We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in central Lisbon”
Review of SANA Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SANA Capitol Hotel
Ranked #66 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location in central Lisbon”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a nicely refurbished hotel in central Lisbon, very conveniently located for those on business or short stays, close to Metro and bus stations. Room and bathroom are comfortable but rather small. Breakfast is rather good, unless you have the misfortune to get to there at a peak hour, in which case you may have to wait for your place. Good ratio price/quality

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    304
    53
    3
    7
See reviews for
68
294
32
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed in the hotel for two weeks (July 2013) and it was very nice.
It is not a hotel for you to spend the whole day indoor, however it is perfect if you are the kind of tourist that walks during the whole day and just want a good shower and a confortable bed to recharge the energy in the end of the day.
The rooms are not big, but have a good cost and benefit, also they are clean and silent.
Staff are very nice and helpfull. Breakfast is fair and good (as it does not change too much, you can get used if you stay there for many days).
It is very close to the subway and good attractions, you can easily go walking for sightseeing and shopping.
I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the SANA Capitol for ten days in July, and found the hotel to be one of the best bargains around. It is centrally located just down the street from the Edward VII Park, and the Metro and buses are just around the corner. There is also an ATM and small supermarket just about three minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms are clean and, we thought, on the large side for a European hotel. One odd thing is that there is a glass door leading into the bathroom and avwindow looking from the bathroom into the bedroom. We are an old married couple so nothing much bothers us... The staff at the front desk speak perfect English and know the answers to just about anything you could ask. The only reason I didn't give the hotel five stars is that we had to hunt down the maid to clean our room even though we left early and returned after four. She cleaned the rooms on either side of us, but left our room for last. The front desk said that the maids have until five to clean the rooms, but we saw her chatting with other workers. It wasn't a big deal but it would have been nice to come back to a room that had been cleaned. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. There is toast, eggs, sausage/bacon, yogurt, three types of fruit, cucumbers, different breads, cereal, coffe, and tea. It was also nice that the breakfast room was never crowded no matter what time of day. The hotel also has free internet access and a computer and printer available for guests. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyPicthallFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at the Sana Capitol while attending the recent Rotary International Convention. The hotel's location is excellent, the rooms spotless although a little small (it is Europe after all). Rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. The room also included breakfast which was ample. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful with excellent English, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you are taking the Metro from the airport or bus station with luggage make sure that when you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiova, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Very nice hotel in center of Lisbon. Very close to the metro and the city center. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with directions,dinner suggestions and sightseeing. Very clean and quiet. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: try to chose rooms in the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMILCraiova_Romania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schomberg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We arrived at 8am after an overnight flight from Toronto and they had a room ready for us to clean up before heading to the City. Metro was convenient and downtown was walkable.
The restaurant at the adjacent Sana Lisboa was good. We also tried their taste of Portugal in the bar which included meats, cheese and bread with a glass of wine. An easy meal in the evening after a good lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Sana Capitol for 3 days in May and it was an excellent hotel. The one thing that really stands out is the cleanliness - it is absolutely immaculate! The rooms were plenty big enough and the walk in showers were large and the water hot and fast. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff attentive.

The reception staff offered excellent advice for out trip and advised on the best transport to use to get to our destinations.

Lisbon itself I found a little run down and will probably not revisit but if I ever did I would not hesitate to stay at this excellent hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alfiebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 248 in Lisbon
1,714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#79 of 248 in Lisbon
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 248 in Lisbon
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HF Fenix Garden
HF Fenix Garden
#58 of 248 in Lisbon
1,606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#132 of 248 in Lisbon
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#72 of 248 in Lisbon
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Capitol Hotel

Property: SANA Capitol Hotel
Address: Rua Eca de Queiros 24, Lisbon 1050-096, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANA Capitol Hotel is a new hotel, built in 2008, located in the centre of Lisbon. With an irreverent and urban design, SANA Capitol Hotel offers a unique atmosphere, allied to extreme comfort and peace. Near Marquês de Pombal, an area with excellent accessibility whether by car, or public transport, and a few minutes’ walk both from the historic centre and business areas, SANA Capitol Hotel is the ideal hotel for pleasure or business trips to Lisbon. Every area of the hotel was conceived to be unique and appealing, from the "clean-look" and relaxed rooms, to the modern and bright bar or the sophisticated, cosmopolitan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your SANA Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Classic Capitol Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing