We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is really good to live in a Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #32 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It is really good to live in a Palace”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We just came back from 18 days vacation in Spain and Portugal and Pestana Palace was the finishing touch.
It is a beautiful hotel with excellent service. The breakfast time will become the best time of your day and the two swimming pool plus the Jacuzi, Turkish bath, and both dry and wet sauna will the perfect ending for a day.
The food a little expensive but hotel has a free shuttle which will take you to the town and the tourist attraction so you can eat out most of the time.
If you go there ask for Mr Nonu and you will be treated like a king and his family

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kamkar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear kamkar1,

Thank you very much for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for posting your review on TripAdvisor, is very important for us and for future travelers.
As we say in Portugal, the end of your journey was the cherry on top of cake!
On behalf of all Team I would like to thank you for your nice observations about our staff.
Once again thank you for your nice comments and for the 5 star rating in all categories.

Look forward to welcoming back.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    328
    95
    29
    19
See reviews for
342
762
50
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was here for our official meetings. Fantastic hotel. Palace in true sense. Located at serene location. NIce rooms. Cheerful helping team of hotel. I being a vegeterian, special care was taken for me to arrange delicious food. Personal attention was paid to me. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikunjmundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear nikunjmundra,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
What a nice review! We will take sure and let all the departments know that your stay was great.
We are very careful with the preferences of our Guests and we appreciate a lot that you consider Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument one of the best hotels.
Thank you for the 5 star rating.
After a very good first experience, we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The best hotel we have stayed at.
Excellent and very friendly staff. Great atmosphere and a beauitful palace where you eat great dinners and have breakfasts. Very nice food. The service were very good and in combination with the price this makes it EXCELLENT!

They said when we arrived that there was a wedding with about 200 guest. We were a bit disappointed and started wondering how this would be to sleep in. We didn't here a thing. A family we met had the room next to the party. They didn't hear anything either. Sound proof from the outside. Not the inside though.

We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Mikael A,

Thank you for your kind comments.
We are delighted that you had a great time with us and that you appreciated all the environment of the this National Monument.
Thank you very much for the wonderful words about our service, breakfast and our facilities. We will sharing your feedback with all Team.

In the next visit to Lisbon, please, come back to the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Gorgeous, classic hotel - we felt like we were royalty. How often do you spend as much time photographing the rooms in the hotel as you do the city? Also, the folks in the restaurant were wonderful. We were there two days before Christmas and one night we were the only couple in the restaurant. The chef made us a special seven course meal that could easily have been an episode of a top chef cooking show. The staff was tops. Staying here should be on everyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRuthNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear BRuthNic,

Thank so much for sharing your wonderful comment on TripAdvisor.
We loved your title! “Best hotel in the world”! WOW! Receiving a compliment of these is for us a huge prize. We feel like a champions of the world!
Thank you again for your positive feedback, we will surely share with our Staff.
It was a real pleasure having you as our Guest and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more Memorable Moments.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a difficult hotel to review, as in some aspects it is marvellous, but also could do better in others. It is supposed to be a 5*-plus hotel, so one expects it to be expensive. However, my husband and I paid Euro.287 per night for a room which had one chair in it and a very small round table - no desk or dressing table. The room was small, but another chair could have been put into a corner, and instead of the cupboard which held a fridge with the TV on top, a small desk could have been put there. The TV, in fact, didn't turn, so could only be viewed when in bed. The only mirror in the room was inside the wardrobe door, and there was hardly any room between the wardrobe and the bed, so it was fairly useless. The public rooms are stunning, as are the gardens and the area around the pool. The food was very good and served in lovely surroundings. There was no tea/coffee making facility in the room, but when I said I would like a kettle and 2 cups - nothing else as I had my own special tea - I was provided with this. However, the cups were removed the following day after use, and when I requested 2 more, I was told there would be a charge of Euro.5 - for 2 empty cups!! The broadband, which wasn't complimentary, was virtually useless and only worked spasmodically. For us the most positive thing about the hotel was the staff, who, without exception were helpful, cheerful and attentive. The hotel seemed to be in much demand for wedding receptions, baptisms and diplomatic events, etc., which I'm sure they do beautifully, as the building and gardens definitely lend themselves to these sorts of events. Worth staying perhaps one night just to see how beautiful the building is, but we certainly wouldn't go back there again.

Room Tip: Avoid 2036, which is the room my husband and I had. Lovely view of the gardens, but the rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dodynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Dodynic,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We appreciate your honesty but we are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't excellent.
We noticed that you found the small room, but let me inform you that we have rooms with larger typologies that may fit better in yours necessities in a next visit.
Currently we are offering the internet and about the room service fee we are trying to manage more efficiently.
We appreciated your suggestions and we will present your comments to our Unit Manager.
Thank you very much for your words of encouragement to our Team, your review is for us an incentive, because every day we work to progress positively.
Based on the positive notes of your stay, we do hope you will let us know the next time you are travelling to Lisbon and give us a second chance.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Amazing hotel. Grounds and buildings are beautiful. Customer service is OUTSTANDING! This is a 5 star hotel and treats it's guests as such. The hotel is pretty small overall but it was perfect for a small group of about 100 or so. The meeting facility does not offer any A/V support such as a microphone or speakers but due to the size of the room, you might be able to get by without it. The sleeping rooms are based upon turn of the century decor, so it is not a modern/contemporary hotel but is still very classy. Keep in mind that the resort is in a residential neighborhood so you will need to be comfortable walking or taking a taxi to most locations. Personally I liked the quite and residential ambiance so it is was fine with me. Overall a great venue!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear KMALS,

Thank you very much for your visit to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
We agree with your words for considering us an elegant Hotel! We are a classic Hotel with a charm of the nobility of the XIX century. The decoration of the new wings rooms are in line with the main building, because they are modern but in harmony with the palatial setting.
You were very kind to say those words about our staff. We will share your feedback with all Team.
Congratulations for the nice pictures you posted.
We want to continue to surprise you. We will be pleased to welcome you back again at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Impeccable service, well maintained facilities, classic decor and luxurious, excellent leisure and spa area. A little off center, but the free shuttle service runs fine. We feel like princes, even more than we stayed at the same time that the Spanish princes. Luxury!

Room Tip: Inside garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrunoVilaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear BrunoVilaca,

Thank you for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review, which highly appreciated. We were all happy to learn that the hotel service and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.
Thank you very much for posting your nice photos.
To us you are a Prince and your Palace in Lisbon is waiting for your next visit.

Cordiales saludos,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing