We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the crowds in central Lisbon, an easy Metro ride away”
Review of SANA Reno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SANA Reno Hotel
Ranked #92 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This modern, well-run hotel is nicer than many 3-star sites. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood, a short stroll from the deservedly popular Gulbenkian art museum and park.

A Metro station served by two of the city's four lines is directly opposite the entrance -- one of its best assets!

Another nearby convenience: Picoas Plaza shopping mall with supermarket, gourmet shop and fast-foot court.

It's a restorative retreat north of the noisy, busy Centro districts downtown that we reached daily in 10-15 minutes by subway. Also refreshing: The rooftop pool with bar + snack service is a lively international gathering spot in late afternoon and early evening.

A large, appealing breakfast array that varies slightly each day is included. Seating is tight unless you dash down before 8 a.m. or so.

No restaurant or workout room. Friendly, helpful staff is multilingual, naturally.

A fine non-tourist restaurant named Maracana is about 6 blocks away, with fresh fish and other tasty selections, a multilingual staff, and large wine/port lists. Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo, 45 | 213.526.934 | maracana@live.com.pt

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_Stamm_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

stayed here for 4 nights the end of Aug. When we got to the hotel our room had been cancelled due to clever hotels going bust but the manager on cut sorted us out no problem.Rooms are lovely, very clean & the shower is brilliant. had no issue with with wi fi & we were on the 6th floor. Breakfast is a bit cramped but good selection. Location wise although a30 min walk from town you were very near the metro and only €5 in a taxi. nice bar round the cornerfrom it. Pool on top is small but only used it once as too busy site seeing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and wood go back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nice2bnicefuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Just back from a weekend in Lisbon staying at the Sana Reno. The welcome was cool, both receptionists were standoffish, only at when we checked out was receptionist pleasant. The rooms was clean, good facilities and a comfy bed. The room did smell of smoke however which was felt with by housekeeping. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice but could be a chore due to the lack of courtesy and thought by other guests. The roof top pool was great as was the bar service up there and the very long 'happy hour'. Deserves its three stars and we would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopolo1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for five nights in early September. The SANA Reno is a nice enough hotel, and the rooftop pool is lovely for those hot days when you just want to lounge around or your other half is still asleep. We took full advantage of it!

Our room was nice, clean, a decent size, but very dark as it faced an internal courtyard. No real complaints on this front though.

A few pros and cons:

Pros:
Very close to the Metro (Sao Sebastio). A short walk underground or overground towards Cortes el Ingles gets you to the blue line, which goes straight through to the centre of town and the riverfront. The red line is directly as you enter the station, and takes you to the airport in about half an hour. It's cheap too - we put 15 euros on our Viagem cards and got about for the whole five days easily.


Nice cafes nearby - next door is a great little cafe for cold drinks and pasteis de nata (little custard tarts) which were some of the best we had in the city. If you turn left outside the hotel and take a short walk to a small square (more of a traingle really) in the middle of the junction, there's an excellent little kiosk selling very cheap drinks - we had four small beers one night for just 3 euro.

Cons
WIFI - we had no signal at all for the first 3 days (on the 4th floor), though we had paid extra through Expedia for Wifi. After complaining several times it was finally up and running on the fourth day, but the signal isn't reliable.

Breakfast is pretty poor - the eggs are quite watery (possibly powdered?) and the sausages are small mini tinned hotdogs (though secretly I actually liked them, as I'm a junk food addict). Coffee from the machine was not great, though the juice and pastries were fine.

All in all, an ok hotel for Lisbon. I'd probably return for the pool alone, but room only and with a balcony room on the opposite side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileawhile077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent there almost a week, Below you can see + and -:
++Staff is really helpful and careful. location is a little bit far from centre, but the tube station is just opposite to the entrance of hotel.
-- Breakfast is the same for whole week. and I was poisened by mushrooms :( internet is free, but you need to ask for password at reseptions, which has limitation of time, so you need to ask again and again... internet connection is poor, very poor....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bu1avka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I've stayed 3 nights at Sana Reno, during a business trip to Lisbon.
It's located at a nice spot. Although it's too far from the city center to walk, you have a metro station and bus stop nearby.
I don't have much to say about this hotel... the room was ok and very clean, the staff was good enough, the breakfast was good... nothing stands out, neither for good nor bad reasons.
It's a pretty good hotel to stay if you are going to Lisbon for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlsmartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is situated very close to the metro station Saldanha. From here you can travel very easy to all other parts of the city of Lisbon. We bought an "Via Viagem" for five days (total € 30) and could travel for free in metro, bus, elevator, tram. Very expensive.
Next to the hotel is a excellent restaurant for lunch, with fresh fruit juices and salads.
The breakfast of he hotel is average. The employees were not too fast in adding new plates or food. The tables were put.pretty close to each other.
The rooms are good, you don't hear too much noise from the corridor.
The swimming pool is closed at 20:00. We would like to site there half an hour in teh evening (we had no balcony), but we couldn't. Durng daytime it is very hot around the swimmingpool and the water is cold.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#106 of 255 in Lisbon
669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
0.5 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#67 of 255 in Lisbon
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SANA Executive Hotel
SANA Executive Hotel
#101 of 255 in Lisbon
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#36 of 255 in Lisbon
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#117 of 255 in Lisbon
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Reno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Reno Hotel

Address: Avenida Duque de Avila 195 197, Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#78 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £52 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Reno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Lisbon, SANA Reno Hotel offers a privileged location for those that come to Lisbon for business or pleasure: The underground station opposite the hotel allows you to reach, in just 10 minutes, both the historical centre, and the new area of Lisbon, Parque das Nações. With a classic style that characterises the rooms, the lobby and bar, the SANA Reno Hotel stands out through its unique comfort, spaciousness and infrastructure. At the top of the hotel, the swimming pool allows you to enjoy the sun and heat of Lisbon and the sauna, relaxing after a day of leisure or work. SANA Reno Hotel also offers 4 rooms for organising Meetings and Events in Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SANA Reno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Classic Reno Lisbon
Hotel Sana Classic Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing