We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #35 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Very Best”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is by far, the very best hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. It is truly beautiful. As beautiful as the buildings and landscaping are, what makes this hotel so special are the wonderful people who work there. They are warm and friendly, and above all, helpful. They made every effort possible to let us know that they valued our business. No request, no matter how out of the way it might take them, was met with anything other than a joyful willingness to please us.

Room Tip: All the rooms were first rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    351
    103
    33
    22
See reviews for
375
817
52
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We found this hotel to be breathtaking! The palatial atmosphere was amazing. The rooms were quite comfortable and the breakfast buffet was extensive. The staff was friendly and quite helpful, answering questions as to how to get where with the least amount of trouble. Although the building looks quite large, things are not too far apart. The different areas are marked with information as to the historical significance.

Do not miss the indoor pool!! Terrific to be able to swim in late October.

The hotel is a distance from other restaurants and the center of the city. Prices in both the restaurant and bar were steep. The "free" internet was spotty at best, but one could purchase "prime" service for about $25 per day.

Room Tip: Rooms 12xx are on the same level as the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanesMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The staff is top notch, the hotel is beautiful ( definitely lives up to the Palace name!!) the pool is gorgeous, the spa treatments are wonderful and the breakfast buffet is plentiful and yummy. It is a palace resort set in within the city. Very close to all the restaurant and bars in the dock. We were very impressed and loved our time here. The restaurant food was not quite worth the price, but the overall restaurant experience is more or less worth it. This hotel would probably be double the price at just about any other European city.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NikkiTxSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

A top class hotel; treated like royalty from check in till departure. The ambience of the hotel is second to none and the staff are fantastic. I will return and recommend this hotel to all who are looking for a superb time in Lisbon. The Pestana Palace gives you that extra bit that other hotels can only dream about.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve4596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souillac, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

True, if one chooses to splurge on a 5-star hotel, one expects, well, 5-star accommodations and service. Such expectations are unfortunately not always met, but the Pestana Palace certainly met ours. We loved the room, with a balcony overlooking the lush, handsome gardens. We loved the outdoor pool -– a “natural”-styled, low-tech oval basin –- and its surroundings. The heated indoor pool, spa and poolside bar contributed to the wholly relaxing ambience. As for the main building of the hotel itself (most of the rooms are in a modern annex), this palace is nothing short of spectacular, filled to the brim with artwork, Asian vases, gilt doorframes, mirrors and painted ceilings, as well as plenty of public spaces where one can sit and read or just admire it all. But we were most wowed by the attentive, discreet and helpful staff. A truly 5-star experience!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens; or, if you can afford it, a suite in the actual palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is the only time I have felt the need to write a review on a hotel. My wife and I have stayed at many hotels in different parts of the world but I have to say this one to my mind ranks way down the list. In fact almost bottom.

We stayed at the Pestana Palace for two nights at the end of a 9 day holiday. The two previous hotels we stayed at, namely the Lisboa Plaza and Vila Gale in Cascais were excellent in terms of facilities, cleanliness and service. Bearing in mind that the two previous hotels are 4 star and the Pestana Palace claims to be a 5 star, we were expecting a level of service that reflects such an establishment. Other reviews that I have since read that come under the categories of Terrible, Average and Good have a common theme throughout and that is service and the restaurant. They are not wrong.

Let me start with the good points – yes the main building is very palatial, yes they open the doors of your taxi when you arrive and yes it has lovely gardens, pool and spa etc. But I’m afraid that’s about it.

My wife is a Pestana Gold PPG member and as such should receive additional ‘VIP’ services. Albeit these are quite small they were non-existent at the hotel, even though they were aware of her membership. Not a great start.

Once we had checked in and were shown to our room, which incidentally is nothing to write home about as it’s a basic room that you would expect to find in most hotels of this size, I rang reception for some ice. After about 30 minutes nothing arrived, a second call resulted in the ice being delivered – I was beginning to wonder if this was a sign of things to come.
We decided to go and have a drink at the bar and sat on the small terrace area. After about a 15 minute wait for someone to come and take our order we went in search of a member of staff and after two separate requests we were eventually presented with a drinks menu.
I should point out at this stage the price of drinks and food is outrageously high. As there is nowhere in the near vicinity to go and eat then the only alternative is a taxi ride into town.

We then spent the afternoon around the pool where the loungers are pushed very close together as it is quite a small pool with an even smaller seating area. There was of course the usual problem of people leaving towels on the sun-beds so that you didn't really know whether they were free or not. No attempt was made by the hotel staff to monitor the situation.

We then thought to try out the spa facilities but soon found out that both the turkish bath and the sauna were not even turned on – another 15 – 20 minute wait for this to be sorted out. I didn't really think things could get worse – it did – read on!

We had heard great things about the restaurant so we decided to give it a try. We entered the restaurant, which only had about three other tables occupied, just after 8pm and after ordering from an over-engineered, over complicated menu we were still sitting there an hour later with no sign of our starters. Bear in mind at his point, this is a meant to be a 5 star hotel and as such you would expect some level of service. A group of 8 people entered the restaurant and were served immediately and received their first course shortly afterwards, whilst we sat staring at our second offering of bread roll, olives and oil (which incidentally was initially forgotten about and turned up late). Eventually my patience got the better of me and I summoned the maitre de to find out if there was any chance of getting fed that night. Shortly afterwards our starters arrived – cold. The amount of food on my plate was small to say the least with two minute pieces of lobster.

The second course arrived immediately after but was close to being inedible – tough and not very hot. At this point we had had enough and for only the second time ever as far as I can remember we got up and left before finishing the meal.
Following our complaint to the receptionist a duty manager arrived and after explaining to him the catalogue of disasters, his offer was a bottle of sparkling wine and some chocolates. We didn’t really want this, what we wanted was a standard of service that befits a supposedly 5 star hotel.

The following morning and things hadn't changed much – three requests to get cutlery for our breakfast (one of those requests was to the man running the restaurant that morning) and a very lengthy wait to get some glasses for the fruit juice.

It was very apparent that a lot of youngsters were serving tables etc, under the supposed guidance of more senior staff. I certainly don’t blame the youngsters for the appalling service as the blame has to be placed with the management team – some of whom definitely had an attitude problem.

The following morning it was time to check out and I had the feeling it wasn't going to go smoothly – I was right.

The bill was presented and the percentage deduction for food and beverages, which my wife should receive as Pestana Gold Member was missing. We then had it explained to us (no actually it was more of a lecture) that we should have shown the card every time we ordered something. This was not explained when we checked in as the receptionist acknowledged the fact we had a gold card and everything would be taken care of. Additionally, this is not the way things had been done in other Pestana hotels we had stayed in. So after a slightly heated debate between myself and the man behind reception who had clearly missed the point about the ‘customer is always right’ and who personified the overall service this hotel offers, we beat a hasty exit to our taxi and left for the airport.

I will finish on one positive note. The man that runs the bar, Carlos Lopes, provided excellent service. He was attentive, engaging and appeared to be extremely happy doing his job. So well done Carlos and I just hope the management of this hotel can learn something from your professionalism and apply it the rest of the establishment, because if that doesn't happen then I think guests of the hotel will get very tired of the sloppy approach you have to customer service. Needless to say we won’t be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BobSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear BobSussex,

Thank you for choosing Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We really sorry to see of the inconvenience you have experienced and to read about your disappointments and observations. These situations should not have happened because we have high standards services and we are a Hotel recognized for serving our Guests very well. We regret that your stay have not matched their expectations.
Please accept our apologies and rest assured that your comments have been already shared and discussed with the Team.
Based on the positive aspects, we really hope that you give us another opportunity to show you that we are a complete product.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Remarkable hotel with excellent hotel rooms, palatial meeting and sitting rooms, etc., and the grounds are manicured and extraordinary. Good indoor and outdoor pools and exercise facilities. Not near the city center at all, but near Belem tower area, and taxis were reasonable. Food service was ok, but not a match to the surroundings. Friendly staff. Our total experience was very good.

Room Tip: I believe we were in a newer (or more recently refurbished) wing. Probably worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 251 in Lisbon
542 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 251 in Lisbon
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#83 of 251 in Lisbon
222 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 251 in Lisbon
917 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 251 in Lisbon
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing