We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most friendly and hospitable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa
Ranked #40 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We really enjoyed staying in this remarkable hotel. It was fascinating to discover all the different well- kept furnished rooms and other venues.

The hotel staff turned out to be very friendly and hospitable. the place to be in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EuropeanSecurity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed in the nicest rooms the hotel offered and I was disappointed. The Palace section of the hotel is indeed quite beautiful, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. Getting to the rooms requires a substantial walk, although when we reached them we did have a nice garden view. The beds were perhaps the most uncomfortable we have ever experienced. It felt as though we were sleeping on plywood. The carpets were quite worn and in need of cleaning. The staff were moderately knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGM, General Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2010

Lisbon, 15th January 2010

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience at the Pestana Palace Hotel.

Following to your valuable comments, we would like to inform you that the nicest rooms in the hotel are the suites found in the main Palace building, which are different to the room you were accommodated in. However, we were sorry to learn about your disappointment regarding the room and its bed. We have some room type variances that appeal to different guest preferences, and our beds are known to be very comfortable, as they are equipped with a cushioned bed base, a Mattress and Mattress overlay, which are quite successful amongst our guests. Please be assured that your opinion concerning the room was noted and much appreciated.

In the meantime, we would like to share with you that we enjoyed having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we do hope that the situations you so kindly brought to our attention will not stop you from considering our hotel when you next travel to Lisbon. On this occasion please do not hesitate to contact me, as I will be delighted to personally take care of your reservation.

Looking forward to your return, we take this opportunity to wish you the very best for 2010!


Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Away from the loud & bustling downtown, a charming palace with beautiful gardens & views of the Tagus river...
Stayed in one of the 2 best, well appointed suites in main building.
Good service, professional & helfull frontdesk, nice fitness/spa & pool area;
Just have them get rid of the very few buses & conference crowds and you have one of the best havens in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeDiscerningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed two nights in Pestana Palace, the setting was absolutely beautiful. Reception rooms were furnished and decorated to a very high standard. Service and welcome was very good. Really good "workout room" and pool was clean and well serviced. Concierge organized a couple of trips for us, which were really good. One thing though we asked them to recommend a Restaurant, they did, but it was really disappointing, thats not their fault, but I think they should check out the places they send their guests to. The room however, was a little small and quite dark with only a small window. However, I would go back, I enjoyed the atmosphere of this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Estelle7229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGM, General Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Lisbon, 14th January 2010

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for your visit and for the very nice comments you shared, regarding your experience at the Pestana Palace Hotel.

We were all very happy to learn, that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and services, especially the atmosphere. Regarding the restaurant recommendation, we are most grateful to have received your valuable feedback, and would like to assure you that our Concierge will be checking-up on this situation. Also thank you for letting us know about your opinion concerning the room you stayed in. As they are not all the same I am sure we have some that are more to your liking and therefore be able accommodate you according to your choice.

In the meantime, we would like you to know that it was an enormous pleasure to have had you as our Guest and to have been able to be of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, so that we can offer you “Memorable Moments”, I am delighted to remain at your disposal.

Kindest regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Booked this hotel for 2 nights prior to going on down to Estoril. Fabulous old place with wonderful public rooms but all accommodation is in a new(ish) separate building and this was pretty disappointing. Mean windows - dark curtains - odd combination of mismatched colour schemes - basic one basin bathroom - almost no toiletries (only the very basic bits) - rubbish thin skimpy towels, thin walls, etc etc but the very worst bit were the blasted beds. Like sleeping on the floor!!!! I have such a hatred of bad beds in 5 star hotels and wish reviewers would make more comments on these aspects as, lets face it, they are of mega importance to your wellbeing and enjoyment of stay. If you've struggled to sleep all night you aren't exactly going to enjoy your day long sightseeing.
Best bits were breakfast in the fabulous old rooms with their truly beautiful detail and furnishings, same for a special dinner (which was excellent), but no would not revisit because of the beds. I don't want to be charged a fortune to stay awake all night - who does? Also, the swimming pool area is total rubbish and so 'naff' you cannot believe having trotted down there that it belongs to a 5 star - more like something from a 2 star in Benidorm (not that I've been there!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank YvonneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Serene hotel hidden in gardens. Excellent food and wine with superb service most of the time. If you upgrade to a balcony make sure you don't get a terrace on the ground floor with views through a bare hedge to the foot path!
If there are problems the staff are well trained to manage them and pacify the guests. Lovely swimming pools indoors and out. Relaxing place to stay for a conference but slightly too far out of Lisbon to do much sightseeing or shopping etc without getting a taxi from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jq002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

The Pestana Palace is everything you have read: pristine, palatial, unbelievable breakfasts, yummy caipirinas, flora, fauna, two clear blue pools, Turkish baths , audacious views of the 25th of April bridge (think San Fran's Golden Gate) and walks through the lush gardens filled with plate sized hydrangeas and towering sunflowers truly leave you amazed that you can actually stay here! The rooms are spacious and the hotel feels like it is yours and yours alone. There are pleasant nooks to take cat naps throughout the property and you can always relax and unwind in the palace’s spa.
Now, as mentioned before, the hotel is not in the center of town. The hotel will be quick to get you taxi’s everywhere (to Belem its about 5EU’s, 5-10EU depending on where you want to be dropped off in Baxia and Bario Alto). The palace now offers a free shuttle that runs from 8:30am to about 6:00pm and will drop you off and pick you up for free. The catch is that the the shuttle only drops you off in main destinations and departs at specific times. Make sure you ask the concierge about this service as they did not mention this to us at first.
If you have no problems taking public transportation know that you can get almost anywhere from the hotel on public transportation during the day (we used taxi's at night). We walked down the street from the hotel to catch the bus to Belem. We also took bus #60 near Placa de Comercio to the hotel and it left us one short block away from the hotel. Public transit was great – not sure why the hotel was so hesitant to share this very simple information with us. On that note – we also took a day trip to Sintra, Cabo de Roca and Cascais all on our own and on public transit! It was wonderful! We headed out around 10:00am on the train to Sintra – caught the train from the Rossio station. Note that we had the Lisboa card which is recommended if you plan on using public transport (covers all Lisbon transportation) and going to a lot of museums (just be sure to carry the cards and the books with you at all times!) . I will post the route we took in the Lisboa day trip forum section for reference. Something to mention about the weather in Lisbon - at least when we were there the mornings had a slight breeze, the afternoons a balmy sunny heat (and the bluest skys we've ever seen - no clouds in sight. pure perfection!) but the evenings brought in a wonderful coolness. If you head to Sintra and Cabo de Roca be sure to pack a light jacket and a little scarf too. It depends what time of day or where you stand - but the temperature can drop significatly.

I was traveling with my mother on this trip, who is very energetic and fun, and we both agreed that breakfast, late afternoon siestas by the pool and our lazy late evenings at the hotel lobby bar were memorable. This is one of my favorite hotels ever!


Ps.. free access to internet 24-7 at the business center.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gisymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
610 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,902 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#12 of 255 in Lisbon
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#10 of 255 in Lisbon
991 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#75 of 255 in Lisbon
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £155 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing