We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is without a doubt the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in and the service is top notch. The staff cannot do enough for you. The restaurant manager asked if we would mind completing a customer feedback form which included 46 questions which gives you an idea about the details they train their staff to provide. On our last night we told the concierge which restaurant we were going to so that he could direct the taxi driver and when we arrived the taxi driver told us the hotel had called ahead to get us a table so we could avoid the queue of 20 people that were waiting. The restaurant manager also seemed to be more attentive to us so I suspect the hotel has some sort of arrangement with them. The pool area is lovely. We upgraded to a balcony room which was worth it. The breakfast is amazing and they make the greatest mojitos. Everything was perfect.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear AmeliaLondon,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff.
The request to fill the questionnaire is part of our procedures to evaluate the satisfaction of our customers, because we have high services standards and we want to improve every day.
Were you surprised by the treatment in the restaurant? Well, our Guests are always VIP!
Thank you for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review, which highly appreciated.
We hope to see you soon in the next visit to Lisbon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    319
    91
    28
    19
See reviews for
334
742
49
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I spent two nights with my family at the Pestana Palace in Lisbon last week. We were on holidays on the way to a cousin's wedding in Northern Portugal and the stop in Lisbon was for us to spend sometime together before heading to Monsantinho.

I must say the hotel was a complete surprise. A stunning building which was brought back to its original splendour in a delicate and tasteful manner.

The reception area is very understated and ugly compared to the rest of the hotel, something the owners should quickly change. It feel old, antiquate and cheap.

While the social area is set at the old palace building, the rooms are situated in two modern wings on both sides of the garden. The bedrooms are classic, but basic for a 5 star hotel. The mattresses are of poor quality, very hard. Everything else in the room is well appointed, discrete and appropriate to the hotel's surroundings.

The hotel offers a superb breakfast service, which you can take indoors or outside in the garden. Excellent service at the restaurant. The bar is fine, cosy and an excellent option for a late night cap before heading to your bedroom.

The garden is more of a botanic garden then a house's garden. It is stunning! Everything about it makes you want to hang in the hotel and forget about leaving its grounds. We had two amazing summer days, so it was a delight! The swimming pool is beyond beautiful and brings you another surprise: it has running water, making it natural and cool.

What the hotel fails to deliver is a proper set of business services. The internet (only WIFI service offered) is appalling! It is simply impossible to use it in your bedroom. The service is so patchy and weak that a simple google search is impossible. Downloading emails is mission impossible, even on common areas like the reception, lobby or the main living rooms in the house. It's a real shame because I would simply not stay there for business. The other issue is that, although the service is very courteous, everything is too slow. The porters, the reception staff... it's all too slow.

So, my verdict: I would come back in a second for a leisure stay, but most definitely on a business trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonicocanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear tonicocanto,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased that you have been a positive experience, however we apologize if for some reason the internet did not work in the best way and for not having appreciated our mattresses. We will present these proposals to our Unit Manager.
We appreciate your constructive and detailed feedback. For us it is very important because based on their opinion we can improve our services.
You will be very welcome to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. The Palace and gardens are fantastic and so is the pool. The main restaurant is something else, and it is a great building to explore.

The two wings which house the bedrooms are obviously newer, but are tastefully done. I would probably agree with a previous comment, '5 star service, 4 star rooms'. This is because they are small size compared to other hotels, but to be fair this did not spoil the trip as we spent most of the time outside of the room.

Be prepared to get cabs as the centre of Lisbon is 10 minutes away, but these were cheap and always available.

Go, if only for the palace and the amazing service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westons2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Westons2009,

Thank you for your kind comments.
The architecture of the Palace is entirely French style and some critics consider the Valle Flôr Restaurant and the breakfast room of a mini Versailles. We were very glad you enjoyed your experience.
Thank you very much for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for posting your review on TripAdvisor, is very important for us and for future travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

How can this hotel be so affordable?

OK, it's not mega cheap, but compared to other five stars in major cities it is absolutely amazing.

Exquisite huge grounds. A separate Japanese folly in the gardens where you can have a private tea or play mahjongg (we did) or have drinks with friends. Beautiful public lounges where you can curl up on lush brocade and read your book in absolute peace. Fabulous small boutique night-time bar with live crooner and piano and delicious, substantial bar snacks.

A fantastic, atmospheric, garden-surrounded pool that you can use for the rest of the day even if you have checked out early.

Concierge staff who will do ANYTHING for you. They organised great tables at top restaurants for us. Taxis are at the door at all times.

Wi-fi is fast and free.

Lovely elegant big rooms.

The BEST buffet breakfast in Europe. Really. And we've had quite a few.

I cannot believe that it only cost 330 euros a night for a big double, incl. breakfast.

Don't bother going anywhere else in Lisbon. We never will.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Pigmango,

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
You are the best!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your high esteem of our Hotel and Staff.
We will sharing with all Teams your candid feedback.
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument is your home in Lisbon, you are always welcome.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

It was just unbelievable. Beautiful settings. Manicured gardens and warm Portugese environment.
The staff was extremely curteous and helpful. Buffet breakfast was included and it was excellent. Dining at the plush restaurant was a memorable one with a cordon bleu presentation not to mention the food was super excellent although a little bit steep price wise but worth it when you are living it. We ordered room service in the evening as we were hungry but were extremely disappointed and it was extremely expensive. I wouldn't recommend it. Be mindful the hotel is a historic landmark and is tugged away from the city center and you certainly need a cab to go to the city. It costs about 10 Euros. Overall, we were extremely pleased with our stay and we would certainly go back should we decide to go to lisbon. By the way, we had a free dinner for our stay of one week, drinks excluded.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear vicn49,

We loved your title!
Thank you for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument e for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
We are all happy to learn that the hotel service and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.
The Chef and his Team appreciated your kind words about the meals.
Sorry if the room service not exceeded your expectations. We would like to know what did not work so that we can improve.
We hope to see you again in the next time you visit Lisbon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband took me here to distract me from the preparations for a surprise birthday party. Little did I know! The hotel staff were fantastic from our arrival. The first surprise came at check-in with a room upgrade. A trainee then took us on a tour of the palace showing us the beautiful rooms and chapel while the porters looked after our luggage. The bedroom was very nicely decorated and had a lovely view of the gardens. We were there in a very hot August day and the pool was just wonderful for a very refreshing swim in the beautiful settings of the botanical gardens. The outdoor pool and pool house themselves are worth the visit for their exquisite setting. An all marble former lake! Dinner was excellent in the conservatory, with exquisite food and great wine, followed by coffee and a digestif in the garden. The following morning the buffet breakfast was a real treat served in the conservatory and the garden. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy a quiet luxury oasis away from the busy city centre. We plan to make this a regular place to stay when visiting Lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Maria S,

What a nice review!
Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment on TripAdvisor.
Certainly that was a very good surprise and we are glad you enjoyed the experience on Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument. "Memorable Moments" is what we want to offer to our Guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My brother and I stayed here and relished the preservation of a lovely piece of architecture. The room was wonderful; breakfast was good; the pools were wonderful both for relaxing and swimming laps. Staff was great; if you are doing a massage, ask for Ana. CLose enough to historic Lisbon that you could walk; we did both walking and cabs (which were reasonable). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The garden facing rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Malinda H,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and the 5 star rating in all categories.
Your comments will be shared with the entire staff that will surely be proud and they will be encouraged by your remarks.
It was a pleasure to read that you give the hotel your highest recommendation.
We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Prestigia so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing