former basket manufactory is located at the edge of the lively Barrio Alto – but in a quiet little street. Two beautiful parks are situated in a 5 minute walking distance: Jardim do Príncipe Real and Jardim Botanico. Both are perfect to relax from sightseeing. There is also a organic farmers’ market at Jardim do Príncipe Real on Saturday morning. In between, you will find the best shopping adresses for independent and local designer labels, like Embaixada.
2. The lounge: It is packed with carefully selected furniture and objects – no cold modernist design classics, but individual pieces with a (hi)story or contemporary design products from Portugal like plaids by A Loja da Burel (they have revived the traditional wool industry in Manteigas, relieving the region from unemployment by collaborating with Portuguese designers, to create new products made of Burel).
3. The people: What really stands out of other “young boutique hotels” is the staff. No exaggerated coolnes, no faked friendliness, just perfect service by kind and polite individuals who seem to identify with the institution. They literally help you with anything, i.e. printing our boarding passes or preparing small snacks before our departure.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the Tejo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanelascomVista, Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much for spending your time reviewing us on TripAdvidor.
Your comment was simply free advertising / communication to our hotel :)
"The reasons to stay at our Hotel", were so succinct and complete that we have no words to thank you.
Looking forward to see you again at our "Casa".
Best regards,

Luis Caldas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

staff is very nice and helpful in all circumstances. we even got a breakfast at 6 in the morning prepared for us before our flight. breakfast is totally OK and served in a fun way in the open kitchen.

the interior is nice an cosy with some tyipcal classical portuguese aspects. I guess most of the guests are couples or at least young families.

we had room no 10 which has no room over the river but has the whole front to the street with a small balcony, its the room which is photographed in the website and I can warmly recommend it.

I would definately come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank till s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanelascomVista, General Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for spending your time reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
You pointed two aspects that we consider very important:
- Staff serviced minded 24 hours a day, 7 days a week;
- Reliable photos on our Website and all other online agencies.
We prefer to have a client that know exactly what they`r expecting to have customers disappointed with theirs experiences.
Looking forward to see you again at our "Casa".

Best regards,

Luis Caldas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay i Lisbon. A true gem. We arrived at midnight due to delayed flight. The warm welcome and complementary wine brushed away all travel stresses. The room had an amazing view over the river and red bridge. The reception and dining area was in the evening used by us as a comfy living room for reading books and relaxing with music and wine giving us a almost home feeling. Fantastic stay! Hope that I will have the opportunity to come back :-)

Room Tip: Room 12 had a great view over the river, Room 11 was larger, same view and had a bathtub :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sommer1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed three nights, the hotel was a good base to explore Lisbon from on foot.
At night the Biarro Alto district a few streets away transformed into great nightlife with restaurants and bars; street music and Fado.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ronfinarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Groovy communal spaces but very sparse rooms - comfy but small. Didn't get our third floor room as confirmed by email but when I saw all the stairs I was thankful to stop on the second floor (especially with luggage). Bathroom drainage an issue but was resolved. Breakfast delicious!! Handy location to trams and funicular, which was a blessing - can walk downhill to town in 10 mins but not up! Reception staff incredibly helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking toward river. Worth paying little extra for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenallan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The "Casa" is a very neat and cosy little place in the center of Lisbon. Nevertheless it is quiet and offers you a lovely space to relax in an extraordinary and friendly, almost personal atmosphere.
A little strange was, although the name of the hotel is "house with rooms with a view" there are some rooms without a view.
Fantastic Breaktfast with loads of fresh fruit, bread,...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as there are some without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chr_reith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa das Janelas com Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa das Janelas com Vista

Property: A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Address: Rua Nova do Loureiro 35 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-293, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Casa das Janelas com Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room at Casa das Janelas com Vista is unique and has its own individual decoration: the yellow iron table, the hand-painted wardrobe, the velvet chaise longue, and the old armchair, etc. as well as bright and spacious bathrooms, perfumed with refreshing essences. Everything is tailor-made, full of charm and specially designed for you.The kitchen is an open, informal place and a meeting point in which to start the day with breakfast around a large table. The living room, which is next to the kitchen, is a pleasant and very bright space that also has a small terrace. You will find a place to relax, read, talk, or enjoy a good Portuguese wine along with a portuguese cheese board. The living room and the kitchen can be rented for small one-off events, presentations or parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your A Casa das Janelas com Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing