We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa
Ranked #35 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I stayed at Pestana Place for 4 nights recently as I had to attend a conference there. Initially I wanted to stay in a hotel that is closer to Lisbon's attractions and travel to the Pestana Palace each day for the conference. Was I glad I didn't. The traffic in early morning would have made it difficult for me to get there on time. It was also more convenient to stay at the hotel itself as you could go to your room to refresh during the day or when you need to attend conference events there in the evening.
But the most compelling reason was the Pestana Palace itself. It was a beautiful and interesting hotel with impeccable and friendly service. Others have written about the physical aspects of the hotel so I will not say more on that except to confirm all the good things that have been written. My room was on the ground floor and it opened out into a little patio by the garden. The garden was surprisingly verdant given that it was still very cold. I could stand outside and admire the greenery and on one of the nights, the sky was so clear I could see numerous stars and a beautiful full moon.
The room was beautifully done. The bathroom was clean and elegant. My only complaint was that the room was too warm once I was under the covers.
It would have been good if there were coffee and tea making facilities. I needed coffee first thing in the morning and had to order room service for that even though breakfast was part of the room price. The coffee price was however very reasonable.
Front desk and concierge were friendly and helpful. My suitcase did not arrive from London and they called the airport a few times to get updates for me. When it eventually arrived very late in the day, the porter brought it up to my room immediately.
The hotel does not have any attractions nearby but taxis are very easy to get and the fare to Chiado and Amoreiras is very reasonable. The Vasco Da Gama Shopping Centre is much further away and cost 11 Euros each way.
Have already recommended Pestana Palace to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makeupaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2010

Great staff, Beautiful and Unique Hotel (Palace), Superb Tropical Gardens, Wonderful Breakfast !
Very relaxing place, just outside Lisbon.
I recommend it to everyone!

- Jason

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasonCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Was impressed with this hotel, the staff were excellent special mention to Marie Joes & Auza from the front desk, the rooms were spacious and well decorated. The Gardens were fabulous. The food was good especially as catering for lunch for 60 or more people.

Very impressive rooms around the hotel, like staying in a stately home here in UK. A must is go and see the chapel in hotel.

Good place for a couple.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJmonkeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Best choice ever!!!! You must try one of the four royal suites at the palace.
We spent a couple of night at D. Luis Filipe.
Simply the best.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreeEnterprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I’ve just come back from a romantic valentine’s weekend in Lisbon. I booked Pestana Palace as a romantic surprise for my girlfriend and I have got to say it is one of the best hotels I have ever been. I called the hotel three days in advance and explained that I wanted the weekend to be romantic and whether they had any good suggestions. The lady at reception instantly upgraded my room from a double to king size with a room overlooking the garden. The room was fantastic, it had a massive balcony, they sprinkled rose’s petals on the bed and sent us a complementary bottle of champagne on our last day, which was Valentine’s Day (It was free because there was a mix up and they sent it on our last day rather than when we arrived – at EUR180 I wasn’t complaining).

Make no mistake, this is a real palace and it is extremely impressive. It is one of the grandest buildings I have stayed in. The dinning room where they serve breakfast is breathtaking. We were told by several locals that Pestana is the best hotel in Lisbon and that a number of celebrities, such as Madonna, Bon Jovi and Black Eye Peas have stayed there. Apparently the palace was built by a wealthy Viscount who made his fortune in the Cocoa business. They owned a lot of land that expanded beyond the compounds of the Palace, eventually selling the Palace after the Viscount died. Apparently the former bulter/estate manager who use to work for the Viscount still visits the Palace in his uniform to greet guests, despite being 98 years old. We didn’t actually see him, but I guess it might have been a little cold that weekend for him to venture out.

I was initially worried about the location being far out from the centre, but soon realised that it is quite close to a lot of tourist attractions. The buses and trams are easy to use and the taxis are cheap. The service at the hotel was amazing. They organised a car to pick us up from airport and then take us back. The concierge was great – they book us a romantic traditional Fado dinner (A must do). All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaglej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

The hotel is amazing! The service was also really good, and the restaurant as well. It was a very pleasant stay, and although it is not in the center of the city the hotel provides a service to take to the center, which makes things much easier.
I went alone and for a business meeting, but I would say it is a very romantic place. In summer, it should be great to take advantage of the beautiful gardens and swimming pool. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I've been visiting regularly the Pestana Palace in the last three years or so, for business travel. I like every aspect of it, the service is always excellent and all the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Since i'm travelling here in Lisbon on a weekly basis in certain periods of the year, I got to know it very well.
The Hotel itself is amazing, you just have to try and see. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#11 of 255 in Lisbon
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
957 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,819 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £183 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing