We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful hotel with a high standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #35 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Moss, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beatiful hotel with a high standard”
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Stayed for three days on a European sales conference. The hotel was once a palace and is still a beautiful and unique hotel. Excellent service, great food and very helpful and friendly staff. A must is going and see the chapel in hotel.

Will surely stay at this hotel next time I’m going back to Lisbon!

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,335
    350
    103
    33
    22
See reviews for
373
814
52
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Rooms in new wings (most of the hotel accommodation) were small, poorly furnished and more in keeping with a 3-4 star hotel. And the beds were the most uncomfortable we've ever experienced! A move to a suite (again in a new wing) provided more space (at a price) but the same type of hard mattress. We got the usual response in these circumstances - 'no-one else has complained', but see previous guest comments. They did produce an additional mattress protector, but that didn't really make a great difference.

Tea/coffee making facilities were unavailable in the standard rooms, but there was a coffee making machine in the suite we moved to. As one of us can't drink coffee, we asked if we could make our own tea, which seemed to be regarded as an unusual (unwelcome?) request, but eventually we got a kettle and one tea bag but no milk. When we asked for milk, a jug of milk was sent - for which we discovered at check-out we'd been charged 5 euros! When we pointed out that it was usual to offer milk or lemon with tea, the response from the manager was that in Portugal no-one drank tea with milk. And this is a 5 star international hotel?! With prices to match. And the prices don't include complimentary in-room tea/coffee - again we only discovered at check-out we'd been charged a large amount for the privilege of making our own.

Lastly, the hotel gardens are lovely, but the hotel itself is far from convenient without your own transport. We enjoy exploring on foot or by public transport, but we spent too much time getting to & from the hotel to the areas we wanted to visit. Maybe if we'd just wanted to laze by the pool that wouldn't have been a problem, but in March that wasn't an option.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirazLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stay for 4 nights. We roons are cosy and the service is perfect. The Palace is beautiful, you fell like you are in a fairytale world, that at any time a princess would show up and share the sofa with you...The spa offer excellent services too. It is a memorable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRVolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

The hotel itself is very beautiful. The staff is nice and plesant but if you expect a five star sevice you are going to be disappointed. I am not a fussy person myself but these are sort of things that I was disapointed about:"We arrived with a young baby and there was not a cot in a room. I asked for a bulb to be replaced (as it went off) but it took them a whole day and I had to remind them to change it. I asked for a few small things I needed , but literarily had to nag about it. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service 4 times per day every day . This service was simply not available for 2 days as one of the stuff was on holiday and other was off sick. The day we left it was early in the morning before breakfast time. Because we paid for it I asked if they can provide us with a packed breakfast but the answer we got is that we can have a cup of coffe and a biscuit instead."
I recently went to Iceland and stayed in Raddisson Saga hotel in Reykjavik that had much better service. In the past I have only stayed in 5 star hotels in Asia and South America and the service was always impecable. The standard of the service in this hotel is nowhere near.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanieleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

welcoming staff, beautiful room with doors opening onto private balcony overlooking established garden with morning birdsong. Healthy breakfast options in natural light filled historic room. Well equipped gym. Excellent bed. Location suited us as it as very quiet and a short walk to all public transport.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PennyLane101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Cork
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed at Pestana Palacio in February for four nights and again for one night in March. We explored Lisbon with the help of the hotel shuttle bus and cheap taxis. We had wonderful bacalau in the bar. The desserts are to die for. The staff are amazing. Nothing is too much for them. They are friendly, informative and attentive. The hotel itself is superlative - restored and furnished so sensitively. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Wait till you see the breakfast buffet. There is free internet access in the business centre. Brilliant stay. There is a beautiful chapel in the hotel for a special wedding.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suewestcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I stayed at Pestana Place for 4 nights recently as I had to attend a conference there. Initially I wanted to stay in a hotel that is closer to Lisbon's attractions and travel to the Pestana Palace each day for the conference. Was I glad I didn't. The traffic in early morning would have made it difficult for me to get there on time. It was also more convenient to stay at the hotel itself as you could go to your room to refresh during the day or when you need to attend conference events there in the evening.
But the most compelling reason was the Pestana Palace itself. It was a beautiful and interesting hotel with impeccable and friendly service. Others have written about the physical aspects of the hotel so I will not say more on that except to confirm all the good things that have been written. My room was on the ground floor and it opened out into a little patio by the garden. The garden was surprisingly verdant given that it was still very cold. I could stand outside and admire the greenery and on one of the nights, the sky was so clear I could see numerous stars and a beautiful full moon.
The room was beautifully done. The bathroom was clean and elegant. My only complaint was that the room was too warm once I was under the covers.
It would have been good if there were coffee and tea making facilities. I needed coffee first thing in the morning and had to order room service for that even though breakfast was part of the room price. The coffee price was however very reasonable.
Front desk and concierge were friendly and helpful. My suitcase did not arrive from London and they called the airport a few times to get updates for me. When it eventually arrived very late in the day, the porter brought it up to my room immediately.
The hotel does not have any attractions nearby but taxis are very easy to get and the fare to Chiado and Amoreiras is very reasonable. The Vasco Da Gama Shopping Centre is much further away and cost 11 Euros each way.
Have already recommended Pestana Palace to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makeupaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 251 in Lisbon
540 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 251 in Lisbon
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#85 of 251 in Lisbon
221 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 251 in Lisbon
916 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#36 of 251 in Lisbon
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing