We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend in the Pestana Hotel and Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #33 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“weekend in the Pestana Hotel and Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

One of the best hotels that I ever stayed. The staff is very helpfull and tries to do better than they already did.
A must is the breakfast in the morning. I never had such a good and big breakfast in my life before.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliverpesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    322
    91
    29
    19
See reviews for
338
750
50
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were on a business trip due to an exhibition close by (10 mins walk) and it was sheer heaven. Good value for money and a wonderful treat to stay in such a unique hotel which had character (I´m thinking of the chapel!). Even though it was charming, it had 5 star service and 5 star amenities. Stay here if you can, all my colleagues were impressed and we are not an easy to please crowd!
I tried the spa and pool and both were top notch. After a hard day it was a dream to come back to this place. The rooms were suprisingly quiet even though the hotel was full, no noise fromt he corridors. Room service and breakfast were efficient and the staff were friendly and helpful. Taxis came in a matter of minutes and I will certainly return here if I am ever in Lisbon again

Room Tip: Ask if they have any updgrades available. I had a ground floor garden view with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boronia, Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent 3 days in this amazing property. The entrance into Pestana Palace has a real WOW factor, so much so that I felt that "I don't belong here", that lasted a couple of minutes and then was in total awe of the architecture and décor of this amazing building. All accommodation is in modern wings that branch out from the main Palace Building, all meal areas are located within the old building. The grounds are relaxing and meander around the complex. The pool area was lovely. My only complaint is that we only spent 3 days there.

Room Tip: The internal facing room that we had was great because we looked over the garden. I don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pestana and could not have wished for more. The hotel, gardens and pools were beautiful and immaculate. The food was divine. You are able to order different fresh eggs, omelettes (try the smoked salmon and melted cheese ones), crepes, waffles and pancakes with whatever sauce or toppings you desire. I recommend fresh strawberries and chocolate sauce! There is also smoked salmon and a different cake every day as well as countless fresh items and juices. Nothing was ever too much for the reception or concierge who assisted with everything from restaurant recommendations and bookings and sightseeing tips to weighing our luggage and printing our boarding passes. There is an excellent return shuttle service several times a day. The twice a day housekeeping service was exceptional, they even folded and tidied our belongings and left fresh slippers, towels and chocolates in the evening as well as fresh towels in the morning. A special thanks to Maria who is the star of the reception desk and also to Antonio for his hard work to make our stay special. My parents plan to come back in December for their wedding anniversary they were so impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahShousha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear SarahShousha,

Thank so much for sharing your experience. We loved!
It is so nice to hear about your stay! We are delighted with your words and with the fact that we could cause this good impression to you. All the Team appreciated your kind words, especially Maria and António, from the Front Desk, that you mentioned.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the housekeeping service, the garden, the pool and the breakfast variety (you made a very helpful description for future Guests). We are extremely honored to know that your parents plan to come to our Hotel to celebrate the wedding anniversary. Please, when they have the booking confirmation, send me more information directly to my email. paulo.rodrigues@pestana.com
We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in our hotel.

All the best,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a magnificent hotel which used to be a palace (classified- national monument), the entrance is spectacular with it stained glass, marble stairways and wood work.The garden is a mini botanical garden with an oriental house overlooking the pool. The spa has a good selection of services which were very affordable. The staff is well trained, always available and friendly. The concierge Aniza was fantastic and provided us with great recommendations and pointers during our entire stay. We would go back in a wink of an eye.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Monon B,

Thank you for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review, which highly appreciated. We were all happy to learn that the hotel service and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.
We really are a Hotel with many details that have been preserved in its original form. For example, the stairs to access to the Royal Suites, the Renaissance Room and the Palace floor have wood from São Tomé and Príncipe which was once used in boats! Certain types of African wood are very sturdy and at that time it was forbidden to bring wood from Africa to Portugal, so the Marquis Valle Flôr built boats only for dismantling upon arriving to Lisbon and placed the wood in the Palace, resisting until today…and 109 years have already passed! In the garden, which is also National Heritage, we have 371 species of plants/trees. The pool was the old lake of the Palace and the beautiful stained glass, as well the ceilings paintings were thoroughly restored. Was made a huge maintenance work to honor the place that make this Hotel a unique space for our Guests.
On behalf of the whole Team I want to thank you your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at two hotels in Lisbon because we wanted to start with something quiet and romantic and then end up in the loud and vibrant middle of the city. Our first hotel is an old 1800′s residential palace — Pestana Palace — brought back to life and in Belem a bit west of the center and near the river.

I was very happy with this pick and I do think it deserves its 5 star rating and with that I feel this is a great value. The room (first floor near the gardens) was fantastic and the room opened to a well kept and grown out garden. The pool area was very well done with a booth to order cocktails. The food was perfect. And breakfast sitting outside on the patio absolutely perfect with light jazz playing from speakers in the trees.

I now understand that Madonna stays (or stayed) at Pestana when she is in Lisbon. It is a bit off the path but we walked from there to the river front many days. Also i forgot to add that I thought the service was top notch. Anything we wanted.

There was a miscommunication at the hotel and on Friday night late there was no bike tour reservation for us. (All on them I swear… my Portuguese is superb albeit a bit more classical than you’ll find in the lower regions of the country and I admit to having trouble reciting with proper emotive inflection Elliot’s Four Quartets...) At 8am we get a call and it is all set up. There will be only three in the urban cycling tour — our guide and the two of us!

I say this story to say that the hotel staff went all out to fix a miss communication that in reality was probably my fault. To read more see http://dainehring.com

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor (which I think is floor 10) near the pool offer a patio on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelDain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A better first class hotel than this, would be hard to find in Lisbon. The hotel is a converted palace, which retains its refined character with antiques in all the lounge rooms. The restaurant was very good if somewhat expensive. The gardens and pool were outstanding and a pleasure to walk and swim in. Our room was a superior garden room which made the experience more enjoyable. The staff in this hotel are very friendly and helpful and cannot do enough for you and enjoy their work here. I would recommend this hotel in Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Maurice G,

It is so nice to hear about your stay!
Thank you for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review. We were all happy to learn that the hotel service and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience. We will also share your kind comments with our staff.
We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you soon in Lisbon.

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#28 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing