We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Ranked #19 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Beatiful, classic luxury hotel. Very comfortable, rooms are huge, bathrooms are huge, beds are heaven, room service excellent, breakfast delicious (a bit pricey though, but hey... that's the Ritz!).
Excellent service, taxis are immediately available without pre-booking.
The fitness on the top floor is the best I've ever seen in a hotel, and the view on the river is breathtaking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasKBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your fantastic review. We're very happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and especially the spacious rooms, bathrooms, room service and breakfast. We couldn’t agree more on your feedback about our wonderful rooftop fitness centre! And the view really is breathtaking!

We hope to welcome you in Lisbon again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    249
    73
    18
    8
See reviews for
305
618
70
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Whatever you expect from a Four Seasons is what you get here too. Huge room, the most comfortable bed, attention to every tiny detail... Location is perfect, you can walk to the park, to shopping... We didn't spend much time at the hotel but the service quality during the breakfast was not at the classic Four Seasons level, in my opinion. But throughout Portugal that was a problem, so it is not about the hotel but about the low service quality all aroud the country, i guess:) The massage I got from 'Fatima' at the spa was one of the best! The people at the spa was also very nice and helpful. When i arrived my room from a tiring day tour of Lisbon, I found a bookmark on my book and a very nice cleaning cloth on my eyeglass case. Both were very nice touches and make you feel pampered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elif Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for the great review. At Four Seasons we know that the small details make the big difference, and we're very glad you appreciated our special touches, such as the bookmark and the eyeglass cloth - to pamper our guests is what we're all about!
We're always happy to know the service was up to par with our guests' expectations of Four Seasons, and that you enjoyed our hotel overall and we made your stay in Lisbon an enjoyable one.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Situated on top of a hill with stunning views of Lisbon, the river and brigdes (especially from the top floor where the very large and well-equipped gym and pool are located), this hotel oozes charm, style and luxury. The hall is large, stylish and has an excellent big terrace. In fact, everything is large about this hotel: the corridords are exceptionally wide, the rooms spacious and the bathrooms have a separate shower, bidet, two washbasins and a bath of course, all in pink marble. Each bedroom has a large balcony, sporting great views (ask for a view on the park!). Rooms are quiet (including the airconditioning system), very clean and well-maintained with very comfortable beds. Wifi is free. Service is unobtrusive but excellent. Although not in the center of town, almost any place of interest is a 10-.15 min cab ride away.The hotel is not cheap, certainly not for Portugese standards, but the price is worth it. All in all, a great hotel and a must for lovers of old-fashioned luxury and style.

Room Tip: ask for a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your great feedback, we're lovers of old-fashioned luxury and style too! We're very happy to know that you enjoyed the spacious areas of the hotel, especially the rooftop fitness centre.
To be "unobtrusive but excellent" is exactly the goal of our service and we're glad we achieved it with you, and we're also very glad that our decoration was to your liking.

We hope to see you again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had an amazing stay at The Ritz Four Seasons Lisbon earlier in August.

It was just an incredible experience. The service and accommodations were unparallel living up to the Four Seasons brand worldwide.

I loved the location. It was a wonderful walk from the busy downtown district. It's nice after a long day to get away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown Lisbon. It's quiet and a nice walk for someone who wants a nice walk after a long day of site seeing. It's located at the top of one the many hills in Lisbon's city center just close to everything. Wonderful museums and fantastic dining. The subway is very close and only a few stops from the high-end Bairro Alto district.

The Ritz team was fantastic. The concierge team especially booked many of my excursions and dining arrangements in advance. I big thank you to Paula, Felipa, and Francisco. I had contacted the team weeks in advance. As a single traveler, it was nice to have everything arranged in advance. The front office management (Helena) and her team was highly organized and anticipated so many needs for all the travelers. It's not easy managing so many different types of visitors. Everyone was handled personally and with the highest level of professionalism in the hospitality business.

The Deluxe Room was probably the best room I've seen in Europe. The furnishings were in blue (my favorite color) and the bathrooms were re-done in a beautiful marble. The halls were quiet and were well secured in the evenings. The views were the best in Lisbon.

The dining facilities were top notch and the highest quality of service. I enjoyed the Ritz Bar staff. They were very friendly and remembered my name. I mostly dined at the Ritz Bar as it was more economical and easier as a single traveler. On my last night I decided to have a formal sit-down dinner outside in the terrace area. It was like having my own private dining experience. I was the only table outside ordering dinner. The service was amazing. Even the nice attendant from the Veranda gave me a glass of champagne and let me walk around the grounds passing through the Veranda. The friendly lead remembered my nightly tea order and included a small custard dessert for me to take back to my room. My only idea would be to have a small continental breakfast menu in the Ritz Bar for those on the go or who cannot stay to enjoy a wonderful buffet at the Veranda.

Most afternoons there was live music (piano) and the lobby was quiet. I did not see many kids and if I did, they were well behaved.

Finally, I cannot forget Room Service. I had most of my meals (outside of dinner) in my room. It was the best. They were on time every morning right on time. The quality of the meals (especially ordering a late breakfast after Noon) was great. The fruits were fresh from Brazil and through out Europe. The cherries were wonderful. The coffee was fantastic. I often ordered ala carte as the portions served were quite large for one person.

I simply did not want to leave The Ritz Four Seasons Lisbon! Again, all the attention to details and the small gestures make The Ritz Four Seasons Lisbon the best accommodations in Portugal. I would have stayed longer in Lisbon as there is a lot to see and do. Next time I do want to spend more time in the hotel to enjoy all the wonderful amenities and accommodations.

Thank you again to the entire team for making my very first visit to Portugal enjoyable and memorable! I will be back!

Todd P.
Los Angeles, California, USA

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms have amazing views of the city. Every floor is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is really with great pleasure that we have read your comments, and great feedback about our friendly concierge, front office, Restaurant staff and Bar staff. Thank you again.

We are also delighted that your meals in the bar, Varanda restaurant and room service were enjoyable, and also that you have experienced our magical city in the best possible way and that you were happy with the location of the Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon.

We are so glad that you had a memorable stay with us, this is really what we strive for, and hope that your next stay will be a little longer, so that you can get to know our capital even better. We will be sure to keep a blue-themed Deluxe suite for you!

Obrigado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Ritz Four Seasons Lisbon, Lovely

Our stay here was truly lovely. The very large and gorgrous orchid arrangement in the lobby sets the tone.The hotel has an ambience that is truly relaxing. The staff, at the Front Desk, Anna and her new trainee, was great. Our room on the tenth floor room looking over the Park was well designed ,after requesting an extra chair, to add the small chair that was there. Actually it was replaced with two arm chairs creating a comfortable space in the room. The large patio had a table for two and was perfect for morning coffee. Coffee however was a little problematic, since there is no coffee maker in the room. It was solved solved by the delivery of all the necessities (hot water pot, individual cup maker for coffee and cups) on a room service table which I managed to empty and place strategically other surfaces.. There is coffee in the lobby from 6:00 to 7:00 and if you are using the fitness center there is quite an adequate spread of coffee, juice and muffins in the lounge on the eleventh floor as an amenity until at least 9am.

The fitness center is one of the best I have ever seen. It occupies most of the eleventh floor and includes a running track with a view of the best of Lisbon.

Speaking of amenities, one of the nicest surprises was an amenity of tea, port, candy, little cakes etc., which differed everyday when we returned to our room. I especially liked the mini éclairs which the pastry chef creates for this purpose.

One of the best surprises was the Bar Restaurant. Not only was the food, as the as good as or better than any we had in Portugal, including a Michelin one star, but they had a special promotion of three courses for 42.50 Euros. Individually priced the three courses would have been almost twice that. The waiters were really attentive and I especially recommend the grouper which in Portugal is a white succulent fish unlike Florida grouper. The beef Carpaccio was delicious as was the chocolate cake.

Taxis are cheap and plentiful. Five Euros takes you almost everywhere and we took many. However, if the meter price is inflated by a supplement for something other than luggage it should not be. Ask for a receipt or at least take down the number of the taxi. One we took added 4 Euros. I memorized his number, reported it to the front door and sure enough ,when he returned the next night I was told by another taxi driver he was sent away without a passenger. Most drivers seem to take pride in their work and we had many excellent ones.

We spent five nights here using a free fourth night promotion and took two day trips which made for a perfect mix of city and small seaside town and village life.
I looked at several other five star hotels and all in I still think this is the best in Lisbon.

Room Tip: High floors on the Park side are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so glad that you had a lovely stay with us and that even in October the weather was nice enough that you could sit on your balcony and enjoy your morning coffee, overlooking the park.

We couldn’t agree more with your feedback on the Fitness Centre, thank you so much! It is certainly the best in the city, and the views of the rooftops, the Castle of São Jorge and the river are truly impressive.

We are of course extremely pleased too that Anna and the rest of the staff helped make your stay memorable, that you liked the amenities, the food in our Varanda restaurant and bar, as well as the little surprises in your room. The mini éclairs are to die for.

Five nights are a great taste of what Lisbon has to offer as well as some of the close-by regions, we are so happy that you were able to enjoy all of it!

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Ritz for a long week-end in October, to escape the cold that had already started to creep into other parts of Europe. We chose the Ritz because we wanted to give ourselves a special treat. It's expensive, but very good. The service is excellent, the rooms are generous and spacious, and many rooms have a great view of Lisbon. We found the concierge to be outstanding, very friendly, and very helpful - - we followed just about every one of his recommendations, and were not disappointed any single time. The pool and spa (below the lobby level) and the excellent training facilities / weight room on the rooftop should be taken advantage of! All in all: highly recommended if you can afford it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your recommendation. We really are fortunate with the weather in Lisbon even in October!
We're delighted to hear that you had a good stay at our hotel, and that our rooms, as well as their views of Lisbon, were to your liking.

We are of course extremely pleased too that the quality of our service met your expectations, and that our concierge tips made your stay in Lisbon even more special. And finally, that you enjoyed the Pool and spa, and the rooftop training facilities, which are truly unique in the city.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Loved every minute of my three-day stay at this hotel. Our room was wonderful, with every comfort imaginable. The breakfast buffet was super, and situated in a beautifully decorated room that made it all the more enjoyable. Don't miss their fitness room/spa with a marvelous view of Lisbon while you run their outside track around the perimeter. Their equipment is first class with nothing missed.

Room Tip: I'm certain any room in this hotel will be marvelous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for such a great review. We're very happy to know we made your stay at our hotel a memorable one, and that you enjoyed every minute!

We do pride ourselves in our unique and spacious rooms, and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed yours, and also that you went up to our rooftop Fitness centre, it really is a one-of-a-kind.

Also, we are of course ddelighted to hear that you liked the breakfast buffet. There is no better way to stary your morning in Lisbon.

We look forward to your next visit,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#51 of 248 in Lisbon
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Four Seasons
Lisbon Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing