We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as a four seasons should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Ranked #19 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Not as good as a four seasons should be”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights - 1 in a king room, the other 2 in a 1-bedroom suite.
We found the service to be generally as you would expect from Four Seasons with a couple of exceptions. We thought the decor in the rooms to be very nice and certainly comfortable. Beds and linens excellent, furnishings comfortable and in good repair. The king room has a balcony and the suite had 3 balconies. All had chairs and tables as well as chair cushions in the closets and all were very comfortable. Views for each room were in different directions and all had excellent views of Lisbon (9th and 10th floors). Both had excellent closet space. The only complaint I would have about the rooms would be the bathrooms - while both were lovely (identical), they had 2 pedestal sinks (a pet peeve of mine) which means limited or inconvenient space for toiletries. The provided toiletries are l'occitane, which was nice. Robes were the small, short variety. I expect more from Four Seasons. Suite had a Nespresso machine while the king room did not. I really appreciate being able to make a coffee before having to deal with other people.

We ate in the bar one night and had breakfast in our room one morning and both meals were excellent.

Wifi free in public areas but had to pay for it in your room. For the cost of the rooms, shame on you Four Seasons!!

As I mentioned earlier, service was excellent in almost all circumstances except for the following: on the morning we were leaving, I was standing in the bathroom (right next to the door of the suite) putting on my make-up, when a gentleman walks into the room. Thank goodness I was wearing a robe!! He just said "oh, I have to check the minibar". I just closed the bathroom door and let my husband deal with it. When leaving, the concierge apologized saying that this person got the room number wrong. The other thing was when we arrived back, after 5 days away, we arrived very late as our flight back to Lisbon was delayed by 3 hours. This was almost midnight and we had to be back at the airport for 4:30. Over and over again we explained our situation to the young lady checking us in. Although she was lovely and well intentioned, she wasn't listening. It was like she had a script she had to follow and was more interested in checking off her talking points than understanding the situation in which her clients found themselves.

The location is excellent, away from the busy core but within walking distance. The facilities are wonderful - gym and rooftop running track excellent, bar and terrace beautiful, views of Lisbon and the park couldn't be better.

In spite of the few small issues, would probably recommend to friends and would consider staying there on future trips to Lisbon. I would however check out other hotels before booking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Excaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Boa tarde!

We're so very happy to know your overall experience with us was a fantastic one. From the rooms and the famous Four Seasons bed to the bathrooms and of course the great views not only from the rooms but also the rooftop fitness center, as well as the wonderful food at breakfast and at the Ritz Bar, and finally our service! We're glad everything was to your liking.

WiFi is complimentary since the begining of 2014, in public areas and in rooms - you only have to pay if you want premium WiFi, basic WiFi is free.
Nespresso machines are standard in suites but you do have to ask for them in standard rooms. We'll make sure to take note so that in your next visit you'll have a Nespresso machine available no matter what room type you choose, we know how much coffee helps first thing in the morning!
Finally we would like to take this opportunity to apologize again for someone entering your room, unfortunately the

We're also glad you enjoyed our location and the wonderful fitness facilities and our rooftop running track.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to our Hotel,,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    249
    73
    18
    8
See reviews for
303
617
70
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Service was awful. Wifi working very slow or at times not working leaving us frustrated. I called down at least 5 times which each time the hotel staff would transfer me to their Technical Support team and each time he/she from the Technical Support team would acknowledge that it is a problem. This is a paid room Wifi and the hotel staff would not do anything to resolve this issue. So why would anyone pay for Wifi and have it not working! They were happy to take the money and give you nothing. The only solution they have is to go down to a different area in the hotel and you will get better wifi. I would expect that answer if you get it for free but if you are paying for a service to have wifi in your room?? Really!

I would expect better than this as this is not a cheap hotel and I can much better service at another hotel rated less than this and less expensive.

If you want crappy service, stay with Four Seasons Hotel Ritz!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuresomeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Bom dia,

We're sorry to hear about your WiFi experience. We know that internet access is extremely important to our guests, that is why since January this year we offer basic WiFi connection in all rooms and public spaces of the Hotel. In addition, we continue to try and make that experience as smooth as possible. Unfortunately what happened during your stay was that there was a temporary issue that had to be solved directly with our service provider. We do hope that having taken the premium internet off your bill was a gesture in the right direction.

We hope your overall stay at our hotel was a great one and that you will visit us again soon.

Obrigado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

the title speaks for itself - if you want to warm friendly service in a luxury setting, this is the place for you.

excellent breakfast; spa; gym, bar; great views of the city; great service and food;

helpful concierge; members of staff go out of their way

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffron27708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Odd look on the outside for a Four Seasons Hotel (know locally by cab drivers as The Ritz) ut inside was first class. Room was huge with nice view of the park. The most amazing gym I have ever seen. Top floor with amazing view of the city. Friendly staff. I'd like to highlight the service we received at a table on the balcony. Lovely day so thought a drink outside would be nice. Michael was our server and we really enjoyed him. Very friendly. Made our day.

Room Tip: Request View of the park. If you take elevator to the garage you can save quite a bit of walking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txhawki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is not a cheap hotel, this is luxury in a big way - with everything you can think of to make the customer feel valued and comfortable. It is hard to fault anything. Every member of staff went out of their way to be polite and friendly and the surroundings are opulent and spacious. Spacious bedroom, all amenities good quality, big comfortable bed. Lovely relaxing pool area, great breakfast and fantastic restaurant meals. Like I said, not cheap but worth every penny and if this is not your usual lifestyle but you want to treat yourself - then this is the place to do it !!

Room Tip: High floor room with a view over the park and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treetime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Superb hotel located centrally. Fantastic service, relaxing pool and spa. We spent an anniversary short break in this beautiful city. Expensive but worth it. Thanks to all the staff for a lovely trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alba r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A friend and I stayed at your hotel last month for 3 nights over a weekend and had the most wonderful time. All staff were fantastically helpful and were happy to help in any way possible. Smiles from everyone from the doormen to the gym staff, the spa team to the F&B staff… just lovely.
I had a fabulously relaxing manicure in the spa after a lovely and helpful tour of the facilities to make sure I knew where I was going and what there was on offer.
We had a great meal in the restaurant as well with staff who just couldn't be any nicer to us. However this was after a drink in the bar where I was recommended an Amarguinha Sour… well, what an amazing drink ! Big thanks to the bar gentlemen who were welcoming, funny, charming and who managed to find my new favourite drink !
Concierge & Reception were faultless - perfect recommendations and made sure we saw all the necessary sights.
And the review wouldn't be complete without mentioning one of the most stunning fitness facilities I’ve ever seen. A rooftop gym and running track. Perhaps a couple more small pieces of equipment in the studio would be nice but I thoroughly enjoyed my morning workouts… sunrise, views over Lisbon as far as the eye can see - if this doesn't motivate you then no gym will ! Offered towels, water, sports drinks then a lovely healthy breakfast station for afterwards… fruit, yoghurt and a cup of tea… couldn't have been any more perfect for me.
Thank you for a memorable and fantastic trip - I don’t think it will be long until I visit again !

Room Tip: Pay a touch more to stay on the (south east ?) side which has a balcony on the rooms and a view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banannah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#52 of 248 in Lisbon
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Four Seasons
Lisbon Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing