We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Palace Lisboa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
memmo Alfama Hotel(Lisbon)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,081)
Filter reviews
2,081 results
Traveller rating
1,495
393
119
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
393
119
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingnational monumentvalle flornew wingoutdoor poolpublic roomsgarden viewtagus riveramazing hoteltaxi ridebeautiful roomcity centrevisiting lisbonpublic transportpastriesspataxis
Filter
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 2,081 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Despite a semi-retired half blind taxi driver trying to stop our Lisbon visit before we began, pulling into the hotel drive produced a 'wow' and we never lost that through our stay.

Decor and rooms are elegant, comfortable and generously sized, with superbly manicured grounds and an indoor/outdoor pool complex, with quiet corners if you want to hide from the heat of the day.

Surprisingly relaxed about children, the staff are friendly and helpful without feeling intrusive.

A lovely place to start the day and finish it after exploring the hot, busy and beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cityhoppa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Cityhoppa11,

Thank you very much for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for posting your review on TripAdvisor, is very important for us and for future travelers.
If you allow, WOW we say about your comment! We see that you enjoyed your stay and the city, and we are glad you had a great time.
We do not understand what happened with the taxi driver, but hopefully not anything serious.

Look forward to welcoming back on Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A truly first class hotel-certainly amongst the best I have ever stayed in. Nothing was too much for the staff and both the surroundings and facilities lent themselves perfectly to a Lisbon break. It is a little way to the centre but a courtesy bus is available and taxis are plentiful and cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roger o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear roger o,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience.
We are very pleased with your satisfaction and that you put us among the best hotels you ever stayed.
We hope to see you soon in Lisbon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We first visited the PP about seven years ago and it has maintained its reputation for great service.
The building is amazing, the gardens lush, the outdoor pool area stunning - and it also has an indoor pool and gym.
It is a quiet slice of paradise in an amazing city.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room when you check in. Sit outside on terrace for breakfast.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rubybirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Rubybirkenhead,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor.
We are a different hotel of any other, we are a Palace, we are classified as a National Monument, we have a garden that is National Heritage, we offer tranquility and privacy for our Guests and above all we work daily to have a service of excellence.
Thank you for recognizing our reputation and commitment.
Your comments will be shared with the entire Staff that will surely be proud to have attained their expectations.
We also thank you for consider Lisbon an amazing city.
You will always be welcome to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument. Please come back soon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A recent trip to Lisbon turned into a memorable experience thanks to the Pestana Palace Hotel and the wonderful people of Portugal. I have to admit that it was not high on our list of places to visit but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants to experience history, beautiful architecture, spectacular coastlines...all at a relatively reasonable cost. Of course many options for shopping, tours, restaurants and our highest priority walking and experiencing the local culture.

So now my comments about the Pestana Palace Hotel. Before leaving for the trip we joked about pretending to be Royalty while staying at the hotel...well it didn't disappoint. The experience starts as you approach the ornate gates and pass through the walls surrounding the property. We were greeted by staff who were very attentive to every detail including stating my name (not sure how he did that but I think from the luggage tag or ?). He also remembered my name for the entire week.

As you enter the palace you can't help but notice the stain glass and high domed ceiling. A friendly reception at the front desk was complimented by the quick processing of our reservation. Then we were off to our room with...our escort! We were taken on a route that allowed for a tour of the building. Breathtaking! One common theme you will notice is how proud the staff are of the Palace.

The gardens are absolutely spectacular. It includes several statues, a pagoda, indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and plants maintained by a caring and experienced team.

Our room was in the new wing with a city view (more of a view of the local neighbourhood). If you can afford the garden view I would highly recommend it. It was a good size room with the regular amenities with the exception of a coffee maker, iron and ironing board.

Our stay included the buffet breakfast so we started each day in the spectacular dining area. The coffee with warm milk was very good and the variety of foods will please most. I have to give special recognition to the chef who was attending the omelette station. He had never made an egg-white omelette but didn't refuse and by the end of the week he had perfected the technique. Just another example of how accommodating the staff are.

The location is about 7km from the city center and we used the shuttle once (NOTE: when you look at a map you have consider that there are no flat roads in the city unless you go to the river front. Some can be extremely steep). We walked down to the river every day and went either east (to the city center) or west (to the Atlantic). Lots of options to eat or just relax.

We did one day trip to Cascais. It is easily accessible by train (10 Euro return for the 2 of us). We boarded at Alcantara-Mar because if you board at Belem you have to change trains half-way.

Thank-you to everyone at the Pestana Palace Hotel for a memorable stay...we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zakextreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear zakextreme,

WOW!!
You are the best! What a wonderful feedback!
Millions of the thanks from the all Team.
You left us speechless!
We have the pleasure of working in the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and receive our Guests with a huge smile. Just among us, we have a secret to know the names of our Guests…without asking! It’s the magic of Palace!
Thank you very much for sharing your photos and to give us 5 star rating in all categories.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more Memorable Moments.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife booked this place as somewhere nice to finish off our 4 stop tour of portugal's west coast.
We arrived from Cascais by hire car which was to be returned at mid-day, so we were early (very) for our check-in.
We explained the reason for our early arrival and were pleased to be told that our room was ready. I was asked to hand over the keys for our hire car and it was duly dispatched to the hotel garage parking and told that they would deal with the handback to the hire company for me.
The 5* experience had started here as it had at other hotels we had used during our trip.
The main part of the hotel and reception area is really a palace with the architecture outstanding both inside and out. Classical styling which takes your breath away as you sit at breakfast wondering how all the cornice and painting had been done. The flower display above the fireplace in the dining room is a work of art in itself. The breakfast is what you would expect and service is carried out by discreet and smiling staff only too happy to help.
The rooms/suites in the main building are very, very expensive €3000-€4000 a night. We stayed off course in the new wing linked to the main building by a glass walkway. Very tastefully done with a modern contrast to the classic main building. The room was the smallest of the 4 we stayed in on our tour but it was large enough for our 4 nights there. It had a view of the gardens which are beautiful, with many exotic plants, trees and flowers. The pool area is discreetly situated in the gardens and compliments the surroundings. My wife counted 18 sun loungers and it was never busy during our visit. The pool bar was well used by those using the pool and a cold white wine, was welcome late in the afternoon each day. The sauna, steamroom and jacussi was a welcome distraction from sitting in the sun.
The hotel is situated a wee bit out from the city centre, however the short taxi journey is well worth the stay here. €7 gets you a taxi journey each way. The bus or tram will cost you €1.85/€2,85, so the taxi is not expensive for 2 or more people.
I cannot praise the staff here enough for the friendly and professional way we were treated during our short stay.
If you can afford the expensive rooms here then you will be living in real luxury. If like us you can afford the 'normal rooms' then you will not be disappointed.
Thank you to the staff at the Pestana Palace Hotel, Lisbon for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear burnieScotland,

Thank you for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review, which highly appreciated. We are all very happy to learn that the hotel service and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.
We work with passion and dedication to provide Memorable Moments to our Guests. Thank you so much for your recognition.

We want to thank you for being our Guest and we really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews