We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's my hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Ranked #61 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We loved it! We were visiting Portugal last year October. I cannot believe I fount such treasure in the heart of Lisbon. The boutique rooms are great! The beds are amazing (we had two different rooms, we cut short our stay in Algarve to come back to Lisbon), there is a MAC in each room, flat screen TV... really very good! I recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: the rooms on top are bigger - the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portokalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you so much for your nice words about our hotel.
We are pleased to know that you had a great experience with us and that you identify with our concept: a design, boutique hotel
We hope to have you back in Brown’s Downtown hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed 3 nights for a city break and it was perfect. It's in a great location in downtown Lisbon and just a minutes walk from the Metro and easy enough to walk to most places from there.

Reception area is very modern and has a relaxing atmosphere with free tea and coffee available at all hours. Excellent informative staff and free WiFi throughout.

I had the small room and it was plenty big enough, although I travel light and only had a small bag. The room was fantastic - lovely comfortable double bed (could be 2 singles), an iPad AND an iMac, nice decor and very clean. The room also has a small kitchenette which I thought was a bit needless but I guess some people may find it useful (hob, sink, fridge and kitchen utensils).

You could hear what was going on outside the room, but it didn't disrupt or awaken me in the night.

Another excellent choice thanks to TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for being our guest.
We appreciate your comments on our modern facilities and are glad to hear that our hotel was an excellent choice for your stay in Lisbon.
We hope to see you again in Brown’s Downtown Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Wonderfull place. Stylish rooms, small but comfortable, good AC, great rain shower, decent loungie feel lobby. decent location, not far from retail, some street parking. Close to metro, walking distance to tram 28, bairro alto, chiado.
A couple of very friendly staff at reception who spoke excellent english too, when we didn't speak portuguese.
I recommend, as i'd likely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for your nice review.
We appreciate your recommendation and your wish to return to our hotel. Let us suggest the month of June, since the 13th June is the Lisbon’s holiday, with parades, folk festivities, street entertainment, etc.
We hope to have you back in Brown’s Downtown Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at Brown's hotel between 16 Nov and 18 Nov and it was a very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable with fast internet connection. Excellent location - next to Metro, Rossio, shops etc, can't really ask for more for this price. Extremely friendly staff and they were very helpful giving good travel advice.

The downsides were bathroom a little doggy. The bathroom was flooded after showering and the extractor fan wasn't working. Air con was a little noisy.

Really love this boutique and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for your review.
It is nice to hear that you had a “very pleasant stay” at Brown’s Downtown Hotel, despite the downsides.
We hope to have you back in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Nice hotel and nice rooms with large bed and Ipad + Imac in every room with internet access.
Stayed there for 5 nights, had a medium size room (from the hotel categories, being small, medium or large). Great location, central for everything, metro, train, bus, restaurants.
Room was not the biggest and bathroom was definitely a tight squeeze and too small. Great shower though. Reception is great, they like the good music too and it is great to go down there with a bottle of wine, sit back and relax. There is a good ambiance and plenty of space to sit in comfy sofas.
Rooms are quiet noisy and you don’t want to talk too loud, you can hear everything and also people walking in the corridor.
We were on the 3rd floor and our room had 1 window/balcony, but the room lacked day light and was quite dark. The window/balcony was unfortunately facing the internal yard between the exit stairs and the restaurant next door and so no light coming trough and no sight to look at. People were smoking in other rooms beside us and it smelt like they were actually smoking beside you. the smell was either coming from underneath the door or the combined air vent. But these were just minor details. Oh yeah, we had no breakfast included in the deal and had breakfast a couple of doors down on Rua Augusta in Pastelaria Casa Brasileira every day, it was great and friendly people there. They have lots of pastries, you can get your breakfast for as little as 4 euros with 2 pastries, a freshly squeezed orange juice and a Bica (expresso).
Overall, I would definitely reuse this hotel and recommend it despite the minor details. For the price they charge, it is a great deal. Lisbon is great and Pastelaria Casa Brasileira definitely a place i would return if in Lisboa again. Try Cascais and Sintra, these are places worth visiting.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for being our guest.
We appreciate your comments about the reception of the hotel and regret that there were some details that let you down.
We hope to have you again with us, to give you an experience in a room facing the main street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

As Boutique hotels go, this has to be one of the better ones. The rooms are quirky but fitted out to hi tec standards, although the WiFi in our room was a bit flakey and so I checked my emails in the spacious lobby.

The entrance to the oneway street Browns is located on, was difficult to find and so we ended up putting the car in a nearby underground municipal carpark and taking a taxi to the hotel.

There are numerous restaurants and bars within easy walking distance of Browns. The price of €90 for our room was about right, but the surprise came when I retrieved our car from the carpark - €32 for just over half a day!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisDoonVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for recommending Brown’s Downtown as a boutique hotel.
The central location of our hotel means that our guests do not need a car to visit the most tourist attractions of Lisbon. There are also many public transports in the nearby, and when our guests need, we also provide a rental car service. The best advice we think we may give you for the next time you come to Lisbon is not to bring a car to the city centre.
Hope to have you back in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Pros
- Location, location, location: you're walking distance to many places and a subway station. The street is very quite
- Great deco - the lobby has great ambience, is very trendy. Also the room has very nice deco, cool pictures
- Bed is super comfortable
- Staff is very friendly, and even though I speak Portuguese I could see them speaking English and French with other guests. They also helped us with resto reservations and gave us tips on what to do, always friendly and accurate
- Price - we paid circa 80 euros per night wihtout breakfast
- Internet wifi available throughout the hotel, good speed
- They have an ipad and an imac in the room!

Cons
- Room is a bit small... You have a tiny kitchen which I'd rather they had made a larger closet to put clothes and the luggages
- You can hear your neightbors... it's not fully sound proof

Room Tip: They have 3 sizes, we stayed in the small one, I guess if you have a lot of luggage you need a big r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel.
Besides your pros about location, decoration and technology, it makes us pleased to hear your compliments about our staff, our best asset.
We hope to see you again in Brown’s Downtown Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#33 of 255 in Lisbon
950 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
988 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#49 of 255 in Lisbon
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#48 of 255 in Lisbon
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Downtown Hotel

Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 73, Lisbon 1100-576, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £98 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Downtown Hotel is the coolest hotel in Lisbon downtown. Staying in our hotel means to undergo singular sensations. The building dates from the XVIII century, but is completely rebuilt with contemporary lines and materials. The lobby combines pieces of well-known designers, good music and an informal reception. Trendy rooms, equipped with up-to-date technology. Brown's Downtown is design. Brown's Downtown is hi-tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brown's Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing