We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in central lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #34 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Serenity in central lisbon”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I like this hotel a lot, maybe because I have the necessity to be close with nature and tranquility, I was born that way and was fortunate enough that my parents always had an amazing garden at our house, so for me when I travel to a big city Its always challenging to find a hotel that can combine the modernity, the facilities of a world class hotel and nature, and this hotel has that.
Been at the hotel 5 times now and being a young adult I just have wonderful things to say about this one. Service, food and facilities are impeccable.I always stay at the junior suite that has a cozy and confortable living room.
Its almost like you can experience living in a palace so I'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15theos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear "15theos",

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind note, which was highly appreciated.

We were all very happy to learn that the hotels services and facilities met your expectations and that you are one of our regular guests.
It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

At your disposal,

João Martins
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    342
    101
    31
    22
See reviews for
357
792
51
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel is set in an old palace, with beautiful reception rooms, most bedrooms are in modern wings overlooking the beautiful tranquil gardens, the rooms are spacious though a little tired. The food was very good served in beautiful surroundings, though the room had few occupants and limited choice on the menu. The spa was quite intimate, with attractive gym and indoor pool overlooking the secluded outdoor pool, a relxing setting away from the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Palace Hotel, and for taking the time to leave your feedback in Tripadvisor.
It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

Best regards,

João Martins
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The building and gardens are truly beautiful and unique. Excellent service and super friendly staff contribute to a very special atmosphere. Slightly impractical logistics (long hallways, complicated access to fitness centre) but compensated by helpful staff ready to guide you around. Looking forward to going back, for pleasure next time!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milagros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Milagros P,

Thank you for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review
We appreciate your feedback, but most of all your recognition of our service and staff.
We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We are lovers of Classical art and when I came across the Hotel Pestana Palace website some years ago, I had told myself then - stay there when in Lisbon. After flying some 14 hours into Barcelona, and a 2 nights stay in Seville, we arrived in Lisbon. Due to the location of this Hotel, we opted a 2 nights stay in Hotel Avenida Palace in downtown Baixa first.

After a short 15 minutes cab ride from the Hotel Avenida Palace (see my other review), we finally arrived in the mainly residential district of the Hotel Pestana Palace. Had booked through Leading Hotels website, a Deluxe Garden view, we were upgraded to a Garden view Suite with a huge terrace, nice!

Our suite was simply gorgeous and quite large, about 50-55sqm, separated bedroom with door from the spacious sitting room and walk-in closet. Bathroom are mostly in marble and the terrace (which lacked privacy from neighbouring suites!) has loungers, table and chairs. Free chocolates, fruits and water were sent to us later - nice gestures.

The hotel's common areas are to be seen to believe - rooms and rooms of different Classical theme, from Neoclassical, Baroque to Chinoiserie or Japanese. Especially liked the wood panelled dinning room (first room on your left), with leather Chesterfield sofas, nice!!! Both the Restaurant's dinning halls are also palatial and grand. Though the outdoor pool and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi looked nice, we did not use them because it was winter.

As our stay had allowed us a 20% credit of the total spent, about 80 euros, we used it on their Restaurant for lunch (yummy and well presented!) and room service (nice but expensive!). Mistake - as this credit are only meant for restaurants, internet and the minibar. So, do beware of this practice, room service is NOT included.

The suite, while facing the lovely and well manicured garden was a heaven of peace and we enjoyed two nights of good sleep. Though I had found the beds acceptable, my husband had found his a tad too hard. No problems, duvets were added immediately upon us informing the Reception - great service, really!!!

As someone has mentioned, the Hotel Pestana is very close to Belem and so I had planned my itinerary in such a way that I would see these sights while staying downtown - Sintra (via train at Rossio train station), Oceanario de Lisboa Aquarium (via Metro, a must see, better than expected!), Baixa, Alfama & Chaido (the rest by walking). A cab to Belem is only 10 minutes from the Pestana Palace. And its only 5 minutes cab to the Docas de Santo Amaro for dinner, recommend the 5 Oceanos (great food at reasonable prices).

The negatives of staying at the Hotel Pestana are few - though 3 types of pillows were given, but all are too soft for our liking; poorer sound insulation within the Hotel and between rooms; harder beds; room credit should be allowed for room service usage; poorer location for sightseeing. Thus, for first time visitors to Lisbon, stay downtown first.

After a blissful two nights stay at this elegant National Monument, we took an early morning cab to the Airport for our flight to Paris, France. An early morning cab from the Hotel, though metered, was a whopping 40 euros compared to our arrival cab to downtown at only 10 euros (normal hours). Stay here, you surely won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear JChua,

Thank you so much for your detailed review, it is very descriptive.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed the city. All your information are very useful for future travellers.
It´s through guest feedback that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.
Thank you again for your comment and for posting your pictures.
We look forward to your next visit to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and to offering you more Memorable Moments.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Lisbon Pestana Palace, a National Monument, is situated in a neighborhood not far from the Belem District, about 15' by taxi from Lisbon's center. It is a worthwhile detour if you want to get a taste of 19th century luxury and visit Belem and Sintra (the hotel is closer to Sintra than hotels in central Lisbon). Staying another couple of nights in the center of the city is recommended.

The common areas and the royal suites are in the palace, all the other rooms are in two newer wings. Rooms are comfortable and the service is excellent. The grounds are covered with luxuriant tropical vegetation and are actually part of the national monument.
Having a meal in the restaurant and relaxing in the palace's common area salons are special experiences (see photos). We felt relaxed and pampered. In the two days we stayed at this hotel we visited Sintra and Belem using taxis – not very expensive and time efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 621VladC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We arrived at the main entrance and the porters took my hand to assist me out of the car. As you go inside, the furnishings are historical pieces - it was like staying a night in the Getty furniture area of the museum. The 'gossip chairs' in the bar were my fav. Stunning hotel AND grounds! The location is up a winding narrow road but the area is very quiet residential on the hill, not far from the Belem Tower (worth visiting). Many attractions are a short drive away. A walk through the gardens is a must. If traveling with family, the grounds will make for a stunning family photo! Even if you don't stay here, you really need to visit the bar and tour the grounds. It's a "don't miss" stop in Lisbon. All of the staff treated us like royalty. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: ask to stay near the lobby area... the rooms by the pool are more modernized (unless you like that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westsidecarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Beautiful old palace in lovely gardens is both hotel and national monument.The main building has very ornate 19th decor. The rooms are mainly in a tatseful extension built in the grounds 10-15 years ago. in addition to a large outdoor pool there is an indoor pool of a good size and extensive spa facilities. I was there for a week on business and it was perfect place to be based albeit away from the city centre. My only quibble is that the bathrooms while adequate could be modernised to a full 5-star level. Staff were very attentive. A memorable stay for a luxury break.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PabloBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for visiting the Pestana Palace Hotel.

We were all very happy to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and staff courtesy the most. Your kind comments were shared with all the staff members, who were extremely happy to know of your satisfaction. It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.


Our kindest regards,

João Martins
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
896 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#62 of 248 in Lisbon
213 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing