We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #33 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Saunderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed at the Pestana Palace mid October with my wife for 5 nights. It is around a a 15-20 minute drive from Lisbon airport and a couple of miles, by tram / bus / inexpensive taxi, from the centre of Lisbon. The surrounding neighbourhood is quiet.

Check-in was a bit slow and I was surprised when the receptionist berated the customer in-front for booking through an agency rather than direct. However the one we had was very courteous and knowledgeable of the hotel’s history when showing us to our room.

The palace part of the hotel is very elegant with beautiful public rooms and dining / bar area.

Most of the accommodation rooms are in two modern wings attached to the palace. They are clean, comfortable, well sized and air-conditioned. We booked one overlooking the garden but without patio. The bed was great! Only drawback was no coffee maker and iron.

Staff in the hotel were in the main were very friendly, attentive, helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast, included on our tariff, was excellent apart from staff a bit unattentive regading the serving of coffee in a morning.

Like all 5* hotels the prices for incidentals are expensive. Cocktail’s on the terrace on a warm sunny evening I’m fine to pay the premium price for but water from your room mini-bar not so much. Anyway we found some shops a few minutes away selling basics like bottled water.

We enjoyed one afternoon at the pool but did not partake in the spa treatments.

Overall I really enjoyed it and we would return. Not sure whether it really is a 5* hotel globally but it certainly has comfort, charm, romance, a sense of history and beauty.

Room Tip: Ask for a on the 1st or 2nd floor overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewOfSaunderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    332
    98
    30
    20
See reviews for
348
777
50
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed one night at Pestana Palace Hotel and wish I stayed longer. This is a gorgeous property with impeccable service and stunning grounds. The staff were attentive and well-trained. Within 30 minutes of checking in, everyone was calling me by name.

My standard room was spacious, the bathroom luxurious and amenities top-notch. One small complaint, I couldn't get the room cooled to my level of satisfaction. I have read other reviews mentioning the same complaint so I would hope to have this resolved at some time soon. I guess one more complaint, wireless internet is not free. Pestana Palace seems to be the exception as numerous other hotels throughout Lisbon offer complimentary WIFI and I think a property of this caliber should as well.

Otherwise, I love this property and look forward to small improvements.

The Pestana Palace is truly a destination not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

what a beautiful hotel. first of all, the old part of the building is like being in a stately anfd very refined home. the staff are charming, attentive and friendly. the bar provided a very nice piano player, and the breakfast was good. overall a gorgeous place, and apparently the hotel in Lisbon where the stars hang out when in town. lets just hope they have a better sense of orientation: the only downside to the hotel is getting lost in its labyrinthian corridors - with badly signposted directions.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
435 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed for 4 days to explore Lisbon and to relax. The hotel is not central and it is not the hotel for you if you want to have the city at your doorstep.
Having said that - the hotel runs a minibus to various places and the public bus stop is just 2 minutes walk away, we were very happy with the location.
The Pestana Palace is a hotel and a national monument - the interior will not appeal to someone who likes a minimalist approach to decorating, you are transported into a different era - everything is well cared for and everything is used, you do not get the feeling that you are living in a museum. The gardens are lovely, ou can have breakfast on the terrasse (the matured smoked ham is wonderful). We did not sample the spa or the swimming pool, we were too busy exploring Lisbon.
The service was attentive, the room was on the small side but nicely furnished with a big bathroom.
It's the perfect place to relax and to unwind - and you do have Lisbon within a 20 minute reach.

Room Tip: We just booked a room through Voyage Prive which attracted a huge discount - this may also be the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is quite simply fantastic...truly lovely staff, a fantastic property with lovely gardens and excellent facilities. The rooms are delightful, service unobtrusive and so delightful, and nothing is ever too much trouble. The romantic nature of the rooms and the delightful atmosphere cannot be adequately portrayed in pictures. We had the time of our lives here and will definitely go back. I want to pay tribute to the management (a rare accolade from me as they often let hotels down in my view) but here they just really know what they are doing and have their clever finger on the pulse of everything that moves in this hotel. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewellsverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Fabulous! We loved it. We try to go whenever we can. Very comfortable although formal atire is requested for dinner. At the poolside, you forget your in the middle of the busy city. A must for hotel admirers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

A beautifull hotel filled with antiques and pieces of art. It is really like an classic palace and one feels like royalty in this hotel. Never been in a hotel that had better service than thids one. During brekfast, at the reception, by the pool, in the bar: no matter when of where really friendly and impecable service.

The breakfast, during our stay served in the garden, was excellent. The pool and the gardens are like a piece of paradise.

When returning to Lisbon I will certainly stay at Pestana Palace again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gourmand_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 246 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#20 of 246 in Lisbon
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 246 in Lisbon
1,927 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#54 of 246 in Lisbon
203 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 246 in Lisbon
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#28 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing