We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location + Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Ranked #60 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location + Vibe”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We loved this small hotel, whole decoration and atmosphere. Even a staff at a reception desk was very helpful, kind and attentive. Our room 410 was small and breakfast every day the same, but overall with the best central location and whole ambience in the hotel I would deffinitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michaela288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    351
    88
    14
    8
See reviews for
67
502
69
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Brown's Downtown is conveniently located less than 2 blocks outside the Barrio Alto metro station. It isn't well marked, unless you know to be looking for the Brown's Coffee Shop, which is the first floor of the hotel. The room I stayed in was very nice and modern. My only complaint, and the reason I'm not giving it 5 stars, is due to the lack of WiFi as advertised. There was a Mac computer and iPad in the room, but they were useless with the wireless internet being out. The front desk acknowledged that their wireless wasn't working upstairs, but I also couldn't get it to work in the coffee shop, so I walked to the Starbucks in Rossio Station whenever I needed internet access. Hopefully they have fixed by now, but overall, I have no regrets about staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with one of the mini-balconies overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Hotel and room were very nicely decorated. Double bedroom was clean and equipped with iMac and iPad with free Wi-Fi. Bathroom is simply gorgeous and spa rainshower control. Short walking distance to public transportation, city elevators to visit major attractions, yellow bus, tram, restos, supermarket, pharmacy and so much more.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeko30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
663 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Quirky little boutique hotel with pluses and minuses. It's superbly and conveniently located. You're appropriately close to everything. Unusual but nice reception with free tea and coffee. The staff are terrific too - very efficient and very polite - and they couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are unusual. Ours was number 114. It was curiously configured in a sort of reverse L shape. There's no view when you get to the awkwardly placed window. It seems to just look over a small and derelict courtyard. The bathroom is very small but still nice. We saw comments here critical of the showers but we really liked ours. It worked very well in 114. The lighting system was very strange and felt like the lighting in a film set when you tried to read in bed. Massive well sited TV with all the right channels. The free wi fi generally worked excellently. Really comfy bed and very nice pillows. The room is very very quiet and it was easy to sleep. Breakfast is built into the price. It is served at a nicely appointed coffee shop a short distance from the hotel. It is very good and consists of a couple of pieces of fruit, a bread roll with ham and cheese, a juice, a coffee and a Portuguese tart. We thought the breakfast was great and liked the little coffee shop where the staff were also terrific. All in all, despite some unusual features, we'd be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoSheds57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Very cool, relaxed place, not like a hotel, welcoming, great room, near to waterfront, Alfama, Bairro Alto, Baixa, everything. Lisbon is a great city, & this is a great place to stay. You'll want to go out, but be happy to go back to such a relaxing base.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The location can't be beat. It was close to everything (and, most importantly, my favorite Lisboa cafe for breakfast: Cafe S. Nicolau). The rooms were very clean and nice, and the included iPad and computer were a nice touch. We did have some of the bathroom smells that are mentioned in previous reviews but, honestly, that's a relatively common problem in small European hotels that are central (older plumbing). It didn't really bother me, and I would absolutely recommend this hotel based on its positive attributes.

Room Tip: We were in room 310, which had the bathroom smell problem. Our friends were in room 315, and they di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STK426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Fabulous Boutique Hotel in an excellent location to explore everywhere in Lisbon. Superbly equipped (though small), with apple computers, i pad and numerous TV channels. Very helpful staff. No food in the hotel, but complimentary hot drinks available 24 hours from a vending machine. There are so many cafe bars and restaurants close by that this is not an issue. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as they have a tiny 'Juliette' balcony and its nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW1Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#51 of 247 in Lisbon
299 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
747 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#45 of 247 in Lisbon
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
850 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#49 of 247 in Lisbon
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Downtown Hotel

Property: Brown's Downtown Hotel
Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 69-79, Lisbon 1100-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Downtown Hotel is the coolest hotel in Lisbon downtown. Staying in our hotel means to undergo singular sensations. The building dates from the XVIII century, but is completely rebuilt with contemporary lines and materials. The lobby combines pieces of well-known designers, good music and an informal reception. Trendy rooms, equipped with up-to-date technology. Brown's Downtown is design. Brown's Downtown is hi-tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown's Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing