We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad politics - good area”
Review of Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #221 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad politics - good area”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel charge the wifi, The WiFi PT that they give you access for costs 2 euros for half an hour if you find it by yourself, though the hotel charges it 3 euros. This is very bad politics of the hotel and i think it is also illegal,
The breakfast is very poor and you can hardly find the guy that serves it.
The hotel is very close to the metro, in a very good area and room was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Leandros M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    66
    93
    46
    23
See reviews for
41
93
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

The Hotel location is excelent, it's very close to plaza marques de pombal (5 min walk) where you can find the metro station, and hop on hop off buses for visiting lisbon. I recommend the gray line buses because they have FREE WIFI with an excellent speed connection! The rooms were small but very clean as the small bathroom. For me it was ok compared for the price I paid. The TV is old but I really didn't have time for watching tv. Breakfast was ok and enough, they served bread, croissants, coffee, chocolate, cereals, ham, cheese and orange juice. The only complaint was that they advertised that internet was available in the hotel but didn't mention you had to pay €3 for 30 mins or €5 for 1 hour. If you don't want to pay just walk for five minutes to a Mc Donalds that has free wifi while you eat something or drink a good coffee ( this Mc donalds locaion is very nice!) finally this is a very nice 3 star hotel! I recommend it!!!!! Remember tourist class hotel!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Yimaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covilha, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I spent one night at the Flamingo Hotel. Some nice things: rooms are clean, hotel is close to a Metro station (Marques), in the centre of Lisbon. Our room was very very very small. Breakfast was minimalistic (I had better breakfast buffets in road side hotels in France). Price was cheap for Lisbon standards, double room, two persons, 45€. So in all, I was not disappointed, I received what I paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back, it is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NGarcia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

It is very well located, as it was during a weekend it was easy to find a place to park the car without any cost (no need to use the parking). The price was very good considering the quality of the hotel I would recomment it to everyone. Using Gala site was also very good as can get better prices than in other on-line bookings. The only thing is that the payment is done at the booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Lisbon is marvellous! We fell in love with this gorgeous city at first sight!

The same, unfortunately, cannot be said about Flamingo. When we first saw our room in this hotel ! was about to burst into tears.

It was our honeymoon first destination and the whole trip was planned at the travel agency. And that usually makes you expect the hotels of the highest rank to stay at. Flamingo was not one of them.

The room seemed a cell, or rather a cellar, being so small that our heavy suitcases prepared for a long trip were about to be place outside on a small balcoby (which, somehow, we never used). If the room was small, the bathroom was tiny: when one of us entered it (for there was no room for both), the door could not be closed. Thanks God we could do without privacy! And to add to the climax of the whole story the floor, which was covered by the carpet, was wet from one of the sides of the bed. And I still have not mentioned the breakfasts that were a morningmare!

But not everything was so hopeless. The city has such an outstanding splendour that we spent little time in our grey Flamingo cell. The staff were polite and the hotel location was really central and convenient (close to the Marques de Pombal metro).

But if you have a chance to choose, which we were deprived of this time, there are a lot of other hotels right about the corner. I do not think the difference of the prices is going to shock you, hoping still that the difference of the quality will.

Have a nice stay in Lisbon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Our room looked like it had recenlty been refurbished and was excellent value. It was a clean and comfy room, complete with a safe (key rented from reception) and a mini bar. The room was light and airy and had plenty of room in it. The towels in the bathroom were changed daily which is always a plus. The hotel is located in the 'business area' which did mean that there was not a large choice of hotels and bars but a great bus service into the busier part of Lisbon meant this was not an issue. However, the fact that it was the business are meant that it was quiet of an evening which is very much a plus after a hard days sightseeing. No complaints about the hotel. It was easy to reach from the hotel, being approx 10min walk from the Marques to Pombal bus stop, about 20-25 mins drive from airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank girlsweekend12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deva, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our vacantion in Portugal. We took the hotel with a very good price offer: 45 Euro/night for 2 persons with breakfast. The room was extremmely small, the breakfast extremely poor, the elevator a ninghmare and the view from the room not nice at all. The only two good thing were the price and the central location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANCAMARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#235 of 251 in Lisbon
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#237 of 251 in Lisbon
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional
Hotel Nacional
#168 of 251 in Lisbon
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lisboa Central Park
Lisboa Central Park
#179 of 251 in Lisbon
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eduardo VII
Hotel Eduardo VII
#238 of 251 in Lisbon
1,090 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#162 of 251 in Lisbon
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Property: Hotel Flamingo
Address: Rua Castilho 41, Lisbon 1250-068, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing