We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not again”
Review of Hotel Real Parque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Real Parque
Ranked #111 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not again”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We spent 5 days in this hotel June 2012. The distance to the city centre was not to bad, although a taxi is to prefer ( about 5 Euro). We went by feet once, through the park, which was a nice stroll. Took some time though. The rooms were small, but ok. Most annoying was the lift! One small lift, that was busy all the time. Around breakfast it was no use trying, so we took the stairs to the 6th floor ( good exercise if that's what you're after).
Worst still, was the service at the reception. There could be up to three people working, but not one of them ever offering to help. It was necessary to call their attention if you had a question. Never a smile or a " good morning" in return when we tried. I once asked how I could get to Cascais, but the young girl obviously didn't understand much English, so she just looked at us as if we were from another planet. I managed to get the attention from a young man behind the desk, who did understand what I wanted. Of course I knew my pronunciation of Cascais was not exactly perfect, but it was still quite rude of the girl next to him to giggle when I tried.... Especially coming from a receptionist who is unable to understand English. I'm sory to say that this is the saddest crowd of receptionists I've ever met! As I said, the hotel is ok ( not more ), but with all the great people we've met in Portugal, I don't see any reason why I should ever have to face theese ones again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tussi155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Parque, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for mentioning the points that in your opinion could be better.

We sincerely regret that your experience was not the best one. Your discontent with our front desk team is one of those that happen exceptionally and it will be immediately reported. Our service is always praised for being personalized, so it is a surprise for us a comment like yours.

We apologize for the inconvenience and hope to welcome you back to prove the quality of our widely praised service.

Kind regards,
Jorge Neves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    533
    215
    56
    20
See reviews for
241
458
70
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not exactly at a 4* standard but it left us satisfied in terms of space and cleanliness, especially considering the bargain price we had to pay! It is located in a residential/ business offices area outside the centre, but it is well conected to the center and the airport by metro. The only real negative was that the only member of staff who seemed interested in giving us general information and guidance on the first day, neglected to let us know of Monday opening hours to all monuments and museums (zero, they are All closed), and gave us misleading information on how to get to Belem. Not to mention that we had to discover things about the area ourselves, eg where to go for quick lunch to match our day's schedule around the hotel -she had said there are none and we should go to Cais de Sodre (a complete dry area in terms of places to eat). These little pieces of misinformation cost us a lot in terms of time and messed up our schedule throughout our visit and of course meant that we did not make it in to places we really wanted to visit. I would suggest making your own research before working with the staff there and basically make your stay at real parque what it is meant to be -in and out.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank efaki1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Parque, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret that your experience was not the best one. These are a set of observations that happen very exceptionally. Usually the comments about our hotel are very positive, especially in what concerns to the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.

Thank you for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, for a better experience at the Real Parque Hotel.

Kind regards,
Jorge Neves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfut, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for an extended weekend of three nights and had reserved 9 rooms (double and single). We got an extremely low rate of EUR 36 for a single and EUR 44 for a double (per room/per night, both rates including breakfast). In the beginning I was a little bit worried because of the low price. As we were scheduled to arrive after midnight, I was afraid that we may run into a problem so I called the hotel upfront to inform them about our arrival time. When we finally arrived Saturday morning at 00:30 AM everything was ready for us. Just a view signatures and we had our keys for all rooms. We got most of the rooms close together on the same floor (6+7).

Despite what you see on some pics, the rooms have new flat screen TV´s now and contrary to the hotel description in German language, there is no charge for using the TV!

Yes, the carpet in the room had some stains, but overall the room and the bath can be considered as very clean. Towels were brand new and fluffy. They must have been exchanged recently. The minibar is not as cheap as the supermarket next door, but still less expensive than what you pay at other hotels. The mattress was a little bit to hard for me, but on request some extra blankets were added. There was only very little noise from the street at night (cars, planes - if you like to sleep with an open windows). The room has central AC that can be used for heating as well (was very silent).

Breakfast was nearly perfect...only on Sunday the croissants were out at 10:00 AM. But this is only a minor issue, as there were other options on the buffet.

At the moment the hotel is running deal for lunch and dinner. For EUR 15 p.p. we had a very good selection of starters, some traditional main courses and a big selection of desserts. This deal however included the buffet and the drinks. Officially it says "....one drink per person..." but we had 4 bottles of red wine, 4 bottles of water, several beer and coffee/espresso for the dessert. All without any extra charge!! So before going out and maybe ripped off at any of these tourist restaurants....I would suggest to eat at the hotel (usually I would never eat at the hotel where I stay, but this time it was a very wise decision).

Transportation from the airport is easy. Just take the metro for EUR 1,40 per adult to the last station of that line "St. Sebastian". From there it is maybe 5 minutes to walk.

Next to the metro station, at El Corte Ingles (the department store/supermarket) there is a stop for the Yellow Bus company. We selected the 48h multi tour ticket (with all 4 routes). If you buy it online they give you 10% discount. So we just paid 22,50 EUR p.p. You can mail the vouchers to the reception of the hotel and they will print them for you. We asked for 10 prints and they did it within minutes, with NO charge! You can also use this option for printing your boarding passes. They give you a small slip with the email address on it at the reception. When taking the Yellow bus, please keep in mind that between 11 am an 1 pm the buses are usually a little bit crowded. We started at noon on the first day and only got 3 seats on the big bus. Also the historical tram was full. They can only take 24 sitting passengers. No standing allowed. Therefore, if you are a big group like is, do this tour early or late. The purple tour to the expo area is not recommended. Here it would be much faster to take the metro going out and back. There is not much to see beside this area. But going back to town takes you 40 min. easily, while the metro does it in 10 min.

WiFi was available in all parts of the hotel (not just the lobby) - free of charge. Just in the restaurant, the reception was a little bit weak - but still working.

The hotel had different types of maps available, free of charge and was not pushing to sell us any tours or so.

Room Tip: The x01 rooms seem to be a bit smaller than the other rooms...should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joerg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Parque, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for pointing out the details of our service.

Thank you also for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Real Parque Hotel.

Kind regards,
Jorge Neves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rovigo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I think it has been the cheapest 4 stars hotel I have ever seen. Personals very kind . Comfortable accomodation and close to undergroun...more than expecte
Today I have asked to stay 1 h more than normal in the room before leaving and they have excepted

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Parque, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with our quality-price ratio, as well as with the friendliness our staff.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Real Parque Hotel.

Kind regards,
Jorge Neves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcoussis
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were in Real Parque for 2 nights (17-->19/10), and we were given Room 116 on first floor. The room was spacious with comfortable beds, and the bathroom was OK: that's for the bright side. The dark side is that the room gives on the ventilation / air extraction /AC units located on a roof at a couple of meters from the large window bay in the room; the system is noisy during the day until late in the evening; they shut it down during the night, and they start it again at 6.45am, in time for breakfast (you can smell the food cooking at each meal); Other disappointment is the noisy water extraction pipe running in the bathroom from the upper floors. The noise of planes flying above the hotel is also to be noted - do not forget your ear plugs if you want to sleep in peace. Apart from these disagreements, the hotel is OK, staff very helpful, and breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors to avoid the noisy and smelly air system
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Parque, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about the helpfulness of our team and our breakfast service.

We regret that your stay at our hotel did not entirely correspond to your expectations and would like to thank you for your constructive comments and feedback. We are constantly reviewing, inspecting and carrying out maintenance work in order to keep everything in good, clean and safe conditions. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Parque Hotel.

Kind regards,
Jorge Neves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just returned Oct.10th from a 4 day stay at the Real Parque and it was everything we expected and more. We were a little apprehensive due to some of the reviews but had nothing to worry about. The hotel is very clean, the rooms quite big and beds firm but not hard. Staff was excellent. Thank you all and in particular Helen in the breakfast room and the female bartender in their lobby bar. All staff were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. Breakfast could get a little crowded but there is additional seating across the hall so no one should have to wait unless they insist on sitting in the breakfast room. The only legitimate complaint that we could see was that they are located about 20 min. (by the very excellent Portuguese metro) from the real centre of the tourist attractions. Their area has quiet streets and restaurants (a plus for us) but I’m sure not for the bar hoppers.
A note re unpleasant smells. I believe they come from the Lisbon sewage system as I smelled them even when away from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Parque, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was. Exceed expectations is a motivation for us. We also appreciate the compliments regarding our staff. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted too.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Real Parque Hotel.

Kind regards,
Jorge Neves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at Real Parque Hotel for 6 nights this summer. The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful. The location was good, close to everything. The breakfast was not that good, but it was okay. There are a lot of good cafes and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Parque, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest,

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

However, we were surprised that the breakfast has not been nice, since this is always a positive point out by customers of all Real Hotels Group. At Real Parque Hotel we have homemade pastry which provides higher quality to the products served. We also try to have a varied offer to suit all tastes.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Parque Hotel.
Kind regards,
Jorge Neves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Palacio
Hotel Real Palacio
#84 of 247 in Lisbon
2,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acores Lisboa
Hotel Acores Lisboa
#65 of 247 in Lisbon
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avenida Park Hotel
Avenida Park Hotel
#185 of 247 in Lisbon
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Empire Lisbon Hotel
Empire Lisbon Hotel
#151 of 247 in Lisbon
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#66 of 247 in Lisbon
734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fenicius Charme Hotel
Fenicius Charme Hotel
#163 of 247 in Lisbon
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Parque

Property: Hotel Real Parque
Address: Avenida Luis Bivar 67, Lisbon 1069-146, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#81 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Real Parque 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Parque Hotel, the first hotel of the Real Hotels Group, invites you to start your trip in the Portuguese capital. Acquaint yourself better with your location and where to go in Lisbon.Real Parque combines the charm of classic environment with other modern and sophisticated.Whether with family, friends or at work, the Hotel Real Parque in Lisbon will guarantee an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Parque Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing