We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel, but I am not sure I will stay there again”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #118 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 22 March 2011

At first we stayed at a small room, the "clint estwood" room but we got stuck out of the room on the first night, we had to spend the night at another room while our stuff was stuck in the room! and that's after waiting for 2 hours for varies hotel staff to try and open our door. the next morning they had to break in the room so we woke up bright and early from the noises, no one botherd to pick up our stuff and let us know the room was open so we just walked in and took it ourselves, no questions asked. that was strange.

the hotel stuff was also strange, although they were nice but they kept saying there is nothing they can do until the manager arrives, which was 2 days later. no compensation was offered but at least we got a better and bigger room, a "Roberet de niro" room which was nicer, with coffee and tea and a bigger bathroom.

All in all, the hotel is clean and new, the location is very central next to a metro station, the staff is friendly more or less, so if you get a good deal like we did, it's worth staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lim0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

The room we had (417 - John Travolta) was HUGE! And it had a lovely view. The retro decor throughout the hotel was funky and modern, and we weren't the only guests who walked round taking photos!

The Marques Pombal metro station is literally steps away and there is a taxi rank right by it also.

Bad side = avoid the restaurant! food is not nice anyway, but found a hair in mine. didnt eat 75% of it but the staff never asked if anything was wrong - when they came to collect it 30mins later - it took another 20 for them to bring the bill!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyBop35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This clean hotel is just perfectly located: not in the middle of the noisy center but at 5-min walk. It is just aside from a metro/bus/taxi-station. Themed-rooms is a fun way to make the room more “charismatic” so to say.

Every morning we were woken up by a noisy lady who was having fun. I guess we also woke some old couples when we came in late at night as we could hear everything like it was happening just next to us. View was horrible. Internet service is a thief.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSwissK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed here for 1 night during the hot early August days. The hotel has been renovated so that all the rooms have a film theme. Ours were Casablanca and Singing in the Rain. The furniture and wall paper are also pretty funky in a 70s sort of way.
The lobby is black and white which was luckily nice and cool with the hot weather. I couldn't say that the staff were very friendly, when I asked for a map the receptionist asked if I wanted one with roads on it, yeah right...
We didn't try breakfast as there are plenty of good cafes around serving food at very reasonable prices. All in all the place was very good value at £50 per room. In which other European city can you find such reasonable prices during the summer?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eh_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This is our first time in Lisbon and we were very impressed with the location of the hotel. It is only a 30 second walk to Marque de Pombal metro station or, if you are feeling energetic, a 20-minute stroll to the centre of Lisbon. Initially we had issues with the booking and checking in, but the staff at Florida went and over and above expectations to sort things out for us and we are very grateful for this. The rooms are trendy and spacious. You can order great value room service meals from a nearby diner without extra charge. We recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a memorable and enjoyable stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We checked in for a 6 night stay and found the receptionist to be very amusing, with a dry sense of humour. We had booked a double room, but were sent initally to a triple room.

After a short while we were moved to a double room (Al Pacino room). Here we found that the air conditioning was not in working order (it was 39c that day in Lisbon). We complained to reception and were assured that it would be fixed.

We went out, and on our return found the air-con was on but the controller was not working so we were unable to alter the temperature or the direction of the fan. The bathroom had a strong smell of sewage so the door had to be kept tightly shut at all times. There were crumbs on the bathroom floor (beside the dustbin) on our arrival, and they were still there when we departed after a six night stay.

Soundproofing was poor, but luckily other guests were quiet and considerate.

The beds were neatly made every day, the towels were changed and the bedroom was tidied satisfactorily. The outdoor lounge on the second floor was a great place to relax with a book, but we didn't find it until our second last day. We stayed on a room only basis so can't comment on the breakfast (11Euros per day).

The location of the hotel was great. Next to a metro station which is easy for tourists to use. Lisbon is a great city, very friendly with a safe feel to it and a host of good restaurants.

This has the potential to be a great hotel, but it was badly let down mainly by the sewage smell in the bathroom, and the non working air conditioning controller.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

room was nice, friendly staff and nice restaurant inside. quiet neighborhood. in front of subway station.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
Thank Lola_Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Expo Astoria
Hotel Expo Astoria
#132 of 255 in Lisbon
999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Real Parque
Hotel Real Parque
#122 of 255 in Lisbon
1,413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turim Iberia Hotel
Turim Iberia Hotel
#147 of 255 in Lisbon
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#125 of 255 in Lisbon
1,354 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#102 of 255 in Lisbon
999 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Rua Duque De Palmela, 34, Lisbon 1250-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#82 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#89 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £59 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and Intimacy at this Stylish Lisbon Hotel With a convenient location near many attractions, Hotel Florida is a premier Lisbon boutique hotel choice. The hotel offers easy access to all parts of the city as it sits steps away from an underground station. Delightful and welcoming, guests will enjoy a true sense of retro style and design. Explore the historic city and return to delicious dining, comfortable and spacious guestrooms, and great service. Hotel Florida is a top Lisbon hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing