We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #32 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable with Luxury”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Amazing Hotel. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is amazing. Liked the fact that it is located outside of the city centre however still based central to some great historic attractions. A great place to unwind.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Neville D,

Thank you very much for your great review and for having visited Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

It was very nice to read your nice observations about the hotel, our breakfast and specially about our staff. All the staff appreciates your words, thank you!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Andreia
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    327
    95
    29
    19
See reviews for
342
760
50
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Got to stay at this hotel due to business.
It is located a fair distance from city's attractions. You need to rely on taxis.
The facilities are very good. The design is classic.
Room was in perfect state, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was wonderful, so was the dining room where it is served.
Bar and lounges are good for a quiet drink and reading.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Madrid-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having visited Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for sharing your positive experience with us.

We are very happy to know that the hotel facilities, the rooms, the breakfast, the restaurant and the bar were up to your expectations. We will share your kind comments with our team, and for sure they will be encouraged by your remarks.

We do hope that you will have a chance to return to city of the seven hills and we will be always glad to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Andreia
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Highly recommendable fire star luxury in the outskirts of Lisbon. Taxi or bus needed to reach city center and tourist sights, but once you are at the hotel everything is great. Breakfast is sumptuous and service is great, dinner however is fine but not special. Our room in the east wing groundfloor was special and comfortable, sound however carried very clearly between rooms, so some noise most be expected. Spa, pool and fitnessroom very well equipped. Beautiful park.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SorenLotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear “SorenLotte”,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your nice observations about the breakfast, the service, the spa, the pool and the gardens of the hotel.

About our location, we are not really in the city center but we have the advantage of being located in the most quiet and pleasant area of Lisbon and we also offer Shuttle services, 4 times a day to the main attractions of Lisbon.

We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Andreia
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It is a true palace and great alternative then staying in a city center hotel. Minutes to city and easy access from airport. Ask for room in the extension...bigger rooms. Staff is very friendly and the dinning room is a must for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear “JohnP14”,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. All your informations were very useful because it gives an idea of the Hotel for future travellers.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms, restaurant and our staff.

It will be our pleasure to host you in your next visit to Lisbon.

Kind regards,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Pestana Palace was the grand finale of our European trip and it did not disappoint. The staff, most especially the porter, were incredibly helpful. He spent a great deal of time with us, telling us not only the history of this magnificent palace, but also giving us tips about seeing the city. We felt like royalty staying in here and look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Judy B,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Your European trip couldn’t have a better end by staying in Lisbon at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff, especially our porter / concierge staff. We will share your kind comments with them.

It was a pleasure to read that you give the hotel and Lisbon your highest recommendation, thank you.

Glad you had a great time. Please come back soon.

Kind regards,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

i have stayed at the Pestana Palace for the past 5 years, whenever I am in Lisbon for business or holiday. As a National Monument, it is an old, beautiful Palace, converted to a hotel. Rooms have space, not a typical converted hotel. from the front desk to the restaurants, all employees cannot do enough for you / service is wonderful. The breakfast is also wonderful with a large selection of local delicacies - and they will make you eggs to order. Pool and SPA are also excellent. Some rooms a terraces and sitting outside at night on the grounds of this palace is very relaxing. The only negative is that the hotel needs an upgrade to their WiFi. I had no usable signal in my room by the pool (and they do not have wired service). If you need WiFi, stay closer to the main lobby. Bottom line - i would not stay anywhere else in Lisbon, period.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main building if you want WiFi. Pool rooms have almost no signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfeinber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Brazingo,

Thank you for visiting us again and for being part of our "Family"!
It´s through guest feedback that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

We would like to thank you for your nice observations about the Palace, the rooms, the breakfast, the pool, the spa and specially about our service. We will share your kind comments with our staff.

Regarding the WiFi connection, I am really sorry about the inconvenience you have experienced, however, the WiFi connection is already improved to ensure that this situation does not repeat itself to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to your return to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had chosen the Pestana Palace Hotel as the Grand Finale to our 3-month retirement celebration in Europe. We were not disappointed. The building itself seems to have been transported out of a fairytale with the ceiling frescos, stained glass windows, beautiful staircases and ornamentation of plaster and wood carving that appear borrowed from a wedding cake. Most of the guest rooms are in the relatively recent wings added to the Palace. The guest wings may lack the Rocaille detail of the main Palace but it maintains the same feel of elegance.
Our room was of a generous size with both a sofa and an upholstered chair and we were able to tuck our three months’ worth of luggage into corners of the room so we didn’t have to stare at it during our stay. Of particular importance to me in any hotel is the computer work area which was well thought out with a large desk, excellent lighting and a separate electrical connection at desk top height. The Wi-Fi signal was also very strong in the room. Our room had a view over the beautiful garden and was so quiet that we heard neither guests nor staff in either the hallway or garden.
But with any hotel, the secret to its success is the staff. The staff was welcoming, professional and helpful. All the staff are knowledgeable about their city, transportation, travel time to the airport and the history and architecture of the hotel. The one thing that really impressed me was that the staff remembered our names. With the number of people that pass through the hotel in a month, this is an amazing accomplishment. In the bar, they remembered the wine we had been drinking the first night. The staff made us feel we were dear and valued guests. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_and_Yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Barbara_and _Yves,

Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your stay at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

We are all happy to learn that the hotel service and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and staff courtesy the most. We will share your comments with our team, and for sure they will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for your high esteem of our hotel and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing