We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of SANA Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SANA Capitol Hotel
Ranked #88 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Sana Capitol Lisbon for the second time in 18 months. Again we were not let down. This is an excellent, value for money, Concept Hotel. The welcome is friendly and efficient, the rooms are modern and comfortable, the bar staff treat you well and the breakfast is more than adequate. The hotel is within walking distance of most central attractions although the need for a taxi or using the metro is not dear.

Well done Sana hotels. Two more trips to Lisbon this year and we intend to stay at the Sana Capitol.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor. Found the one lift a bit small to service the five floors of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed a week at the Sana Capitol, and it is just right. On a side street off the main drag, it is quiet, big room with green glass tiled bath, lots of space in their. Perfect stay. If you go out the door and left one block, turn left and down two blocks on the right is a MiniPrecio a little supermarket with everything very cheap. One block down on both sides are restaurants I reviewed that are both good and locals eat their. You can split a meal both places (most places) and it is enough. The Sana has a big eggs and meat breakfast, with everything else. The only thing I would warn you about is DO NOT CALL ANYONE ON A CELL PHONE FROM THE ROOM PHONE. Cost me 50E, most of it one call to a cell for about 10 minutes. Go down in the Metro stop and buy a 10 trip card, load it, and trips cost about 1E. You can transfer between anything in Lisbon, bus, metro, tram even the funiculars running up the hill, within 1:15 of start and it is all just one trip of the card. And it is not personal, so you can use one card for both of you. Enjoy. Also, Portugal uses the big round plug. I had small converters that go from round pin to US pins and they would not fit in the round recesses because the edges had a square shaped protrusion ]. I filed them with a fingernail file to an angle > and they went in, but you can buy them with an angled protrusion and they will work. You can also go to a China store when you get there and buy them.

Room Tip: Anything above 0 floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terryLCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Sana Capitol Hotel is a nice and comfortable hotel for a city trip to Lisboa. Rooms are spaciou, cleans and everything reqired is available. Good beds. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice and complete. The hotel is situated on walking distance of the centre of Lisboa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marga28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a nicely refurbished hotel in central Lisbon, very conveniently located for those on business or short stays, close to Metro and bus stations. Room and bathroom are comfortable but rather small. Breakfast is rather good, unless you have the misfortune to get to there at a peak hour, in which case you may have to wait for your place. Good ratio price/quality

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed in the hotel for two weeks (July 2013) and it was very nice.
It is not a hotel for you to spend the whole day indoor, however it is perfect if you are the kind of tourist that walks during the whole day and just want a good shower and a confortable bed to recharge the energy in the end of the day.
The rooms are not big, but have a good cost and benefit, also they are clean and silent.
Staff are very nice and helpfull. Breakfast is fair and good (as it does not change too much, you can get used if you stay there for many days).
It is very close to the subway and good attractions, you can easily go walking for sightseeing and shopping.
I recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the SANA Capitol for ten days in July, and found the hotel to be one of the best bargains around. It is centrally located just down the street from the Edward VII Park, and the Metro and buses are just around the corner. There is also an ATM and small supermarket just about three minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms are clean and, we thought, on the large side for a European hotel. One odd thing is that there is a glass door leading into the bathroom and avwindow looking from the bathroom into the bedroom. We are an old married couple so nothing much bothers us... The staff at the front desk speak perfect English and know the answers to just about anything you could ask. The only reason I didn't give the hotel five stars is that we had to hunt down the maid to clean our room even though we left early and returned after four. She cleaned the rooms on either side of us, but left our room for last. The front desk said that the maids have until five to clean the rooms, but we saw her chatting with other workers. It wasn't a big deal but it would have been nice to come back to a room that had been cleaned. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. There is toast, eggs, sausage/bacon, yogurt, three types of fruit, cucumbers, different breads, cereal, coffe, and tea. It was also nice that the breakfast room was never crowded no matter what time of day. The hotel also has free internet access and a computer and printer available for guests. Great place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyPicthallFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at the Sana Capitol while attending the recent Rotary International Convention. The hotel's location is excellent, the rooms spotless although a little small (it is Europe after all). Rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. The room also included breakfast which was ample. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful with excellent English, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you are taking the Metro from the airport or bus station with luggage make sure that when you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#38 of 255 in Lisbon
1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
HF Fenix Garden
HF Fenix Garden
#62 of 255 in Lisbon
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
SANA Executive Hotel
SANA Executive Hotel
#112 of 255 in Lisbon
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
SANA Reno Hotel
SANA Reno Hotel
#96 of 255 in Lisbon
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Capitol Hotel

Address: Rua Eca de Queiros 24, Lisbon 1050-096, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £54 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANA Capitol Hotel is a new hotel, built in 2008, located in the centre of Lisbon. With an irreverent and urban design, SANA Capitol Hotel offers a unique atmosphere, allied to extreme comfort and peace. Near Marquês de Pombal, an area with excellent accessibility whether by car, or public transport, and a few minutes’ walk both from the historic centre and business areas, SANA Capitol Hotel is the ideal hotel for pleasure or business trips to Lisbon. Every area of the hotel was conceived to be unique and appealing, from the "clean-look" and relaxed rooms, to the modern and bright bar or the sophisticated, cosmopolitan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SANA Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Classic Capitol Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing