We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and uncomfortable”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eduardo VII

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eduardo VII
Ranked #232 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
roma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old and uncomfortable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

I wouldn't suggest this hotel, as the rooms are small, with old furniture both in the bedroom and in the bathroom, it was not possible to set the room temperature, you ear any kind of noise during the night, the service is slow, the restaurant has few seats available, so you have to wait to have your breakfast. Peolple working in the hotel are not too kind and cooperative, the elevators are almost impossible to use, even if the hotel has 10 floors.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zyrakkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon, and for taking the time to evaluate our product.

We are aware that through 56 years of operations in welcoming guests in Lisbon, some aspects of the hotel may seem out dated, but constant renovation has always been a top priority for management, and we work everyday towards that goal.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future, with some more renovation in our establishment.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    233
    398
    182
    158
See reviews for
226
384
67
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

I've read a lot of things about it, like it smells like an ash tray and so on, but it wasn't true. In fact - it has a very pleasant smell. I liked the restaurant on the 10th floor, because it has a very nice view. I can't really complain much, except for one thing. One afternoon my boyfriend and I were sleeping so we had the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. But still, the made came in and woke us up. Even though she quickly appologised and left, I thought that was very unprofessional.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diabla780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and we are delighted to hear that your experience has been a welcoming one.

We hope to see you again in the future, in order to better serve you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

I did a business travel to Lisbon and stayed for a week in this terrible hotel. My room was dirty, old and disgusting. The people who works there was so rude that i won´t never forget this nightmare.

And the internet?!?! I won´t tell anything about it because you can laugh if i tell you the way it was.

If you want to suffer, stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrvelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon, and we regret that you had a bad experience with us.

Constant update has always been a priority for this hotel management, as well as high standards of service by the staff.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future, so we can better your experience with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Pune
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was convenient but the rooms were extremely small. we could barely move around in the room. There was no place even to keep our bags. We could here people talking in the adjecent rooms. The breakfast was below average too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrunalJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all, i would like to thank you in behalf of all the staff of Hotel Eduardo VII for staying with us.

We are sad to know that your experience was not up to your expectations and hope that we can welcome you again, in order to give you a better service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I´ve been at Eduardo VII hotel in Lisbon and I´m very satisfied. My overall impression is of a hotel with a friendly atmosphere, nice service and very good localization. I am a business traveler and the hotel is right on the centre of the city, close to bus and transportation. I really want to recomend the hotel for everyone either in business or leisure when in Lisbon!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauriciocarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and we are delighted to hear that your experience has been a welcoming one.

We hope to see you again in the future, in order to better serve you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

I´ve been at Eduardo VII hotel in Lisbon and I´m very satisfied. My overall impression is of a hotel with a friendly atmosphere, nice service and very good localization. I am a business traveler and the hotel is right on the centre of the city, close to bus and transportation. I really want to recomend the hotel for everyone either in business or leisure when in Lisbon!

Helpful?
Thank Mauriciocarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and we are delighted to hear that your experience has been a welcoming one.

We hope to see you again in the future, in order to better serve you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Four of us seasoned travellers stayed for a few days at the Eduardo as we had come to Lisbon to watch Benfica play football. We wanted somewhere convenient to stay on a reasonable budget. Euro for Euro I fully recommend the Eduardo. The most convenient way of getting around is buying a 'rover' ticket for 24 hours for 3.70 Euros: this gives you access to most forms of transport. There are 2 metro stations very close to the hotel and a choice of bus routes (including 3 which go to the airport). Once on the metro you can then go on to get on the extensive tram routes, the funicula tram, and even a lift, all on the same ticket. As far as the hotel is concerned they provide a good breakfast included in the price and the rooms are clean and functional, bearing in mind what you paid. There is an atmospheric bar/restaurant with panoramic views, but the meals are very limited. The bar shuts at 11 prompt because Jose has to do the early shift next day, and I think the hotel misses a trick here and could make more money by being more flexible. Still there is the Hungry Hippo nightclub around the corner which one of our party, Colin, used frequently. All in all a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and we are delighted to hear that your experience has been a welcoming one.

We hope to see you again in the future, in order to better serve you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#193 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#228 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#183 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avenida Park Hotel
Avenida Park Hotel
#186 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 mi away
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
#230 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#214 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eduardo VII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eduardo VII

Property: Hotel Eduardo VII
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 5, Lisbon, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eduardo VII 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eduardo VII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eduardo Vii Hotel
Eduardo Vii Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon
Lisbon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing