We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One good room one bad room”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #114 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We split our stay, 2 days at Florida, one night away, then a third night at the hotel. The second room (622 be aware!) was smelly, had a noisy aircon and the builders started throwing rubble down a plastic chute at "goodness o'clock" the next morning. We arrived at the room.. it smelled of drains, complained & was offered an alternative. By which time (after opening the window) the smell had dissipated & we thought it would be OK. OOOPS big mistake. When we arrived back after a night out in Lisbon the smell was terrible & the aircon started made a banging noise every 30 mins -- we spent a lot of time waiting for it to go bang. Bad night. A shame as it is the 2nd visit to Florida (we were there last year) generally good, friendly & clean with a fab position. Book it but ask for room other side of building site & NOT 622!

Room Tip: Ask for room otherside of building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank CityBreaker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear Guest (CityBreaker57),

Thank you for your review.

If, on one hand we are glad that you had a very nice first stay, on the other hand we feel sad that the second part didn't work so well.

We are now working on improving everything you mentioned on that room. Regarding the construction noise, it was coming from another building (not ours) and, fortunatelly they are almost finishing the noisy works. Your review was very helpful as we got these constructors to start working later in order not to disturb our clients.

Please accept our apologies for not having a perfect stay at this Hotel.

We hope that you can give us another chance to welcome you at Hotel Florida.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

fantastic fully equipped spacious big room with coffe maker. Very helpful staff, extremely close to metro & restaurants. Superb value for money. The interiors are done up in the most fascinating antique yet contemporary style Black & White. The rooms & interiors are themed after Old hollywood movies & actors.

Room Tip: Close to the metro & Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monalisa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear Guest (Monalisa777),

We are delighted with our review and specially with the feeling that your stay at Hotel Florida was perfect. That's our goal.

Thank you for supporting us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

At first we stayed at a small room, the "clint estwood" room but we got stuck out of the room on the first night, we had to spend the night at another room while our stuff was stuck in the room! and that's after waiting for 2 hours for varies hotel staff to try and open our door. the next morning they had to break in the room so we woke up bright and early from the noises, no one botherd to pick up our stuff and let us know the room was open so we just walked in and took it ourselves, no questions asked. that was strange.

the hotel stuff was also strange, although they were nice but they kept saying there is nothing they can do until the manager arrives, which was 2 days later. no compensation was offered but at least we got a better and bigger room, a "Roberet de niro" room which was nicer, with coffee and tea and a bigger bathroom.

All in all, the hotel is clean and new, the location is very central next to a metro station, the staff is friendly more or less, so if you get a good deal like we did, it's worth staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lim0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The room we had (417 - John Travolta) was HUGE! And it had a lovely view. The retro decor throughout the hotel was funky and modern, and we weren't the only guests who walked round taking photos!

The Marques Pombal metro station is literally steps away and there is a taxi rank right by it also.

Bad side = avoid the restaurant! food is not nice anyway, but found a hair in mine. didnt eat 75% of it but the staff never asked if anything was wrong - when they came to collect it 30mins later - it took another 20 for them to bring the bill!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyBop35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This clean hotel is just perfectly located: not in the middle of the noisy center but at 5-min walk. It is just aside from a metro/bus/taxi-station. Themed-rooms is a fun way to make the room more “charismatic” so to say.

Every morning we were woken up by a noisy lady who was having fun. I guess we also woke some old couples when we came in late at night as we could hear everything like it was happening just next to us. View was horrible. Internet service is a thief.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSwissK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed here for 1 night during the hot early August days. The hotel has been renovated so that all the rooms have a film theme. Ours were Casablanca and Singing in the Rain. The furniture and wall paper are also pretty funky in a 70s sort of way.
The lobby is black and white which was luckily nice and cool with the hot weather. I couldn't say that the staff were very friendly, when I asked for a map the receptionist asked if I wanted one with roads on it, yeah right...
We didn't try breakfast as there are plenty of good cafes around serving food at very reasonable prices. All in all the place was very good value at £50 per room. In which other European city can you find such reasonable prices during the summer?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eh_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This is our first time in Lisbon and we were very impressed with the location of the hotel. It is only a 30 second walk to Marque de Pombal metro station or, if you are feeling energetic, a 20-minute stroll to the centre of Lisbon. Initially we had issues with the booking and checking in, but the staff at Florida went and over and above expectations to sort things out for us and we are very grateful for this. The rooms are trendy and spacious. You can order great value room service meals from a nearby diner without extra charge. We recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a memorable and enjoyable stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#121 of 255 in Lisbon
1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#104 of 255 in Lisbon
680 reviews
0.0 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 255 in Lisbon
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Travel Park
Hotel Travel Park
#108 of 255 in Lisbon
764 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#112 of 255 in Lisbon
1,533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Expo Astoria
Hotel Expo Astoria
#133 of 255 in Lisbon
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Rua Duque De Palmela, 34, Lisbon 1250-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#72 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#82 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £51 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and Intimacy at this Stylish Lisbon Hotel With a convenient location near many attractions, Hotel Florida is a premier Lisbon boutique hotel choice. The hotel offers easy access to all parts of the city as it sits steps away from an underground station. Delightful and welcoming, guests will enjoy a true sense of retro style and design. Explore the historic city and return to delicious dining, comfortable and spacious guestrooms, and great service. Hotel Florida is a top Lisbon hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing