We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewhere else!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #216 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Salford, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2007

Tiny bathroom and bedroom. Poor breakfast, Bar closed most of the time we were there. Located too far from the main attractions. Overpriced and overated.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    60
    87
    41
    21
See reviews for
36
86
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

I would recommend this hotel to those looking for an economical base to tour Lisbon. The rooms are tiny but the location is ideal. I literally could barely fit into the washroom and I am a lean guy. If you have the money, I would suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Liked — It was inexpensive
  • Disliked — Rooms were tiny
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheHungryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2007

Hotel is in a convenient location, but is dirty and in bad need of some updating. Hallways look as though they haven't been vacuumed in decades. Everything in our room and elsewhere was covered in dust. Bed was saggy, curtains were filthy, carpet was sticky, bath was old, A/C didn't work. There are dozens of hotels in this area, many that are reasonable, so no need to settle here -- this isn't worth the price.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank CW1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2005

A friend and I stayed at the BW Flamingo in Room 202 for three days. The A/C didn't work and with the window open there was some traffic noise. After touring the country we stayed in room 203 before returning home. The A/C worked fine but the faucet leaked. The room rate was 65 euros with twin beds.

By using Braamcamp rather than Rua Castilho we avoided the steep hill climb. We had wheeled luggage.

The hotel is near a Metro stop, a stop of the hop-on/hop-off bus and is about a 15 minute walk to the Airport 91 bus stop (3 euros). We were told we could take Bus 48 which was closer to the hotel but were concerned luggage aboard might be a problem.

The desk clerks spoke English well enough. We ordered a cab through the clerk for 6am to make our departing flight and it was there promptly (17 euros plus tip).

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2005

I too had the misfortune to get room 206. Arrived late evening with 30º+ outside. The room was like an oven despite the a.c. as the card key system means it only operates whilst you are actually in the room. Toilet wouldn't flush, but told room change not possible cos hotel full - helpful staff member fixed it with a bit of folded cardboard. Bathroom impossibly small unless you're a gymnast. If all they can offer is 206, check straight out again!
Staff all friendly and very helpful, but this hotel needs a refurb.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2005

Stayed here twice over the course of a week. The first time, I stayed in a small single that was well kept, clean, and all I that expected for 40 euro. The included breakfast was fine as was the service. The second time, I stayed with a friend in a double room, again for 40 euro. But this room was well worn, not as clean, and also incredibly hot. We couldn't figure out why it was so hot. It was terribly uncomfortable and the ac unit was ineffective. So while the value of the hotel is good, you probably want to ask to see your room before checking in.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2004

Avoid room 206 - it has possibly the smallest bathroom in the world. Others maybe larger, they need to be - Im only 5'8" & 11st and couldnt get through the bathroom door without a major struggle.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hello_Im_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#229 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#234 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional
Hotel Nacional
#168 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#182 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#193 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avenida Park Hotel
Avenida Park Hotel
#184 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Property: Hotel Flamingo
Address: Rua Castilho 41, Lisbon 1250-068, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing