We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD CHOICE”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #111 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Porto Alegre
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GOOD CHOICE”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have just return from a trip to Portugal and I stayed three nights at the Florida. Actually, it was not my first choice in Lisbon but the city was fully booked due to a huge medical congress. I manage to confirm the Florida few days before departure.
I was travelling with a friend but we booked two single rooms and arrived in different flights. She got earlier to the hotel and was given a huge room facing the street; my flight was delayed and when I got to the Florida I was given a small single room (618) with double bed with no view, facing a small internal courtyard. As a travel agent, I was a bit disappointed but I knew the fact of fully booking all over the city. The room was good and clean. Bathroom was also good but every now and then a very bad smell came out from the drains and it was disgusting.
Breakfast is very god and complete served in a restaurant area facing Marques do Pombal Square.
Location is great in an excellent point to tour the city. Right at Liberdade Avenue and close to the old part of town as well as to the Park and El Corte Inglez. Staff is good and helpful.
I would stay again at the Florida but next time I hope to get a room with view and no smell.

Room Tip: Front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALBERTO_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    526
    219
    45
    22
See reviews for
291
458
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I just returned from a three night break staying at the Florida. On the plus side, it's very central and the staff are excellent. It's walking distance from Bairro Alto, Chiado, Baixa, plus the Gulbenkian and Modern Art Museum. And there is a metro station a minute away from the hotel if you need to travel a little further. Staff all spoke English and were helpful and pleasant every time we asked them for something. We didn't eat breakfast there as it seemed a little expensive and there are enough pastelarias within walking distance of the hotel to eat out for cheaper. On the minus side, the area directly around the hotel is a little soulless and the film theming of the hotel feels charmingly eccentric at first but a little forced by checkout. But overall I'd recommend it, good service and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samlowry1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Sam Lowry,

Thanks for taking some time to review Hotel Florida and recommending us.

We noted that you had the opportunity to try the excelent pastry at the coffee-shops around the hotel and maybe also in downtown . That is a very good alternative.

We look forward to receive you once again.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Funky movie themed hotel in a great location. 10min walk from all thats happening in the centre plus its right on the metro for exploring further afield. Rooms are bright, very clean and well appointed. Overall the hotel is charming and the staff like all the people I met in Lisbon are very friendly.

Interesting decor and lovely film touches. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have a favourite film ask for it they may have a room themed to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing the Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.

Please come back.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

A fun place to stay for a night and to start our vacation. Bed and room were comfortable; lobby very attractive in black and white motif. Movie star-themed rooms

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We'd like to take this opportunitty to, once again, thank you for your stay.

We are glad that you liked your stay.

Please come back.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just got back from Lisbon and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Location is great and is very close the old town and across from the bus tourist depot. Hotel staff is very friendly, breakfast was good (continental). The building next door is under renovation so there was hammering and drilling during the 5-working days. The bathroom had a funny smell. Will rate this hotel a three start not four.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Mr/Mrs Lacatus,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel, breakfast and staff.

We're sorry about the constructions on a nearby building, but they are almost finished (finally !!).

We truly look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Booked three room at the Florida for four nights at a very reasonable rate. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with a very relaxed atmosphere. the breakfast seemed expensive at 10 euros, but was well worth it - huge choice, very fresh, and the view from the breakfast room was wonderful, overlooking the Marquis de Pombal square. The reception staff were fantastic, particularly the dark-haired lady with glasses - she really went out of her way to find out train times etc. for us, and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
The only disadvantage is that there is a limited number of restaurants within walking distance, but as we enjoy a walk after our evening meal this was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review.

You made the day for our team and specially Sónia, the "dark-haired lady with glasses".

We truly look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Found a deal for this hotel and from the previous reviews, I thought this hotel would be okay as I wanted a hotel in a good location. It was definitely central enough but the bathroom smelled like sewage from the drains. Same complaint from a previous review. The stench was so bad that i couldn't even take a shower as I couldn't stand being in the room. Stayed only one night and had to change to another to enjoy Lisbon. Despite the negative, the room was clean and the sleep was restful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your review.

We apologise for not providing a perfect stay at our Hotel.

Our team is working to improve our conditions and give all guest the best stay in the city center.

We hope that, in the future, you can give us another chance to welcome you at Hotel Florida.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#93 of 248 in Lisbon
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Marques De Pombal Hotel
#44 of 248 in Lisbon
1,636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#121 of 248 in Lisbon
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#79 of 248 in Lisbon
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Rua Duque De Palmela, 34, Lisbon 1250-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#72 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#82 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#85 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and Intimacy at this Stylish Lisbon Hotel With a convenient location near many attractions, Hotel Florida is a premier Lisbon boutique hotel choice. The hotel offers easy access to all parts of the city as it sits steps away from an underground station. Delightful and welcoming, guests will enjoy a true sense of retro style and design. Explore the historic city and return to delicious dining, comfortable and spacious guestrooms, and great service. Hotel Florida is a top Lisbon hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing