We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independente Hostel & Suites
Ranked #26 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently stayed a night at this accommodation and we were really comfortable, in a great location and totally satisfied with the staff's attention to a slight mix up with our booking. The gentleman who checked us in whose name was Francisco, immediately rectified the mix up, he completely prioritised our comfort and we felt looked after from the minute we arrived. It is a "funky" clean as a whistle, delightful place to stay when travelling through Lisbon. The terrace restaurant/ cafe is wonderful with great food, wine and a sensational breakfast! thank you for making our last night in Portugal a great night Jill and John from Aus

Room Tip: we recommend a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    127
    28
    17
    10
See reviews for
21
113
120
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending Optimus alive. Great service, very clean, awesome people , super location. Only major drawback was the lack of a roof fan or ac, that made it near impossible for most of the 9 people in the room to sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frode B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We ate at the restaurant here and had to wait a while as it seems very popular. The hostess did her best to get us a good table and we tried some delicious Portuguese wine in the meantime. Food was good and atmosphere even better, there's even a covered outdoor area.
I didn't see the bedrooms but it looks much nicer than your average hostel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kensy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Staying at this hostel was a treat. The ambience and architecture of the hostel is so pleasant that you feel like you're staying at a boutique hotel. Although they have 3-storey bunk beds, they are built super sturdy and yes, the upper bunks have railings on the side so there is no chance of you rolling off the bed in the middle of the night. The location is great, though it is at the top of a hill so when you first walk there with your backpack on, it's a bit of a trek (though you'll soon find that Lisbon is very hilly in general). The breakfast is great though it's not all-you-can-eat, and the staff are very helpful and happy people. The common room is an excellent (and beautiful) place to hang out, though there wasn't much of a social atmosphere when I was there. There's full use of a kitchen, washing machine/dryer and TV in the common room. I cannot recommend this hostel enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsvplcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was my first experience at a hostel but I must admit that I indulged in one of their individual suites so I kind of cheated. I wasn't ready to share a room or bathroom with a group of strangers.
That being said, I had a great experience at this property. It occupies some prime real estate just across the street from MIRADOURO DE SAO PEDRO DE ALCANTARA. One of the most picturesque spots in Lisbon. A great place to relax by the fountain under some trees or take photos. The property apparently just expanded prior to my arrival and I was in one of the brand new suites. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom however was on the small side. Well actually very small. A pet peeve of mine is when the shower does not have a door or curtains and you end up using one of your bath towels to mop up the floor.
That little annoyance aside, the room was spacious and perfect for an individual or couple that chooses not to partake in the group experience.
The breakfast is served on the top floor in a charming open, rustic restaurant that also has an outdoor seating area with beautiful views of the city.
All in all this was the perfect place to explore Lisbon from. A short walk to Chiado,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank In206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I loved this hostel. A Swiss Embassy at one time, then completely renovated and updated with artsy touches throughout. 20 foot ceilings, fancy moldings, free breakfast, a famous chef whose reputation brings in locals from miles around and free tours of the city by knowledgeable residents and Lordes -- in charge of breakfast and most likely other things, as well. The staff is first rate and Lordes is a such a doll - treats everyone like family. The Independente sits atop one of the seven hills with a view that goes on forever. You can't get any better than this hostel. I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Lisbon. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosandConcepcion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Lisbon. The staff were so friendly, the hostel clean, decor is fantastic, and the location is just perfect for exploring Lisbon. The breakfasts are excellent (included in the price!) and getting some ham and cheese means you can easily make up your lunch while you're there. Happy hour in the bar means a beer is just 1 euro and it's lovely to enjoy it in the beer garden at the back. They run a great service to the airport taking 25 mins and costing just 10 euros for the whole taxi (so was just 5 euros each for 2 of us!). DON'T MISS THIS PLACE!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CamEd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Lisbon Destination Hostel
#11 of 445 in Lisbon
750 reviews
Graca & Sao Vicente
Alfama Patio Hostel
Alfama Patio Hostel
#16 of 445 in Lisbon
416 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 445 in Lisbon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 445 in Lisbon
258 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 445 in Lisbon
558 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 445 in Lisbon
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independente Hostel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independente Hostel & Suites

Property: The Independente Hostel & Suites
Address: Rua Sao Pedro de Alcantara 81, Lisbon 1250-238, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Independente Hostel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built to become the Swiss ambassador’s official residence at the start of the previous century, this fantastically located palace – right in the centre of the Bairro Alto and Principe Real districts - is now assuming a new life as it marks its centenarium. 90 beds spread across 11 dorms with its impressive floor to ceiling heights as well as the abundant size that all rooms boast offer guests the opportunity to enjoy a private lounge within every room where they can relax and share stories and experiences with fellow travellers in unique and inviting comfort. Four very special suites, with private balconies which overlook the Tagus River, where guests can enjoy their breakfast free of charge, compliment the accommodation options offered and will surely embellish your stay with us in one of the world’s oldest cities. The Independente Hostel & Suites also offers a fully licensed bar and restaurant as well as a secluded beer garden for hot summer days. The typically Portuguese cusine well as a secluded beer garden for hot summer days. The typically Portuguese cusine with a modern twist set amongst an art-déco environment open to both the international traveller and the Lisboeta – the Portuguese word for a Lisboner – will surely create a melting pot of different cultures and lifestyles worth every minute of your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Independente Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing