We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetely a 5 star Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Ranked #18 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Definetely a 5 star Hotel!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It is a beautiful hotel, the service was excellent. Specially the Concierge who where very helpful and efficient. We ,made our reservations through American Express Platinum, so we were lucky and got and upgrade to a fabulous suite. They also gave me a gift for the spa of 85.00 US which was very nice.
The breakfast buffet was amazing, and they have light lunche and diners at the bar which were very pleasant.
The only draw back for me, was the location: although you have a great view you are up in a hill....there is not much around the hotel, you have to walk down to get to the main avenue..

Room Tip: Make reservation trough Amex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon. We're very glad to know you enjoyed our hotel overall, that you were happy with your upgrade and spa treatment.and that our concierge was helpful during your stay. This is what we strive for daily.

In what concerns the location, as you say, it is just a short walk from the main shopping street in Lisbon, for instance, and it is quieter than other busier neighborhoods, but we do hope that this gives our guests the opportunity to unwind and relax.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    254
    73
    18
    8
See reviews for
311
627
71
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Four Seasons Ritz in Lisbon and thought it was nice. It wasn't the most amazing place we've stayed in so if I compare it to that, I can only give it 4 stars. As others have mentioned, the building is really ugly on the outside and it's a good 20-minute walk to the part of town you will probably want to eat dinner and sightsee in. The staff is fine. I wasn't blown away by anyone in particular but we didn't have problems with them either. The rooms are nice and a good size - they are also extremely quiet. We had a great balcony overlooking the park. We found it odd that the more expensive a place is, the less you get. Like a complimentary cup of coffee in the morning. Anyway. It was fine. I wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMurph40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback on the location and service, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed our peaceful rooms with a view overlooking the park.

Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon was built in the 1950’s with the aim of imparting upon the city a modern legacy, and although the design of any product is very personal and specific to each individual's taste, we do hope that the spacious interiors housing 18th-century replica furnishings and the outstanding collection of contemporary Portuguese tapestries, paintings and sculpture were more to your liking.

We truly hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you again in Lisbon, to make your experience with us more memorable

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great hotel and amenities. The room was really comfortable (after discovering how to turn off the noisy A/C). The bathroom was amazing with double sinks, bathtub and separate shower. The (small) tv was somehow deformed and the quality of the signal was a shame.
The restaurant was extremely good and all details were covered. The small bar was very comfortable but extemely expensive (5euro for 1 espresso, 7,5euro if it had some milk). For a couple of sandwiches and two glasses of wine we touched 40 euro each. While I do understand the high standard of this hotel... I felt like taken advantage of.
The pool is very nice. A jacuzzi is missing but the roof terrace for running and excercise is going to make you forget about it.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are the best ones for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo_Fiorentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback on the bar, and we're glad you enjoyed eating at our Varanda restaurant.

We're also very happy to know that our spacious rooms, bathrooms and our unique rooftop fitness centre and the pool in the Spa were to your liking.

We would also like to let you know that we have since sent in our technical team to improve the Tv signal.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Ritz Four seasons is definitely the best in Lisbon, the person l is fantastic and always available, the location is walking distance to downtown and to Av da Liberdade which is perfect.
Choose the rooms with the view on the park, are very relaxing and be careful if you need to use your cell , In the upper floors reception is not the best for TMN.

Room Tip: View on the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your review. We are extremely proud that you have recommended us as the best Hotel in Lisbon, this is really how we hope to make each one of our guests feel.

We're delighted to hear that you had a good stay at our hotel, that you were happy with the location and proximity to the City’s main Avenue, Avenida da Liberdade.

We are also extremely pleased that the quality of our service met your expectations, and that you found our rooms peaceful and enjoyed the views over Eduardo VII Park.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a superior room. The hotel is not too far from the city centre but would suggest taking a 6 euro taxi instead of walking especially for coming back up. There are some eateries just one street (Artillery Road ) up parallel to the hotel if you find the restaurant too pricey at the hotel. Buffet breakfast was a must to try at the hotel. It won't disappoint. They offer fresh sliced fruits such as mango, papaya and raspberry etc.. The fresh carrot juice was amazing. they serve breakfast at the main restaurant as well as in the bar area. I suggest you request to sit in the main restaurant if you are not smoker as people smoke in the bar area. Our room is on the third floor overlooking the city. The room is unusually big and nicely decorated. The staff we came across were polite and helpful. The roof top fitness centre was a wow. Very well equipped even with two Pilates machines. The panoramic view was something to die for. The only fault was we were given two single beds putting together even we requested a king/queen bed. I guess this happens to a lot of the hotels in Europe.

Room Tip: Lower floor might have better water pressure for the shower as I found my shower was weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaroochydoreLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us at the Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, and that you found our staff was polite and helpful.

We’re glad you liked our spacious rooms and unique décor, and are sorry to hear about the two single beds together, we will make sure this does not happen during your next stay with us.

Also, we are delighted that you had the opportunity to visit our rooftop Fitness Centre. “Wow”, as you described it, is just how we feel about it! Thank you. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and hope that it was a good way to start your days in Lisbon.

Last but not least, we're happy you found your way easily around Lisbon with the local taxis, since as you say, most major attractions are only a 5 minute drive away.
We look forward to your next visit,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our room was the most beautiful I've seen, even in the movies. Our balcony overlooked the city. The service could not have been better. The doorman loaned us a Ritz umbrella as we got into a cab. When we returned, my half-finished drink had been covered with a paper coaster. Empty glasses had been washed. Another guest's sun glasses had been cleaned and a pack of wipes left nearby. The food was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was carefully organized and convenient. The exercise area (top floor, with great view) was suburb. Other public areas were elegant with huge displays of flowers. Nothing amiss anywhere. Two first-rate shopping malls nearby. Also good art museums.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for such a great review. We're very glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to always give a special touch to each of our clients and we know that the small things make the big difference, and we're happy you appreciated that. It's also good to know you enjoyed the decoration of the hotel, from your room to the public areas.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The first sighting of this hotel, from the outside, is not necessarily inspiring. This may be Lisbon's finest hotel, it is a soulless, modern concrete block, far from the likes of the FS in Paris, or Florence.

But once you step in, you are warmly welcomed by rows of genuinely smiling members of the staff. I was a little concerned to hear from the hotel's driver, that there was a big event going on at the FS, as a famous jeweler was having an inauguration of a new boutique that day, and that the hotel was full. Well, in a typical hotel, that would mean battling through crowds, queuing at reception, coping with stressed staff... Not in a FS though; as soon as we walked in we were greeted by name, by a very nice receptionist who took us directly to our room, to carry out the check-in, and we could therefore relax straight away.

The deluxe room was very comfortable, and well furnished, a few local gifts awaiting. Only the bathroom was a little sub standard for a FS, but impeccably clean, with good amenities.

The common areas are very handsome, on a grand scale, with furnishing and floral arrangements to match. There is a very nice terrace, to enjoy lunch, or just a coffee. Inevitably though, there is the perpetual distant roar from the nearby road, but this is centre of a big city.

The tranquil indoor pool and spa were superb, with a very good changing room, well stocked up with amenities and beverages

In the evening, the bar is most pleasant too, in an 80's 'Wall Street' kind of style, with stylish, friendly barmen, who will improvise a tailor-made cocktail should you so wish, and where it is still possible to smoke, a rarity in Europe today.

The location is good, there are many restaurants and shops nearby, only a few minutes by taxi. A word on taxis though; unfortunately we have found that the majority were dishonest (there were happy exceptions). Even when we asked the hotel to call a taxi, some of them would lose their way, even when going to the easiest address on a main avenue, they took back streets, and once they got you where you need to be, are reluctant to give you back your change. Sad but true. There are dishonest taxi drivers everywhere, but I've never known as many as in Lisbon.
For this reason we were pleased to use the hotel's car and driver, to collect and take us back to the airport, for about 45euros one way.

To conclude simply, if back in Lisbon one day, this hotel would be a first choice again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingKoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your review.

Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon was built in the 1950’s, and although the design of any product is always personal and specific to each individual's taste, we are pleased that the spacious interiors decorated by the acclaimed French interior designer Henri Samuel, the terrace and flower arrangements were more to your liking.

We are thrilled that you had a warm welcome at our hotel by the friendly staff, that you enjoyed your room, and that you liked the Bar, the staff and the special tailor-made cocktails.

We are terribly sorry that you didn’t have a better experience with local taxis, this is mostly an exception, and it saddens us to hear this, and we do our best not to let this happen to any of our guests, but in any case, we are happy that you were pleased with the hotel drivers.

Lastly, we are so glad that the tranquil indoor pool and spa were to your liking, and hope you had a relaxing experience.

We do hope you come back and are delighted to be your first choice on your next trip to Lisbon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 251 in Lisbon
1,043 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#17 of 251 in Lisbon
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Lisbon
#54 of 251 in Lisbon
1,216 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Four Seasons
Lisbon Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing