We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, design, service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown's Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brown's Downtown
Ranked #53 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, design, service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

For design buffs at a reasonable price, good location at Baixa, walking distance to Chiado and Bairro Alto. Free wifi and iPad and IMac in the room. Noise isolation is less than ideal. And kudos to the front staff, very professional and helpful. Missed having a breakfast option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    334
    86
    12
    7
See reviews for
64
477
65
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Although my wife and I visited Lisbon last year, I was glad to see the continued positive reviews for this hotel. It is very well-designed to take care of all needs in a fairly small space, including a kitchenette with all of the necessary utensils, and a computer with internet in the room. It also had a small balcony to look out onto the quiet street below. The price seemed quite reasonable for the amenities provided. The staff were helpful in making recommendations for shopping and transportation ideas. The 24 hour coffee machine was also welcomed. I look forward to visiting the lovely city of Lisbon again, and would easily choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was a great hotel location. Everything was within walking distance. The hotel was clean, had cool apple products to do research of needed, and great service. I hope it will be this way on my next trip to Lisbon

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetChic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel itself is great! Small and cozy, perfectly located close to the metro station in the very city centre on a quite street. Management of the hotel has a great ideas: very nice lobby with free cofee and old magazines, unusual reception, fancy perfume all around, good design of the publik areas and the room itself, Apple computer in the room, iPad, iHome, vintage radio, speaker system in the ceiling and lots of other nice stuff.
BUT half of those was not working! iPad in our room was damaged and required for password to enter. Radio was not working. So we had all those cool gadgets in our room, but could not use it!!! Dissapointing. Besides one light spot was not working. When there is only two in your room, this turns to be important. We applied to very nice reception guys 2 times, they promiced to fix it next morning, but did not happen. In the end we just gave up.
Ah! and when you take shower, you get a small pool in your bathroom :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We and friends stayed 3 nights in October 2013

While the rooms maybe small as is the case in many European hotels, the quality, cleanliness and amenities more then made up for the size. The knowledgable, friendly staff provided us accurate and correct information on all our Lisbon and area touring, shopping and dining requests. Our adult children stayed two weeks prior. The staff provided them an excellent dining recomendation for celebrating our daughter's 33rd birthday. Minutes from shopping, dining and transportation by train, bus and tram in the heart of Lisbon.

Room Tip: 509 and 510 private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in September 2013. It's located in the Baixa area of Lisbon and the Rua dos Sapateiros and is between the Rua Augusta, the main shopping street of the Baixa and the Rua Aurea where the Elevador de Santa Justa is located. The street itself is very quiet and has a few local bars and restaurants but not much else. Reception at the hotel is welcoming and friendly and the staff speak good English. Our room was on the top (6th) floor and was huge with a great view of the rooftops of the Baixa and Alfama climbing in the near distance. The only downside is the lift goes to the 5th floor and you have to take wooden stairs to the 6th. A minor issue. There is a small kitchen with a fridge and the bed was big and comfy. There is an ipod and dock and computer which we didn't need. There is a metro stop 5 minutes away and stops for the 28 and 15 trams are a short walk away. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the River Tagus and a further 5 minutes to the ferry. We really enjoyed our stay here and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrThrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I booked this for a 1 night stay over when my friend got married in Lisbon.
Great Comfy Room
Ipad and Imac in rooms
Ipod and Docking Station
free hot drinks machine in reception

+ Location
+ price (when booked in advance)

- No restaurant/bar/breakfast

Room Tip: One away from the Lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#44 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#46 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Downtown

Property: Brown's Downtown
Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 69-79, Lisbon 1100-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Downtown Hotel is the coolest hotel in Lisbon downtown.Staying in our hotel means to undergo singular sensations. The building dates from the XVIII century, but is completely rebuilt with contemporary lines and materials. The lobby combines pieces of well-known designers, good music and an informal reception. Trendy rooms, equipped with up-to-date technology and a functional kitchenette are offered to ease our guests' stay.Brown's Downtown is design. Brown's Downtown is hi-tech.Brown's Downtown is smiling staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Brown's Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing