We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lisbonaire Apartments
Ranked #10 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Aust
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could not fault it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at the Lisbonaire in 2 different rooms during my time in Lisbon (some friends joined us the last couple of days so we changed rooms). Modern and funky apartments, fantastic value for money, great facilities and an easy and central location in Lisbon. The staff were extremely helpful, especially when we had to change rooms. The receptionist was also kind enough to help us order pizza on our final night as none of us could speak Portuguese. While you're there, make use of their rooftop. It Beautiful views of the city and a wonderful area to chill with friends.

I could not recommend this place enough, thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbonaire, Owner at The Lisbonaire Apartments, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your kind comment, it means a lot!

Best regards,

Nuno Pinho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    103
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
179
172
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We picked The Lisbonaire apartments as we had a 10 month old baby with us for our 2 night stay and so needed a few more facilities and extra space than a hotel. We were not disappointed at all and I would absolutely book to stay there if I were to return to Lisbon.

The location was seriously good, about a 30 second walk to main squares and a tram stop. Other public transport was minutes away too.

The manager Miguel and owner were fantastic, helping me before and during our stay many times.

We had Studio G, which had a double bed and a cot for my husband, me and our baby. My mum ended up staying with us for the 2 nights and they provided another put up bed and it was no problem at all. Way more space than a hotel room and full kitchen and bathroom. If it was just the two of us it'd have been massive.

Overall we loved it and we're really happy with our choice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaMeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbonaire, Owner at The Lisbonaire Apartments, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Nina,

Thank you for your kind review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much, we hope you have a chance to come back soon!

All the best,

Nuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

If one had to select the most significant virtue of The Lisbonaire Apartments, it has to be location, location location….!

The apartments are a hop, skip and jump away from Avenida da Liberade, a few kilometers from the Bairro Alto, the Castle and the Alfama (the last two offer the special moorish touch to the city), just 5 minutes walk from the Restauradores Metro station and close to the train stations.There are a couple of mini supermarkets just 100 metros down the road, which made grocery shopping very convenient. 'Tamarind' Indian restaurant is located directly opposite to the apartments (however we did not visit the restaurant). We were therefore in the most happening areas of the city and also incredibly well connected.

The apartments are stylishly designed with quirky artwork (the theme of our apartment was 'books') on the wall space and also wonderfully convenient. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, whose balcony unfortunately overlooked a 'work in progress' building. Otherwise, it was spacious and very convenient with a full kitchen including microwave, toaster, coffee maker, kettle and refrigerator. There was a washing machine (which we did not use), a large television in the living room and Airconditioners in the living and bed rooms.

There was adequate storage space in the large corridor near the entrance and also in the bedroom. The shower was good, although the temperature of the shower water seemed to drop everyday after 9 pm.

We are a family of football lovers and enjoyed watching the FIFA world cup matches on a big screen in the basement of the apartments. We also enjoyed the company of Bruno who manned the reception and is quite a football enthusiast himself.

The one area of improvement that we could discern, is in the frequency of cleaning. The apartments are cleaned once in three days, and we feel the frequency should be improved. Even on days when they were cleaned, we could see that the dust on the panels near the TV was completely intact - surely supervision can be better.

That apart, we will strongly recommend The Lisbonaire Apartments for its convenience and great location. We will come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbonaire, Owner at The Lisbonaire Apartments, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comment. We are following up on your recommendations.

All the best,

Nuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Booked online via late rooms, only looked for 4 days but such a good price we booked for 5 nights! (I would say this was a perfect amount of time to spend in Lisbon).

The apartments are only 1 change on the metro from the airport! Only took approx 30 mins - really easy to buy tickets and change at the correct stops. For 1.70 euro can't go wrong! The nearest stop is 'restauradores' if you walk up the stairs, look for the old fashioned tram going up the hill. Walk up that hill and it's your first right. Only 2 mins up that road and you will see it.

We stayed in apartment S but on our initial email it said apartment A. When we went to check in the manager wasn't there, but a very helpful maintenance man - don't know what we would have done without him. After trying to get into apartment A which wasn't working the man leant us his phone to speak to the manager (he dialled his number for us). He explained we were in apartment S and the man showed us up there.

Apartment S is on the third floor - 2 levels in the lift and 1 flight of stairs. It is really big in size, much better than a hotel. Really nicely decorated, secure safe, and good size bathroom, bedroom and kitchen.

The front door was a bit hard to open, we had to ask the neighbours in the next door apartment how to use it. After the second day we were used to it!

There was a couple of types of glasses missing from our apartment that we asked the manager to replace but never was. No big deal!

There is also no free room service each day - such as making the bed and changing towels which you get in hotels. It costs £5 a day but if you ask for clean towels they will replace them for you the next day for free!

The roof top terrace is also great, we took a bottle of wine up each night before going out to have in the sun!

The apartments are in the perfect location and we really enjoyed our stay here!

Have recommended to family and friends, and would love to return - don't think you could beat the location!!!

We had a bit of a problem with payment. I thought payment was taken by Laterooms but turns out it's not! We spoke to the manager on numerous occasions but he never asked us for payment! As there is no check in or check out we were not informed that payment was still owed until we got back! I paid by PayPal in the end, as only real option.

Tip - try and pay before you leave the apartment, unless you are happy to pay by bank transfer or PayPal.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbonaire, Owner at The Lisbonaire Apartments, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello. Thank you so much for you kind and extensive comment.

I am sorry about the 'hickups' you had in the check in and communication, we are going to look into it to improve in our processes.

Meanwhile I hope you have a chance to come back to Lisbon and to the Lisbonaire.

Best regards,

Nuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for a week total in two separate stays at the Lisbonaire, having read about it in Frank Bruni's article in the New York Times about his visits to Lisbon.

The building is a modern, airy condominium style building, with about 12-15 units. Two prompt but small lifts. Our unit was a one bedroom facing the street with an open common area (full kitchen, kitchen table + chaise sofa, TV and a work area). The unit was generally quiet and had everything we needed for our trip, including in-room laundry (washer - no electric/gas dryer ... which may be the trend nationally based on the number of clothes lines we saw). Plenty of storage and a comfortable bed. The minimalist look of the rooms (which I liked a lot) are balanced by little dashs of character, such as unique artwork in each apartment and nice modern lighting fixtures, which gave the two units we had a really hip (dare I say "Brooklyn"-esque) vibe. Bathrooms are spacious and have hair dryers and bidets. The rooms have A/C, individually controlled using a remote in each room.

We were generally very pleased with the common facilities. The Basement common area features electronically secured storage areas for your bags and a bathroom which were both handy as we were not ready to check in for our early morning arrival and used the storage and bathroom before heading out. There is als a nice lounge with a big TV and audio system, an "honesty bar" with beer and other beverages, a pool table, fitness room with decent equipment, huge communal table, and more of that hip asthetic from the rooms. If you were traveling with a big group, it would be a great set up. There is also a really nice, multi-tiered roof deck with several seating areas and great city views.
The building's location is excellent. The building is on a quiet side street about a five minute walk from the central Rossio/ train station area. The street is well lit, but it is a side street. We didn't observe any shady characters but late nights might not be as comfortable for a traveler who is alone when compared to a hotel that is on a major square or avenue. From the Lisbonaire, ten minute walk up the hill (or a fun ride on the funicular/Elevador do Gloria) will reach the heart of Barrio Alto and the emerging Principe Real, where all the restaurants and nightlife one might ever want can be found. There is also a viewpoint at the top of the hill which should not be missed. Or walk ten minutes in the other direction and you will be in the heart of downtown Lisbon/ Baixa. Metro stop is about three minutes away from the front door.

The staff was very well organized and cordial. Someone was around most of the day and they always asked whether they could help us with anything, etc. One member of the team offered to pre-arrange a taxi to the airport for us on our last day, which was helpful.

No breakfast - everything is self catered. Supermarkets, corner stores and plenty of fast food/snack bars/cafes are within a very short walk.

Overall, this is an excellent home base for visitors in Lisbon for a longer stay, or visitors on a shorter stay who want a bit more space and are comfortoable with apartment-style accomodations, which we feel gives you a bit more character and space, and a more calm environment and personalized service than in most hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MightOnTheHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbonaire, Owner at The Lisbonaire Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive and detailed review. It is very important for us to get feedback from our guests.

We hope you have a chance to come back to Lisbon and stay with us again!

Warm regards,

Nuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice appartment at a convenient location. Excellent that you get an code prior to arrival. Worked well since we arrived late in the evening. During the day staff atthe reception was available with all kinds of good tips. The dinner we had in a small fado restaurant in the alfama was excellent.
Minor for me was that at some points the rooms weren't very clean and I didn't realize there was no cleaning available unless you paid an additional amount.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dambeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbonaire, Owner at The Lisbonaire Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Google Translation
Obrigado pelo seu comentário!

Realmente os apartamentos são autónomos, não tem serviço de limpeza. Preferimos não incluir esse custo no preço, e mantê-lo como serviço opcional.

Com os melhores cumprimentos,

Nuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I admit I was unhappy when we showed up here. I booked Apartment P 5 months in advance of our trip. I emailed several times to the owner and to the front desk employees to confirm. When i finally got the notification of my apartment assignment 2 weeks prior, it was not for the room we requested. We had several back and forth exchanges, where the owner promised us we would have the room we wanted. Well guess what? When we showed up, we did not have the room we requested and it had only a double bed instead of 2 singles (we were two adult women friends and would have preferred our own bed). it was the same room they had given to us 2 weeks before and the room we wanted was occupied for the length of our stay. We made the best of the situation, even though we were disappointed. The place ended up being fine and the best of our 3 city trip. Everything you could need is here and the location was perfect. The lounge is nice and apparently there is a roof to hang out on too, which we forgot to use (we were so busy the entire time). I would have given a 5 star review had the room mishap not happened, but overall, we ended up loving the apartment and the staff was very nice to us.

Room Tip: We ended up having room N. It was fine. One double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbonaire, Owner at The Lisbonaire Apartments, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi! Thank you for your kind comment.

We are sorry about the apartment mishap, and we're glad it didn't affect your stay too much. Our policy is not to promise a specific apartment because given to logistics, maintenance or room optimization we are sometimes unable to keep this promise, as was in your case, for which I truly apologize.

With our warm regards,

Nuno & The Lisbonaire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lisbonaire Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lisbonaire Apartments

Property: The Lisbonaire Apartments
Address: Rua da Gloria 16, Lisbon 1250-116, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lisbonaire Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lisbonaire Apartments embodies a new way to visit Lisbon. Located in a quiet street in the heart of downtown Lisbon, a short stroll from Chiado, Bairro Alto or the Castle, The Lisbonaire Apartments are your ideal starting point to visit or work in Lisbon, with the subway a few steps away and numerous sights, monuments, restaurants, theatres and bars immediately at your doorstep. The 1960s building was fully rebuilt in 2011 and each apartment has the contribution of a Portuguese designer, which invokes a specific object or place from the surrounding area, making the apartments unique and special. The Lisbonaire boasts 19 studios and one bedroom apartments, fully furnished and decorated, subject to the idea of 100% Portuguese, with all the must-have utilities such as Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations in every apartment. With prices starting from 30 euros per person, the apartments are an economical, spacious and practical solution if you are visiting, working or travelling with family. We can provide your apartment with a push chair, high chair, cot and toys upon request. Our aim is to welcome and inspire all visitors to discover the traditional and contemporary Lisbon and all the small things that make it so unique. Come and visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lisbonaire Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing