We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairytale Palace where you are treated like Royalty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa
Ranked #35 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had chosen the Pestana Palace Hotel as the Grand Finale to our 3-month retirement celebration in Europe. We were not disappointed. The building itself seems to have been transported out of a fairytale with the ceiling frescos, stained glass windows, beautiful staircases and ornamentation of plaster and wood carving that appear borrowed from a wedding cake. Most of the guest rooms are in the relatively recent wings added to the Palace. The guest wings may lack the Rocaille detail of the main Palace but it maintains the same feel of elegance.
Our room was of a generous size with both a sofa and an upholstered chair and we were able to tuck our three months’ worth of luggage into corners of the room so we didn’t have to stare at it during our stay. Of particular importance to me in any hotel is the computer work area which was well thought out with a large desk, excellent lighting and a separate electrical connection at desk top height. The Wi-Fi signal was also very strong in the room. Our room had a view over the beautiful garden and was so quiet that we heard neither guests nor staff in either the hallway or garden.
But with any hotel, the secret to its success is the staff. The staff was welcoming, professional and helpful. All the staff are knowledgeable about their city, transportation, travel time to the airport and the history and architecture of the hotel. The one thing that really impressed me was that the staff remembered our names. With the number of people that pass through the hotel in a month, this is an amazing accomplishment. In the bar, they remembered the wine we had been drinking the first night. The staff made us feel we were dear and valued guests. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara_and_Yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Barbara_and _Yves,

Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your stay at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

We are all happy to learn that the hotel service and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and staff courtesy the most. We will share your comments with our team, and for sure they will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for your high esteem of our hotel and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Palace Lisboa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is a full block in on of the quietest neighborhood of Lisbon, Ajuda.
From a 19th Century palace with lots of story, which is the main building amazingly furnished and has a old style décor with a stunning view over the Tagus River.
The room I stayed was one of the best ever I had sleep, with all modern comforts while with “old” century look and with a breathless balcony over the city, with the river just in front. Rooms are large and comfortable and the suite has lots of space. The bathroom is huge.

From the entrance you start to feel that this is a top hotel, the staff always looking forward to make your stay the most memorable possible, and

The gardens are a must for relaxing and read a book, I have not used the pool as it was February but it has a wonderful surrounding set of flowers and trees.
It also has a summer bar nearby the pool that I imagine would make the perfect place for a meal in the hot season.

Did not use the spa facilities but visited and looks very well and above average, and are available several options highly recommend after a long trip or a working week.
Breakfast is served in one of the nicest palace ballrooms, has plenty of choice and everything you would expect from a 5 star facility.

I would consider this hotel, a great option for couples.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepeRamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear PepeRamix,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to hear from our Guests, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your most recent visit with us.

We would also like to thank you for your very positive comments regarding the palace and its decoration, the rooms, the garden, the pool, the service and the breakfast of the Hotel. All the above have established the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument as one of the best hotels in Portugal with a huge number of repeat clients and awards.

All your information was very useful because it gives a complete idea of the Hotel for future travellers.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and we look forward to your next visit at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, offering you more Memorable Moments.

Best regards,

Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have seen some hotels, and then this one.
What a stunning property:
One could argue it's a bit far off from centre, but that woud be the only thing I could say
The room was deliciously antique, with all modern comforts.
The details are what makes it a true 5 star and the staff are out of this world. Very nice, very attentive but equally discrete
we checked out very early but they had thought of a small coffe stand for us not to leave on empty stomach

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deflumine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Deflumine,

Thank you for having visited Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor, which was highly appreciated.

We are glad that you found the room nice and comfortable and that you spent a nice time with us. We have also appreciated your kind words concerning out team attitude.

I will be sure to share your review with our team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a lovely 7 days honeymoon at this lovely hotel situated. Great location for sight-seeing all around the vicinity. Yet the peaceful surrounding made it the perfect stay. The hotel is amazingly furnished and has a lovely sitting area. The hotel staff took extra care to make our Honeymoon trip very memorable. They had arranged for the best room at the cheapest rates possible. The owner even offered us a free goodie bag upon check-in. The bag consisted of scented candles, flowers and lots of chocolates. The hotel supposedly offered special Honeymoon packages though our travel agent hadn’t informed us of the same. Though the staff at the hotel made it a point to provide us with all the exclusive services meant for the Honeymoon package. Wonderful facilities and great folks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaliKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear KaliKate,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us on such an important occasion as your honeymoon. We work every day with the same passion to provide memorable moments to our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel decoration, as well as our facilities and staff, we will make sure that is shared with all our team.

We truly hope that you will soon have a chance to return to Lisbon and would be glad to welcome you back to the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Thank you again for your motivating review.

Warm regards,

Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Really nice hotel, good food, perfect location, friendly employee's and excellent service. Rooms are large and comfortable, I Recommend for sure to everyone go thereand enjoy the nice service they provide me. Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Ze S,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for posting that on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you for recognizing the excellence of our service, we will share your comments with our team and for sure they will be very happy to know.

We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on our honeymoon. The setting is out of this world and is so elegant and tranquil. The service is some of the best I have encountered in any of the cities in the world I've stayed in. We made full use of the spa facilities and can highly recommend the couples massage. Breakfast was without a doubt unbeatable with so much choice. Can not wait to stay here again - thank you for a wonderful experience.

Stayed: October 2013
4  Thank Foodie1976heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Laura J,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us in details and delighted to hear that you choose the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument for such an important occasion as your honeymoon!

I would like also to thank you for your nice observations about our spa and breakfast, and specially about our service - some of the best you have found in any of the cities in the world you've stayed in- we couldn’t agree more with your words!!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Such a fabulous place. Stayed in suite w terrace. magnicent dining rooms. lavish breakfast. lovely afternoon tea. walking distance to Belem. pool and spa area well maintained but not really designed for laying about all day, but why would you want to when the cloisters and gardens are so close.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank tracey668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear "Tracey668",

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to hear from our Guests and we are so glad that you found our hotel such a fabulous place!

We are very happy that the hotel and its services were up to your expectations.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#11 of 253 in Lisbon
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#8 of 253 in Lisbon
936 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#73 of 253 in Lisbon
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £183 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing