We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palace experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #32 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Palace experience”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed 4 nights in September. The rescue from disuse and renovation of the elegent palace has been done superbly, giving a unique set of rooms in the palace building. The staff were excellent and usually knew what we wanted before we did. They were most helpful in planning our sightseeing. The purpose built sets of bedrooms were fine though a little worn after some dozen years since opening. The hotel atmosphere and restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRBligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear PRBligh,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we will surely share with our teams.
We want the guests feel prepared and comfortable to discover the charms of Lisbon. We are glad you enjoyed our staff, we work every day to give Memorable Moments to our guests.
Please come back soon to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    327
    95
    29
    19
See reviews for
342
759
50
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Pestana Hotel in Lisbon for 3 nights during our September/October trip to Lisbon. This must have been the most beautiful hotel I have ever been to anywhere in the world. It truly felt like staying in a museum.

HOTEAL GROUNDS

The hotel grounds, the interior with antique furniture and art everywhere - truly exceptional and impressive in every way. There are also indoor and outdoor pools, as well as a spa. Unfortunately we were so busy visiting Lisbon that we had no time to enjoy any of the amenities. We did discover a playground next to the swimming pools and highly appreciated it since we were traveling with a 2-year old.

SERVICE

Staff was unbelievably pleasant, professional and welcoming. Everyone was helpful and accommodating in each and every way.

ROOMS

The rooms are indeed basic in the newer wing; however, they are once again immaculately clean and have all the necessary amenities. Beds are rock hard, but that seems to be the case in Lisbon everywhere.

We traveled as a family and peace & quiet was important to us. Pestana is slightly out of the way if you are visiting Lisbon; however, it is in a very tranquil location which is easily accessibly by very inexpensive taxies. Do keep in mind that many sites list this hotel as being located in Belem; however, it is on the outskirts of the area and nothing of interest is accessible by walking. Metro and taxis solve the problem, however,

RESTAURANT

Breakfast was included in our fare & I strongly recommend it. Freshly squeezed juices, a wide variety of cereal and yogurts, as well as a cook making omelets - there are options for everyone. The restaurant is stunning and impressive in every way.

Our stay at Pestana was memorable and I cannot recommend it enough! It is indeed a palace - no wonder Madonna stays there every time she is in Lisbon. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradisevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear paradisevacation,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback and for consider the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument as the most beautiful hotel you have stayed.
We are all very happy to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and staff courtesy. It’s really good staying in a Palace with 109 years of history and stories like Madonna and yours will be forever linked to our heritage.
It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.
We look forward to your next visit and to offering you more Memorable Moments.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We chose to stay in the Pestana Palace Hotel because of its proximity to the conference center, and it far surpassed expectations. The palace rooms were beautiful, the newer guest rooms were comfortable and the restaurant was superb. We enjoyed the free shuttle which delivered guests to any one of five locations, and loved to stroll in the beautiful garden. The staff was especially helpful in making dinner reservations and providing information about the city. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Mspayne,

What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor and to give us five star rating.
It is very important for all of us to receive the opinion of our Guests and also to see that the work of the whole team met your expectations.
It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Rooms were ok but I stayed in better ones (We were staying in newer part of hotel)
What was expetional was service.
Every step we did we were receiving 5 star service (restaurant,swimming pool, breakfast etc).
Interior of palace is amazing,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlenaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Hello Marlenaba,

Thank you very much for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
In fact, the classification of National Monument, it makes Pestana Palace an "amazing" hotel like you said. If we combine this factor with the commitment and professionalism in the services of all the teams, we have (at least we hope) the customer satisfaction. Well, you saw...
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback. You will always be welcome at the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument for a tea or a cocktail.

Até breve,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Most of the bigger Lisbon Hotels are not in walking distance of the Lisbon Conference Centre - The Pestana Palace is 10 minutes walking distance although hilly on the way back! The hotel is superb with good large rooms and stunning public rooms. The staff are great and very helpful. Only drawback is that the bathrooms are a bit dated although everything works and they are clean. Pool and gardens are lovely. My favourite Lisbon venue.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear mbodyLondon,

Thank you very much for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for posting your review on TripAdvisor, is very important for us and for future travelers.
Yes, we are very near to the Lisbon Congress Center, but we are waiting for you in family stay too, of the hotel to the downtown is very fast.
On behalf of the entire staff at the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument we thank their kind comments.
We hope to see you soon in Lisbon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Palace for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. We were there for business and pleasure. I read another review which said the Wifii was not good in the room, we had no
issues it worked very well for us. Also having it free and available was better than many of the Pousadas which only give 30 mins free at a time. The palace is not close to the sightseeing but taxis were not expensive into town.

The pool area, spa and sauna was very good. The palace is beautiful and the rooms in comparison are a bit average for the price - but this often happens in this style of hotel. Breakfast was excellent with good service and a very good selection. Sometimes there was a paper in English, but not always which would have been better.

The highlight of our visit was dinner in the restaurant. The meal was excellent but more impressive was the service from one of the waiters "Nono" - he was excellent, knowledgable and nothing was an issue. He really made our stay special.

Room Tip: We had a garden view which we liked and was close to the pool - ask for this if you like using pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nice20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Nice20a,

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It is very important for all of us receive your opinion and also see that the work of the entire staff exceeded their expectations. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff.
The Kitchen and F&B Teams appreciated your wonderful comments about the food and service.
We will share with Nuno Araújo, the colleague who accompanied your dinner, of your kind remarks.

The Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument waits for you in a next visit to Lisbon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is without a doubt the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in and the service is top notch. The staff cannot do enough for you. The restaurant manager asked if we would mind completing a customer feedback form which included 46 questions which gives you an idea about the details they train their staff to provide. On our last night we told the concierge which restaurant we were going to so that he could direct the taxi driver and when we arrived the taxi driver told us the hotel had called ahead to get us a table so we could avoid the queue of 20 people that were waiting. The restaurant manager also seemed to be more attentive to us so I suspect the hotel has some sort of arrangement with them. The pool area is lovely. We upgraded to a balcony room which was worth it. The breakfast is amazing and they make the greatest mojitos. Everything was perfect.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear AmeliaLondon,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff.
The request to fill the questionnaire is part of our procedures to evaluate the satisfaction of our customers, because we have high services standards and we want to improve every day.
Were you surprised by the treatment in the restaurant? Well, our Guests are always VIP!
Thank you for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review, which highly appreciated.
We hope to see you soon in the next visit to Lisbon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing