We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa
Ranked #40 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The "Old" part of the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are nothing short of stunning and opulent. The breakfast buffet is in some spectacular rooms, which is really quite nice, first thing in the morning. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff is professional, but not particularly personable, except for the bell hops, who were nice and friendly .

The breakfast buffet is decent, but there is little variety from day to day. The scrambled eggs are extremely runny, usually a few scrambled pieces swimming in an ocean of yellow stuff. If you don't go early, they run out of items (like the veggies).

The regular rooms are not in the fabulous historical building, but in a newer addition, and in need of updating. They are small, the carpet had stains, as did the grout around the tub. The view, into the garden, was quite nice.

The biggest problem with the hotel is that there is pretty much nothing nearby. So, if you come back early from sightseeing, you're either stuck ordering from the hotel menu for dinner (small menu, but the food was good), or taking a cab back out to restaurants. Also, be aware that there is nickel and diming going on.

Mostly, I think that this hotel suffers in comparison with the one we had stayed in previously (Palazzo Zichy in Budapest, the best hotel experience we have ever had), so perhaps my review is a little harsher than it otherwise would be.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I was recently at the Pestana Hotel for work. It was a beautiful hotel, wonderfully restored from an old estate. I would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure. Both the staff for catering the workshop and my contact in charge of the banquet rooms were accommodating and easy to work with. I hope to return again soon for a holiday at the Pestana.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here in our summer holidays! Our stay was memorable!

This time it was a surprise weekend for my husband. On arrival we were greeted by polite, friendly and eficiente staff, that helped us with our romantic night. This guys are truly the best. You can ask them everything, they will arrange it for you.

Our room was spacious, clean and with a beautiful view to the garden.

Breakfast were just delightful.

Superb hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The building is fantastic, a truly gorgeous stately home set in fantastic grounds.

Our room was in the modern part of the building (maybe they all are, not sure) which is always disappointing in a hotel like this, and the room was nothing special at all - not a great size either, but the rest of the building and grounds more than make up for it.

It's such a pleasure to stroll through the grounds of the Pestana to the restaurant or bar, or to relax in the massive and exquisitely furnished rooms.

Breakfast is a very nice buffet with chefs on hand to prepare other dishes to your order.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here on a business trip & had a very pleasant stay. Friendly staff. Hotel main building was originally beautiful and grand in a understated way. The food I would say was good not amazing. The breakfast was served in a bright room or you can choose to eat outside which is even nicer. Good smallish gym but has everything you need. The pool looked lovely but I didn't have time to take a dip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three day stay here with two friends and the experience will live long in the memory, which is perfect when you are celebrating a birthday occasion. We arrived later than expected as we were trying to trace my lost luggage at the airport, and I was feeling rather upset. The reception staff immediately took charge of the situation and gave me the confidence that they would do everything to resolve the problem. In the meantime they booked a splendid local restaurant for us and by the end of the evening our mood was much improved! During the following day they made constant calls to the airport and kept me informed of their progress. Through their perseverance (rather than any help from British Airways) my luggage eventually arrived over 24 hours later. In particular staff member Peter was oustanding. During our first breakfast in the beautiful restaurant I mentioned that it was my husbands birthday and all of a sudden 4 glasses of wine appeared and a small cake complete with candle!! This fantastic level of service and the atmosphere it creates extended to all the staff we came across and I can truly say they rescued our holiday from a very inauspicious beginning. A beautiful hotel setting is one thing but superb customer service is another. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This stunning hotel lies in a quiet district. It reflects old greatness and pomp. Very good breakfast and lunch. Polite and kind personnel. I could not find any decent restaurants in the vicinity. Shuttle to airport is an advantage, easy to arrange.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Andras C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear csangopeter,

Thank you for having visited Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument
Many thanks for your kind words regarding our service and about the Staff. We will share your feedback about the breakfast and lunch with Chef Pedro Inglês Marques and his Team, and certainly they will stay very happy with your words.
We truly hope that you will soon have a chance to return to Lisbon and would be glad to welcome you back to the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.
Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#20 of 255 in Lisbon
600 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#10 of 255 in Lisbon
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
2,899 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
990 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £160 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing