We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Olissippo Marques de Sa
Ranked #129 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite a good choice”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My first impression of the hotel and of our room was very cold mostly because of the air-conditioning. The room had only a small window and was oriented towards the north which seemed a dissadvage at first but than it prooved to be an advatage because we could relax and sleep there well even if we did not use the air-conditioning. Another advantage is the proximity of the hotel to the metro. There is also a lovely park nearby. Some might be disturbed by the planes which fly directly above the hotel but we got used to it. Very good selection at breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank priska21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    320
    146
    37
    9
See reviews for
145
260
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our room was nice, clean, and well air-conditioned. The breakfast was great. Plenty of choice for hot and cold food. Lovely fresh fruit everyday. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We took the Metro from the airport for 1.90. If you take the right exit, it's 5 mins to hotel ( red line).
There is a park around the corner, and the interesting Gulbenkian museum ( fee on sunday).
The nearby chinese restaurant is great, and quite cheap.
There's very little nightlife nearby, but plenty in cais da Sodre. A taxi back is about 7 euro.
The dividing walls of the rooms are paper thin, so hope you don't get noisy neighbours.
We had a great stay, and it was well worth the money.

Room Tip: Away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Not quite 4 stars, it has small rooms, especially for families, but very good location close to metro and buses( even close to the station of the Hop in hop off bus), is very clean and it has a very nice breakfast! Overall good budget hotel if you have not very high expectations!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella_manta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário V, Gerente geral at Hotel Olissippo Marques de Sa, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Ella, thank you for your evaluation. We work every day to do better by our esteemed customers. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel during a bus tour of Spain and Portugal.

I was immediately impressed by our room. It was large, we had a large bed and everything was recently decorated (I assume) because it was very modern. The bathroom is very large.

There is free wifi in the rooms.

There doesn't seem to be a fitness center or a pool, which was disappointing.

Breakfast was included in our stay. There were many options, although I was a bit disappointed with their scrambled eggs which were very watery. The croissants are delicious.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ptitefunambule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Hotel was decent. Good service. Easy access to the Metro Station and a few minutes walk to the great Gulbenkian Museum, a must-see in Lisbon. However, the breakfast was substandard and facilities were not satisfactory, for example there was a huge television instead of an LCD TV sticking out of the wall which gave me a HUGE BUMP on the forehead. ¬_¬
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is under 5'10. On a more serious note, it is a great hotel and perfect for sightseeing.

Room Tip: If you don't get a double bed, ask for one at the reception. They are flexible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Rooms are modern, clean and basic and the bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed. Staff was friendly and helpful and able to meet the needs of guests It is located in a pleasant part of the city and conveniently located to transport which made it easy to get to any part of the city. It is only a short walk to El Corte Ingles and so it is perfect for those who want to be near the mall and those that want to get around using the train. The breakfast was exceptional compared to those we experienced in Spain. There was a very good selection of foods to pick from and it is hard to imagine that anyone could walk away from breakfast wanting more. I was a bit surprised to find the TV’s were of the old CRT variety. This was a most pleasant place to stay in a delightful city

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Hotel is on a tree lined very quiet street about a 9 euro taxi ride or nearby metro to Lisbon centre, on flight path to airport so low flying aircraft over hotel but we didn't lose any sleep from them. Checked in quickly in the small but classy reception area, staff were good but on 2 occasions gave us wrong information, at one time ringing an area on a map for us to give a taxi which cost us 10 euro as it was a derelict building & not the conference centre we had asked for! we had asked for a room for 3 people but our room on the fifth floor (512) was very small with twin beds & bed chair squashed in. The room was clean but basic with no frills as expected of a 4* hotel allthough toiletries were provided. Safe was broken & TV only had one channel & there was no tea & coffe making facilities. Breakfast was ok with limited choice of fruit, ceral, scrambled eggs only, sausage etc (no beans). We never ate in the restraunt but the area was nice & pleasant as was the bar area. I would stay there again if I needed to be in that area but only for a short time.
On a note to Lisbon as a whole, beware of the beggers! was shocked to see how many there was is the city & we were warned the are intent on stealing bags, cameras & phones!

Room Tip: If you want a nicer view request a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário V, Gerente at Hotel Olissippo Marques de Sa, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Milly Pink,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Olissippo Marquês de Sá. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Sincerely,”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#50 of 247 in Lisbon
403 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#86 of 247 in Lisbon
862 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Saldanha
#38 of 247 in Lisbon
648 reviews
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#66 of 247 in Lisbon
734 reviews
3k Barcelona Hotel
#149 of 247 in Lisbon
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olissippo Marques de Sa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olissippo Marques de Sa

Property: Hotel Olissippo Marques de Sa
Address: Avenida Miguel Bombarda 130, Lisbon 1050-167, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#98 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olissippo Marques de Sa 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Olissippo Marquês de Sá, is a 4 star Hotel, located in one of the most elegant areas of Lisbon, near by Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Av. da Republica, Saldanha and subway station. The hotel offers 164 rooms, Varanda do Marquês Restaurant, Cocktail Bar, 7 multi-purpose rooms, Room Service, Laundry service and Garage for 120 vehicles.The Restaurant Varanda do Marquês accomodes up to 150 seated guests. The Cocktail Bar for 76 people together with Room Service, complete Food and Beverage offer.The 164 rooms, equipped with individual ar conditioning, direct telephone, satelite TV, radio, private safe, hair dryer and a working desk.The Hotel also offers 7 multi-purpose rooms, guaranteed to cater all meetings, seminars, exhibitions and banquet requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olissippo Marques de Sa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Marques De Sa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing