We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is definitely not 4 star”
Review of Hotel 3K Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 3K Madrid
Ranked #166 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is definitely not 4 star”
Reviewed 19 January 2009

As some other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel can't really be classed as 4 star, it is more a 3 star. It was billed on hotels.com as being central, which it is when considering the whole of Lisbon, but not at all useful for the main areas Baixa, Bairro Alto, Chicado etc. It was always a taxi ride back at the end of the night for us which was a bit of a pain when the write-up says its 2 blocks from the main centre! It was SO noisy as well, I could hear the room next door's toilet flushing so loudly, it actually woke me up! You could hear the rattle of coat hangers in other rooms, people talking and despite the double glazing in my room the traffic noise was also a problem. The stupid idea of putting laminate flooring in a hotel also meant you could hear people walking around above too. I wouldn't recommend staying here. You'd be much better off in a more central location without all the noise. The staff were helpful though, and spoke excellent English.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The noise levels and poor location to main sights of Lisbon
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    180
    153
    56
    25
See reviews for
69
189
61
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
George
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I have just returned from a 27-night stay at the VIP Executive Madrid in Lisbon and would definitely recommend it to especially business-orientated visitors. The single room I was allocated was comfortable and suited my needs perfectly. The room was cleaned daily, clean linen and towels provided daily as well. Their breakfasts had a good variety although lunch and supper are not served. The location is also very central: the nearest metro approx. 10 mins walk, various local and tourist restaurants within short walking distance as well as 2 mini supermarkets just around the corner. I found the area very safe although did not venture out on my own at unknown hours of the night! The staff were extremely helpful and professional and went out of their way to accomodate my requests. I will be returning to the VIP Executive Madrid next year!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, professionalism, location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chenlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We were booked in a disabled room, the bathroom flooded on several occassions, we could of swam to the loo. Ever time we asked reception to mop up, they didn't even have to ask our room number as they were aware of the problem. On checking out we discovered our Ipod's had been stolen. The only people to come to our room were hotel staff. The hotel took no repsponabilty at all. I have emailed the hotel and they've not repsonded. On returning to the hotel on the Friday there was a lady of the night outside. It is not 4 * and doesn't have room service. We had 2 drinks in the bar, the bar man comlained he had to work, we were his only customers. Plenty of better places to stay at half the price

  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liz013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

SIgh. Kind of disappointing. The map location in HRS is wrong. The hotel is NOT in Baixa.

It's actually north, near the Picoas underground station. Problem was the Picoas was closed every sunday and public holiday. So it was closed more often than it was open. Prepare yourself for a walk to Pompal.

Hotel itself is plain and uninspiring. Functional but... nothing special. Won't rush back.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael9699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in June:
1. Location is good, not great
- 15min walk to Ave Liberdade (main Lisbon avenue), where there are lots of high street luxury shops (Furla, Louis Vuitton, Boss etc)
- 20min walk to nearest Metro (Avenida stop)
- safe and quiet area
- convenience shop (MetroPrice) to the left of hotel, useful to stock up on mineral water, shavers etc.
2. Rooms are clean, quiet and moderate size. TV (BBC) and mini bar. No kettle.
3. Powerful shower, fresh towels everyday - definitely a plus!
4. Air-conditioning available - it's very important if you are going in summer!
5. English-speaking and helpful staff. 24 hour reception.
6. This hotel is 3 stars, not 4 stars as advertised.
7. Breakfast 0700-1000 is adequate

Can't complain given the price (55euro/night). No problems during stay. Absolutely loved Lisboa. Will I stay again in this hotel? YES

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sohchiun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2008

I spent 3 nights/4 days in Hotel Vip Madrid. The location is ok. About half an hour of walking from Rossio and about 10 minutes walking from Marques de Pombal Square/metro.
It is supposed to be 4 star. But it's a little bit too dark , dusy and smelly.
The breakfast is not that great either. Scrambled eggs, ham, some cheese, butter and jam, cereals, milk and coffe. And it was the same menu every day. Oh, the hotel doesn't have a restaurant. So don't count on having dinner after a long, exhausting day in the town.
But afterall it was ok for me. I only needed a place to sleep at night. Although I had greater expectations.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Irina_Stanescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We've been there for the New Year celebration and were told by our travel agent that it is a four star hotel in the centre of the city. They were right, it was somehow close to the centre (15 mins of walk) but definitely not a four star.

First of all, the receptionist were very unfriendly, not willing at all to help us with information of other things. Moreover, when someone was entering the hotel they didn't even bother to look at those people not to say that greeting was absent.

Internet access. We were told that they have internet access. Paid. and the signal was available only in the small reception area. I still don't get it: how poor should they be that can't afford to pay for an internet service. And we're talking about a four star hotel.

Another issue was with the safe box. We had one in the room but were told we have to pay for the use otherwise we won't receive the locking code. That puzzled me like most. I mean, I have to pay to use a safe box and have a receptionist give me the code so ha can later check what's there? This is the strangest thins ever met in the hotel industry.

Overall, the room was quite ok, spacious, nice decoration but... no carpets on the floor. Just parquet. I felt like they didn't have enough money to buy some nice carpets or so.

The food was horrible, like eating plastic or chemicals. The onlu natural food there were fruits. I recommend to carefully check the food, since ham, bacon, cheese seemed to be the cheapest products bought from a supermarket.

If you are in transit, I assume the hotel is ok. But if you plan to stay more or need a business environment, please go elsewhere.

As a compensation, we saw nice places and had interesting gastronomic experiences in Lisbon so we liked the trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff, room's thin walls, food, internet access
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Raresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.0 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#148 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#155 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
VIP Executive Marques Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#164 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Travel Park
Hotel Travel Park
#107 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.5 mi away
VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3K Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3K Madrid

Property: Hotel 3K Madrid
Address: Rua Conde Redondo, No. 24, Lisbon 1150-106, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3K Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3K Madrid is located 500 metres from Marques de Pombal Square and the Avenida da Liberdade in Lisbon. The nearest Metro Station is Picoas, at 400 metres, while Marques de Pombal Metro Station is 500 metres away. The Hotel 3K Madrid offers rooms with a flat-screen TV and minibar. The air-conditioned accommodations are decorated with warm colours, wooden furniture and parquet floors. All rooms have a hairdryer and a private bathroom, in addition to a laptop-size safe. Every morning guests can enjoy a local and international breakfast buffet, prepared with fresh sesonal ingredients. The 24-hour Honesty Bar is located at the lobby and bar serves a variety of drinks and refreshments. A safety deposit box is available with the front desk. The 24-hour front desk staff can advise guests on the best spots in Lisbon, arrange a restaurant, car rental and currency exchange as well as flight details. Lisbon's historical city centre is a 20-minute walk away. Due to its location, the 3K Hotel Madrid offers multiple choice of restaurants, brand stores and museums, along Avenida da Liberdade Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 3K Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Executive Madrid Lisbon
Vip Executive Madrid Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing