We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient, centrally located.”
Review of Hotel Eduardo VII

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eduardo VII
Ranked #235 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient, centrally located.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September 2011 so apologies for the late review.
After our stay in Coimbra, we came by rail to Lisbon for the first time. It was easy to find the hotel from Parque metro station. Few minutes' walk to famous park.
Our room was quite small and the hotel being in a modern building, but not worth the complaint, as we had spent much time sightseeings around beautiful Lisbon.
Buffet breakfast was ok but a good start every day during our stay in Lisbon.
Must admit that the hotel (Best Western Hotel D'Luis) during our stay in Coimbra, was much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your visit to Lisbon and we are more than happy that you found your stay a pleasant one.

Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    237
    413
    188
    169
See reviews for
236
400
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Nice and clean rooms, a bit too small, great view from the dining room, friendly staff. Good location, very close to the city center. Maximum 5 minutes away from the metro station, 2 minutes away from the bus station, 20-30 minutes away from the city center by foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rannikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank so much for choosing to stay with Hotel Eduardo VII and for taking the time to evaluate us and help us improve our service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with a retro look (old style furniture, interesting old fashioned utilities). Despite it's retro look, the hotel is clean and the stuff is very helpful. Another plus is the location, close to Marques de Pombal metro station, 2 metro stations away from the heart of the city, about 20 minutes of normal walking on the Avenida Libertade, the main shopping boulevard from the city center. Also, 30 minutes by metro from the airport - easy access.

Another thing that I liked was the breakfast restaurant situated on the last floor with a panoramic view of the city.

The minus would be the food for breakfast and the fact that it did not vary at all from day to day, but it was always fresh, well cooked and pretty complex for a 3 stars hotel.

Overall, for a decent budget and for 3 stars or maybe 3 stars + expectations, I really recommend!

Reception staff always willing to help!

Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and it makes us very happy that you found a confortable stay in Hotel Eduardo VII.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here for four nights last weekend and had a fabulous time!!
I was going to a wedding in Cascais on Saturday which was superb! But the Hotel in Lisbon was perfect for my requirements! I ate every evening in the 10th floor resaurant and had a fabulous meal every time! I was served every evening byAmelia,who had been working at the hotel for 27 years!
I had a great deal with the Hotel,4 nights for the price of three! It was very hot when I was there,but I would like to return in October!!
Best Regards
Barrie Neviile<Baswold>

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and we are delighted that you had a pleasant stay.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covilha, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a very old hotel (going back to the 1950's), but very well located. The hotel is at walking distance of Lisbon central Marques de Pombal square, near two metro stations. My room was very small, with no ar-conditioning, and single glass windows. I could hear the noises in the back of the hotel, and the noises of guests passing by in the corridor, or even the elevator chime as it stopped in my floor. Bed linen were immaculately clean, and so were towels, but the room had a dusty look. Breakfast was a bit substandard, and in two consecutive days, I had different breakfast menus - on one day I had scrambled eggs and bacon, on the second day, there were sausages and scrambled eggs. Fruit juice was artificial.

The view from the breakfast room is good and staff is very helpful. Elevators need a review - they have only one elevator serving guests in all 8 or 9 floors.

All in all, I could stay there if it was necessary, but I'd rather look for a more comfortable place.

Room Tip: I would expect higher rooms facing the back of the hotel are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGarcia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII, and your suggestions will be very helpful for us to improve the hotels facilities and service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

With this one u get what u pay for.

It is a decent budget option; the rooms are there, clean but worn and not too far from the city centre (but not IN the city centre).
The service was decent in the reception, the housekeeping staff was very friendly and accomodating. The restaurant was not so good; breakfast was fine, and the place has a nice view, but they have things on the ala carte menu that they don't have ingredients for etc.

In retrospect i'd book the accomodation again but i would not have dinner there again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and we appreciate your evaluation.

We will consider your sugestions and improve the a la carte menu.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We arrived to be greeted by 2 men manning reception they looked miserable and did not smile once they seemed to hve the attitude that guests were a nuisance. The room which we had booked on line was very small and the toilet smelt of sewage, a smell that lasted the whole week. The shower head was filthy and the toilet seat needed replacing. There was no tea or coffee making as promised when we complained they brought a kettle with 2 teabags and 1 coffee sachet for 2 people. Breakfast was ok, but the dining room was full of cobwebs and needed a clean. One of the lifts was out of order for 3 days and the only working lift in a 10 floor hotel carried 3 people more than this and the alarm for overloading sounded. So it could take 10 -15 minutes to get the lift and usually meant going to every floor. The location is convemient but information is non existent a strike by Metro staff had been planned the hotel could have warned guests rather than us finding out when we got to the station that was closed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon, and for taking the time to evaluate us.

We read your comments very carefully and will use them to improve our facilities and service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#191 of 248 in Lisbon
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#232 of 248 in Lisbon
502 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#219 of 248 in Lisbon
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
#234 of 248 in Lisbon
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#189 of 248 in Lisbon
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eduardo VII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eduardo VII

Property: Hotel Eduardo VII
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 5, Lisbon 1069-114, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eduardo VII 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eduardo VII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eduardo Vii Hotel
Eduardo Vii Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon
Lisbon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing