We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and relaxing Palace-hotel in Lisbon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa
Ranked #38 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel was visited by my parents at the beginning of Mar 2012 for 3 nights. The trip was dedicated to their Wedding Anniversary and in addition to the International Women’s Day and was my father’s present to my mum, thus we’ve been searching a lot in order to choose appropriate accommodation. Being frequent travelers my parents use to the high standards provided by luxury hotels while in this particular case did require smth more – resort retreat in the center of European capital to unwind and relax, so the task was not easy while we managed it. Pestana Palace was on paper really what they need – with its huge green territory indoor and outdoor swimming pools, SPA etc, in very quiet location while still only 5-10 min easy (and cheap 6-10 Euros) taxi drive to the plain Centre of Lisbon. We originally booked wonderful Superior Garden view Room with balcony. At the same time I decided to make small surprise for my parents and few days prior to the arrival (without letting them know), e-mailed the hotel explaining the situation and the special occasion of the trip and asked hotel team for the possibility of free upgrade to one of hotels Garden Suites. Despite tight timelines hotel representative answered really fast indeed and informed me that hotel would be more than happy to offer this free upgrade and special treatment on arrival for my parents, in addition they promised to provide small gift to my mother exactly on the date of Women’s Day (8 March). This was really very kind of them, and I can’t say enough good words to the hotel team for their invaluable help.
Upon arrival my parents were pleasantly greeted and then were shown their room, so you can imagine their surprise when after opening the door they realized that instead of Superior room they were given huge and luxurious Garden Suite. The apartment was really special with huge bedroom and living room, separated by sliding doors. The bathroom features bathtub, L’Occitane bath amenities fluffy bathrobes, slippers and everything you would expect from luxury 5 star hotel. Separate word for balcony or I would say huge terrace with table, chairs, sunbeds and view onto green grounds. Moments after arrival to the room parents were greeted with the bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates – very pleasant touch! The breakfast was very good, with wide choice of high quality products served in the charming historical setting. The hotel itself is perfectly clean and the service is second to none. The grounds worth separate mentioning – hotel is situated in the real Palace full of old original paintings and pieces of art. In public places you seem to be more like in museum rather than in hotel, with the only difference – you can stop in any of the fabulously furbished lounges, sit down and relax while taking morning coffee or evening tea – really great experience! So no wonder that some famous people (e.g. Madonna or King of Sweden) did choose this property for their stay in Lisbon. Hotel grounds are unbelievably green, with fabulous outdoor swimming pool (unheated so was impossible to swim in March), very nice indoor pool (heated), which my parents widely used and many sculptures hidden in the trees. Hotel staff did their best to make stay memorable and they really succeeded in this, as my parents said that they were treated like royalty and it was one of the best hotel stays ever for them. On Women’s Day as promised my mother was provided with greeting card and small gift from hotel (music CD) – one more example of really top service and attention to smallest details. All in all it was fantastic stay in gorgeous hotel and my parents would recommend this Palace-hotel to all those who want to spend unforgettable days of pure relaxation in really Royal setting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VitaliyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear "VitaliyS",

We were happy and encourage with your comments about our services, facilities and staff, specially your description about our Palace.
Your kind comments were shared with all the staff members, who were happy to know of your satisfaction.
I hope to welcome you soon in Lisbon in case you need any support please let me know.

At your disposal,

João Martins
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

The public areas of this beautiful Palace are gloriously opulent, The staff are without exception delightful: welcoming, helpful and friendly. But the rooms are a big disappointment, cramped and uncomfortable. Unless you are in one of the Suites, and then things become comfortable. Otherwise you are acutely aware that you are a second class guest. After the plush, ornate reception rooms, bars and restaurant, the contrast with the small modern bedroom is very marked, and for two of us in this small space it really spoiled our experience, especially as my husband is not a small man! It's interesting to note that there are no photos of the bedrooms on the website apart from the larger suites, and now we know why. A somewhat dishonest approach for an otherwise beautiful hotel . On the plus side, breakfast is plentiful and of good quality, but the service is very slow. More attention seems to be made on laying the perfect place, removing settings for no apparent reason then re-laying them, than on actually pouring the required coffee! And for such a coffee loving country, the coffee wasn't too good either! This experience has put us off staying at another Pestana Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a suite if you can afford it, otherwise stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jojojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear "Jojojoy",

At Pestana Palace we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
About our standard rooms in fact we have some pictures of them on our web site and the area is 25m².
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mention and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just back from our second visit to the Pestana Palace, well worth returning. Lovely room, great breakfast, and outstanding staff who could not be more helpful. The weather over the weekend was so good that we did less sight-seeing than we planned, to have the joy of relaxing by the pool and getting some well earned rest.
One (minor) quibble - reception gave us the shuttle bus times, which said "daily" - well it turned out (after we'd waited a while) that this doesn't include Sunday. Beware.

Room Tip: 2001 - 2011 have sunny verandahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuNaturally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear "AuNaturally",
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thanks for your feedback regarding the shuttle bus time.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Best regards,

João Martins
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Pestana Palace is a very special place, but don't think you're checking into a proper, Buck House style gaff. It's more like a substantial villa built by a prosperous merchant in the late nineteenth century than a fairy-tale princess type palace.

Having said that, it's pretty nice! The main hotel is in the 'palace' with some lovely, if a bit over-the-top public rooms and one or two suites. The rooms are in two long, low blocks on either side of a lush, sub-tropical garden and pool - they're not particularly big and the bathrooms are a bit snug, but decent enough. Go for the garden view as the other rooms look over the suburb, which is nondescript.

Location wise, it's a 10 min cab ride from the centre - or 15 mins on the tram or bus which go from the back of the hotel and there's a hotel bus too which goes a few times a day. The old trams are fun tho' and taxis are very cheap in Lisbon - around 6 euros to the centre. Belem is also a couple of kilometres away - a fun place on the river/estuary with a botanical garden, huge monastery and the famous Antigua Confeiterie de Belem, home of the finest Nata cakes. You're also 2 mins by cab from the train which goes to the seaside resort of Cascais (20 mins), which has great beaches, restaurants and is generally a good place to go.

A big upside is the decent sized indoor pool and reasonable gym. Breakfast is definitely five star - my only reservation was poor quality cereals and yoghurts. Service is excellent and they were very good with kids too - not always easy!

Overall, if you don't want the often claustrophobic Lisbon city centre hotels, this is a great place to stay - 20 mins from the airport and 10 mins from the centre, specially if you can get a good rate. We paid around 170 euros a double b&b in Feb - I imagine high summer rates could be more, but at anything around 200 euros is good value.

Room Tip: Go for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgefoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear "georgefoody",
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Palace.
It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to have feedback about the nearby facilities to the future guests.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in a near future and/or in another Pestana property.
Best regards,

João Martins
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Having just spend my second stay at this hotel I just wanted to say how amazing the palace is and a big part of this goes to the friendly and helpful staff. See you next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Mr. "Gary B",

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback at Tripadvisor which was highly appreciated.
We feel happy to learn that the hotel services and facilities, and specially our staff met your expectations once again.
We hope to welcome you soon.
In case you need support to organise your next booking i will be at your disposal.

Best regards,

João Martins
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Peaceful suburban location but only 10/15 minutes from the city centre. Fantastic staff, very helpful. Dining room worth a Michelin star or more. Bedroom small but very comfortable. We would definitely stay again. Lisbon is a great short stay destination too.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilmartinsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear "Gilmartinsonthe move",

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Palace Hotel.
I took note of your feedback about the distance from city center, yes it takes 10/15 minutes by taxi because of that we have a complimentary shuttle bus from the Hotel to the most important points of the city.
I also would like to leave a note that we have the biggest Hotel Tropical Garden in the city that is also considered a National Monument.
To the guests that want to visit Belém tour or Jeronimos monument we are one of the nearest Hotel.
We were all very happy with the comments about our restaurant Valle Flor, thank you.
Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

Best regards,

João Martins
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It was amazed to find such an affordable and refined since of luxury in Lisbon as I had understood that the luxury hotels in southern Europe can be a little disappointing
Due to the hotel’s category, it have a classical frontage, but once inside, all the facilities are modern and comfortable.

Location - The hotel is located in an old Palace on the top of a hill. Really convenient if you are tired of the european city centers.
No facilities nearby, like restaurants and no shopping in the area.

Rooms – Large and convenient, with a big and comfortable mattress.

Staff – Very polite all the people. Is necessary to highlight the good work of the concierges, an international team with a wonderful help to a traveler who does not know the city.

Restaurants – Really relaxed and useful if you don’t want to take a taxi going outside.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amashir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear "Amashir",

We were happy and encourage with your comments about our services, facilities and staff. Your kind comments were shared with all the staff members, who were happy to know of your satisfaction.
I hope to welcome you soon in Lisbon in case you need any support please let me know.

At your disposal,

João Martins
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#11 of 255 in Lisbon
1,099 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,872 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £122 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing