We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #32 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a unique opportunity to live in a palace for a few days.
Service is very friendly and rooms are comfortable.
The breakfast room is amazing, although service tends to be sparse during peak hours.
Location is not too bad, considering the cheap cost of Taxis in Lisbon.
Was at Pestana Palace five years ago and again now, same high standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danseid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Danseid,

Thank you for visiting us again and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our service. It´s through guest’s feedback that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andreia

Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    328
    95
    29
    19
See reviews for
342
762
50
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Pestana Palace for 4 nights in April on a 10 day trip to Portugal. We chose the hotel through Leading Hotels of the World but were a bit concerned about the location. The Pestana Palace turned out to be a perfect refuge in the city and felt like a tropical resort. We were upgraded to large one bedroom suite that couldn't have been more comfortable. I loved that the hotel feels more like a home than a big business hotel. The public rooms in the original palace portion of the hotel are stunning and well preserved, and the gardens were beautiful.

We thought the location was great. There were plenty of restaurants within walking distance between the LX Factory with its trendy industrial feel and the waterfront restaurants of the Santo Amaro docks. Taxis are also cheap and plentiful to take you to Belem or the Lisbon city center.

Room Tip: We loved our huge suite with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A truly stunning hotel with service to match. The concierge service was the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. The hotel is a little out of the centre of the city but there is a daytime free shuttle service and taxis are relatively cheap. Grounds and public areas are superb

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foleytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

We appreciated your kind words concerning our hotel and our concierge service, all the staff were very happy to know. Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for us to start the day with very energy and with a big smile! :-)

Glad you had a great time. Please come back soon.

Kind regards,

Andreia

Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The main building and monument is simply stunning. Perfect location for wedding or big company event. It has some nice meeting rooms with privacy and access to the garden. It is quite far from the centre but its a few minutes by taxi from the waterfront below the main bridge were you can have a stroll and eat some nice seafood. They have very different luxury level rooms, nice indoor pool with spa, hairdresser, gym and a beautiful marble outdoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: The main building has its suites and they have 2 wings with newly build rooms that have the style bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeonLeonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear ‘NeonLeon’,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for posting your nice photos about Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel facilities met your expectations.

In fact, we have the perfect places for all travellers, both for business and leisure.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the palace, the rooms, the meeting rooms, the indoor and outdoor pools, the gym and the spa.

We do hope that you will have a chance to return to city of the seven hills and we will be always glad to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Andreia

Guest Ambassador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Whilst I regularly use trip advisor this is the first time I have posted a review. I do so due to my disappointment of staying at what was supposed to be a 'five star' and 'leading hotels of the world' hotel. I booked during the week through Kiwi collection yet the hotel didn't think to mention to Kiwi that the pool was out of service (I expect this to be the case for some time looking at it).... The whole reason we chose the hotel was for the pool (kiwi only have three Lisbon hotels with outdoor pools and tivoli was fully booked whilst the other was extortionate). We had to take 60 euro return taxis to the beach each day because of this. As a whole the hotel is very dated and certainly not five star. The shower head (the shower is in the bath) broke off mid-shower leaving a pipe to use as a shower. The bed is rock hard... Potentially the worst part thinking about it. The breakfast was bad... For example stale hash browns and no beans on one of the days. The location is also not great but I'll forgive them on that point. I would honestly avoid this hotel and to say I've made the effort to do a first time post should emphasise that point to all of you!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Darren G,

Thank you for taking your time posting your review about your most recent stay with us.

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we are concerned to read that on this occasion the hotel and its services didn’t met your expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the pool. We can understand your level of disappointment and we express our profound regrets for this unfortunate incident. We would like to assure you that this is not the normal standard of the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.
Unfortunately on the begining of the last week, following a small routine work, we have found a massive leak of water due to the pool structure. We had immediately to initiate a structural repair in the pool, in order to stop the infiltration which ran until the end of Friday. We' ve already reopened the pool to our guests since last Saturday and now we are running in our normal way.

We do also regret that the breakfast and the bed did not met your expectations. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our supervising team and appropriate actions will be taken to ensure that such an experience is not repeated.

We do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting us in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Andreia

Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the Pestana Palace after reading a travel article in the Los Angeles times about a trip to Lisbon and Obidos. We booked the same hotels.
The Pestana Palace is located a little outside the main part of the city, close to Belem. We had to take a taxi everywhere. There was little public transportation and it was too far to walk. The hotel, however, is spectacular. It is a national monument with a lovely garden. We booked 2 rooms in the east wing--rooms 2028 and 2030. They both had views of the garden with an outside terrace. I would strongly recommend garden views. The other views face the outer streets. The main hotel is made up of suites. Two wings were added to the back of the hotel. They consist of regular rooms. The regular rooms however are just lovely--high ceilings, oil paintings, built-in wood cabinetry, beautiful marble bathrooms--all very elegant and in keeping with the hotel. The gardens are very pretty. We loved the peaceful retreat from the city and were very glad we were a bit removed. My daughters room had a problem with the air conditioning control. We had just returned from dinner and called the hotel. They sent a maintenance man to replace the control immediately. When he left we realized it was almost midnight. The service the entire time we were there was just as good. The whole experience was great and we would highly recommend the hotel and preferred it's location to being in the city center.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. All your informations were very useful because it gives a complete idea of the Hotel for future travellers.

We are glad that the hotel, the rooms and its services were up to your expectations.
It's a pleasure to hear about your enthusiasm and we are delighted that you were so much satisfied with your experience!

We truly hope that you will soon have a chance to return to Lisbon and would be glad to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Andreia

Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is exceptional. It just gets better and better. It never disappoints. Staff are wonderful, rooms fantastic, facilities great. Front desk staff are the best I've come across in Europe, Asia or America. Slightly off the beaten track -- but now that LX factory has opened up great restaurants are nearby.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyofnw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your motivating review. Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for us to start the day with very energy and with a big smile!

It is a pleasure to hear about your enthusiasm and we are delighted that you were so much satisfied with your experience at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and facilities and specially about our staff. We will share your excellent comment with our Front desk staff and for sure they will be very happy.

We all look forward to your next visit with us to offer you again Memorable Moments.

Kind regards,

Andreia
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing