We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equiped nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Ranked #61 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well equiped nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

You get all the latest Apple gadgets in your modern clean and stylish room. The room it self isn't too big, but we managed well with two large bags. Breakfast is in another building where they have another hotel and a cafeteria (Brown's apartments and Browns Coffee). Its a 50 meter walk, no biggie. Breakfast is good, you get to choose between different coffees, fruits, breads and pastries. The only downside we discovered was the sound isolation. You don't hear anything from the street, but you can hear everything from the corridor. The aircondition in our room was a bit noisy as well. Ear plus were necessary to sleep well and not to wake up every time someone came back to his/her room on the same floor.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosmo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    351
    88
    14
    8
See reviews for
67
500
69
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed in Browns for one night and found it pleasant, rooms very clean, well equipped, good shower; staff that we met at reception were friendly and helpful; we did not have breakfast; hotel is situated in a quiet street but it may have been particularly quiet since the road is under repair.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My partner and I loved our stay at this hotel in Lisbon - you are in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Lisbon. The hotel has the most beautiful and well designed interior, something which we loved. There is no breakfast available but you are in walking distance to their local eatery which serves fantastic food, and also we started every morning with a traditional Portuguese coffee from the free vending machine available to all guests. I would definitely recommend this hotel. My only negative comment was the lack of natural light in our room, however the room was so beautiful it made up for it. Also, the mac pc in our room proved popular to listen to music as well as to do our research of the city on. Overall a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

This extremely comfortable hotel in the centre of Lisbon was very well equipped with little extras and technology. There was a iPad and mac in the room with Internet access, which was very handy. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AditiVedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It's kind of difficult to write this review, as we were very impressed at first when we checked in, but after a few days we were sitting with a handful of things that was getting on our nerves.

First of all. This hotel is really hip and trendy. the exterior looks like a stylish french restaurant, and the lobby is industrial with all sorts of design furniture. This was accompanied with magazines such as GQ, Esquire, etc etc.

As a young couple we really liked this style. The staff was amazing and they had room 410 ready for us already at noon. We were given the key, yes key, and headed off. Rooms were really nice and packed with details and gadgets. iMac, iPad, iPhone/Pod docking station, LED TV, Pillow menu, cool lamps etc. We even had a small kitchenette in the room.

Everything brilliant so far. As I'm heading towards the negatives, I just want to make sure they were no biggie, but over time they start to annoy.

The hotel is not isolated, so you get to hear every sound and every one who is in the hall or on the way to their rooms. Wooden floors and high heels doesn't go well together, so I really think they should have some carpets in the hallways. This goes for the rooms as well. I can understand that it's easy to clean, chilly when hot etc but the noise was at least my main concern. The other concern was as others have stated, the bathroom. Looked like work, still in progress as the sliding door was still being fitted, no paint, black stains between tiles, soaking bathroom after the shower, leaking underneath the sink.

Then there was the wifi. Couldn't connect, then got connected and disconnected again. Really a pain in the.. iMac worked fine though, but we wanted to use our own ipad as well, since the one in the room has been glued to the bench.

All in all, the hotel was nice. Details and twists everywhere, and we liked that. The Baixa area has everything and the hotel is directly in the middle of everything. Book it when rates are cheap, cause when you pay £600 for three nights, you expect the little extra.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariuskavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Overall recommended, rooms a little small but isn't that always the way in old European cities? Fantastic reception staff.

A lot of high tech in the rooms; iPads, iPod docks, led tv but the shower leaks terribly. Seems silly!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jontysafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Set in a lovely building, in the heart of Lisbon, you could not ask for a better location. Our room had no view as it faced inward, but that was a positive as there was the Festival of Sant Antonio taking place outside and we wanted some sleep (as did baby!). The room was very comfortable and packed with gadgets, as described by others. The shower was amazing but it did dump water all over the bathroom floor. That should be easily fixable by Brown's. Our room was described as an 'apartment', as they had packed in a tiny kitchen area. Whilst the room was quite small, the kitchen area would be useful if you were staying longer. Overall the room felt quite cluttered.

The staff were extremely helpful, and the lobby is a very attractive area. No breakfast is included but they have a deal with their sister cafe around the corner. No parking included, we used a public one at "Mondiz". Flawed, but recommended and reasonable value. Would use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#51 of 246 in Lisbon
298 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 246 in Lisbon
746 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#43 of 246 in Lisbon
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#28 of 246 in Lisbon
849 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#49 of 246 in Lisbon
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Downtown Hotel

Property: Brown's Downtown Hotel
Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 69-79, Lisbon 1100-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Downtown Hotel is the coolest hotel in Lisbon downtown. Staying in our hotel means to undergo singular sensations. The building dates from the XVIII century, but is completely rebuilt with contemporary lines and materials. The lobby combines pieces of well-known designers, good music and an informal reception. Trendy rooms, equipped with up-to-date technology. Brown's Downtown is design. Brown's Downtown is hi-tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown's Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing