We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Stylish, Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Czar Lisbon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Czar Lisbon Hotel
Ranked #174 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Stylish, Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked bed and breakfast.
It was a clean business class hotel with helpful staff members.
Very close to Anjos metro station.
Nice decor throughout hotel, very comfortable beds and great rain shower.
No real complaints. Only improvement I suggest is that they could do with a greater selection of food at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank statia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    170
    120
    34
    45
See reviews for
77
195
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed there for 5 days, first for 4 days and after a small trip to Porto, 1 more. The rooms are very comfortable, the matress excellent, really fluffy and the breakfast very good, with typical products and always full. We travelled with our 2,5 years old boy, and I could say that the personnel was really patient and polite. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Summary:
The Tsar Hotel was the middle of three options from our travel agent: the first one was cheaper and farer away the last one was more expansive and closer to the center. Although i don’t regret the decision not choosing the more expansive option, i can not recommend this hotel! Here are the pros/cons which lead to my conclusion:
Pro:
+ Free WiFi: As a matter of fact this was the main reason why i explicitly selected this hotel, since this is imho more important than a luxurious spa!
+ Near the center: The hotel is situated at the Almirante Reis which is one of the main roads in Lisbon. The metro station Anjos is about 5 min. away and the tourist magnet tram #28 almost passes by.
+ Acceptable breakfast: It’s nothing extraordinary special but iirc fulfills the 4* category demands.
+ Modern room design: since I like to enjoy the video on demand on the big screen, the new Sony Bravia TV with HDMI was very useful! Moreover the rooms have a nice bathroom with rain shower
Cons:
- Noise: Since Lisbon has still its airport in the city, the people seem to be immune against noise. However, this should NOT be expected from the tourists! The noise level in our room reminded me on my younger days when I slept in a tent at a rock festival. Moreover, they seem to have “forgotten” to install noise absorbent windows at the construction and so even a closed window does not help much. Forget this hotel if you’re used to sleep with open windows and fresh air or not used to earplugs.
- Construction errors: Soon after we got into our room we noted that the carpet next to the bed was soaking wet! And we soon found out why too: The shower seemed to be wrongly installed and so water leaked out. We reported this at the reception but evidentially they couldn’t fix the problem during our stay and more or less ignored us.
Another error is the missing wardrobe. Although we had a black large wooden box which resembled a wardrobe, there were no handles to open it which left us with only one (!) rack/shelf for our cloths. Since we only stayed for 3 nights we decided to leave our stuff right in the luggage.
- cleaning efforts: When we returned from one city trip at 2 pm the room was still not tidied up. When we asked at the reception they told us that this can take till 6 pm. Well… that’s not the kind of answer I expected!
- No gym: There used to be a gym in the hotel but it was closed. The adminstration tried to remove the reference in the elevator.
Although the score is a tie, the total impression is still negative. Especially the noise which yield sleepless nights is simply inexcusable.

Room Tip: I would ask if there are rooms heading away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciboxx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
801 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is new and modern and looks very well from outside. Also the lobby with bar and armchairs make good first impression. But the rooms appeared rather small, with noisy A/C. The staff in the front desk was polite and friendly. But the service at the breakfast was definitively below the standard. The breakfast generally was not generous and the quality of the meals rather poor. Anyway for the short stay, Tsar could be the good option. Especially, if you get attractive price option, like we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel was clean but breakfast was poor. Staff didn't keep up with the food and re-stocking mugs, hot water etc.
Sometimes bedding wasn't changed. Alternatively we would have clean towels but no bath mat or hand towel.
Not in a particularly nice part of the city but very close to Anjos metro stop which connects well if you don't fancy the 15 minute walk into the main areas.
Room was nicely decorated if a bit small (one stuck in the corner) but good wifi and air con.
Very comfy beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

price/quality is quite good. Breakfast is very poor, the rooms have enough space but not so cleaned and many accessories are not ok. the location is not so far from the center and not so far from the metro station, but in a poor part of the city

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Luigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I recently spent an evening at the Tsar with my husband and sister-in-law (we shared a room). The hotel is still very new, about a year old, and is quite pleasant..... very modern finishings, clean and the room was very comfortable. It was a decent price with breakfast included, which was a bonus.
We had a drink at the bar during the evening, and our bartender (Bruno) was very friendly, helpful and an absolute pleasure.

Some of the "cons". At that time, their garage wasn't operational, which wasn't an issue, but there was no sign on the door stating this so my sister-in-law was busy ringing the bell outside for the staff to open for her, only for them to say that she couldn't use it. Then, having to reverse out back onto a busy street with poor visibility and trying to find parking close to the hotel afterwards wasn't easy either.

The Tsar isn't in the famous Expo area, so you would need to make use of alternative transportation if the main purpose of your visit to Lisbon is to be there.

But, all in all, not a bad hotel! It's still very new, so there is plenty of time for bigger and better things to come. I'd say a 4/5!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKDC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
Neya Lisboa Hotel
Neya Lisboa Hotel
#94 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 3K Madrid
Hotel 3K Madrid
#166 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#64 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#108 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skyna Hotel Lisboa
Skyna Hotel Lisboa
#92 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turim Alameda Hotel
Turim Alameda Hotel
#151 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Czar Lisbon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Czar Lisbon Hotel

Property: Czar Lisbon Hotel
Address: Avenida Almirante Reis 103, Lisbon 1150-013, Portugal (Formerly Tzar)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Czar Lisbon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fitness Center is out of order, it will open soon with a panoramic view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Czar Lisbon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing