We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to stay”
Review of SANA Reno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SANA Reno Hotel
Ranked #97 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my father in April and it was a lovely experience.
As many other reviews mentioned, it is not in the centre of Lisbon, however the Metro station is right outside the door, quite literally! It doesn't take long to get anywhere you want to go, so don't be put off by this aspect.

Walking into the hotel, the entrance is spacious and fresh, although the decor of the lobby is dated, there is a big TV on which they will play the football on request in the evenings.

The staff at reception are all bilingual and can speak fluent English. They are very friendly, perhaps they could be slightly more efficient.
Possibly every morning, we asked them for directions/ideas for the days activities and they provided free maps and fantastic suggestions.

There are 8 floors in total in the hotel, on the 8th in the pool and some other rooms.
The two lifts work perfectly, no clunking or getting stuck and having your room near the lift proves no problem at all. The lift plays gentle music which we thought was a nice touch.

The hallways are very energy efficient and the lights click on as you walk towards them.

Our bedroom was very clean, two single beds and a big window. We have a wardrobe, with a lot of space although more hangers were needed. There was a safe which was adequately sized - passport, keys, phones, iPads and perhaps a small laptop. As the maid cleans the room, usually while you are at breakfast, we found this a good place to keep everything secure. There was a TV, which did have some English TV on it but the majority was Portuguese with English subtitles. There was a mini-bar with some drinks/snacks but obviously very expensive as you would expect. The wifi around the hotel was free, on check-in, you request the username and password and contrary to other reviews, I found it speedy and efficient. FYI -you can watch YouTube, but Netflix does not work.

The bathroom was immaculate, similar to the rest of the hotel. In our twin room, there was a toilet, a bidet, a sink and a bath/shower unit. The bath was very comfortable, although small on first glance was very good and filled up with hot water in seconds. There was a hair dryer (with weak power as most hotels have, but good enough) and behind the huge sink was a huge mirror with a magnifying mirror also.
My only compliant for the bathroom would be that I would like hooks on the back of the door to hang clean clothes while showering.

THERE WERE NO TEA/COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES IN ROOMS. This is something I would change!

The rooftop pool was nice. I think they read and understood previous reviews and added more sun loungers. There were plenty to go round. The pool is not heated and the April weather was not hot enough to provide a warm pool, but it was pleasant to sunbathe up there.

Breakfast was a strange but pleasant affair. The room was dated and could use some upgrading but mostly the offering was slightly weird - Brussels sprouts and all...
Also, if you like tea, bring your own teabags for the morning, the tea is not nice.

There is a computer room for the guests free use to browse and a luggage holding room if you have a late flight.

El Corte Ingles is a 2 min walk down the street. It is a huge department store, including a food court at the bottom.
There is a Zara clothes shop at the end of the road too.
Sephora is in most malls, and easy to find.
Although most places say Columbo Shopping is a great place to go, it's really not worth it, don't bother!


Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Isthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for a four day city break.

Rooms. Not big not small, clean and smart, beds comfy but as mentioned pillows are like wet tea bags but nothing to put you off, some street/corridor noise at night , air con worked ok as did the wi- fi no problems at all

Location. A little out of the way and the area as a whole is quite quiet, but the metro is literally a stones throw away. The area is not packed with restaurants but has enough nearby if you do not wish to travel to anywhere to eat.

Breakfast:- typical buffet breakfast continental /chain hotel style , if you want a full English it's not going to happen ! But a large selection of bread,cake,yogurts,cheese,ham,cereal,coffee,tea,juice, scrambled egg,hash brown,tinned mini sausages ,tinned mushrooms etc is there and yes there are carrots and Brussels sprouts available for breakfast and I did see at least two people eating them ! And it wasn't Xmas . Does get a bit busy later on in the morning and saw people queuing a couple of time but not for long.

Swimming pool, nice to come back to after a day out but don't expect an Olympic size pool with sun beds coming out of your ears, 13 beds in total and it can a little busy. But very pleasant .

Overall a good pleasant stay nothing to put anyone off ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just returned from a long weekend break, staying at the Sana Reno Hotel. As others have stated, this is really convenient to the Metro, and direct from the Airport...a little confusing at first on exits from the Metro (you need to go from the Red Line, through to the Blue line platforms to get out directly opposite the hotel) but it's very easy once you work it out. Others have also said that the walk into the main district is only half an hour (fairly true), though with the many steep climbs, I'd save my energy next time and use the bountiful (and cheap!) taxi's or metro to get around.
The hotel itself is modern, clean and functional - can't comment on the rooftop pool as the weather didn't warrant its use. Rooms are spacious, with everything you need for a short break. Small gripes would be the heating/temp controls that didn't seem to be able to be altered in individual rooms, the pillows (terrible, polyester things that in no way provided any support) and the thin towels in the bathrooms. The bath itself was a marvel - plenty of hot water, and the tub fills up very quickly!
Breakfast is okay, not great, not awful - I'd stick to the continental rolls and fruits - didn't try the "cooked" options as they just weren't appealing looking...watery scrambled eggs, little artificial looking sausages and flaccid bacon.
Overall, and for the price, I'd definitely recommend this hotel, though for my next visit would probably prefer something a little closer in to the central part of the city.
Do visit El Corte Ingles, in the new Shopping Centre on the corner - the supermarket is huge, cheap and has an excellent selection of wines, ports and local specialities as well as any essentials you might need for your trip. And, at the end of a day's hard walking about the city, head up the hill from Avenida metro station to Pavih-o Chines on Rua Dom Pedro V - a wonderful cocktail bar (fairly hidden) next to the American Vintage store. It has an extensive list of wonderful cocktails (be aware that service is a little on the slow side) and small snacks to bide you over until dinner, and the decor is well worth a visit in itself. Down the hill (towards the Parthenon) from Cathedral you'll find wonderful little bars and restaurants too, where most nights they have performances of Fado - choose ones where the performance is free, and the drinks plentiful and inexpensive!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank City_Traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I think I finally may have found the right place to stay at an affordable price in Lisbon.
The room was large, with two comfortable beds, nice bathroom, good wifi, looking clean. The breakfast was Ok, not too good, but not under standard for a 3 star hotel. In the summer, the hotel must be even nicer, because of the small swimming pool in the 8th floor. View from there is great, but it was raining when I visited so I didn't stayed long. It seems that the parking at the hotel is complicated, but the hotel is close to the underground station (some 7 minute walk), in a nice neighborhood. The hotel is central, I walked from there to the Saldanha square. Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NGarcia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and 5 celebrated my 50th birthday in Lisbon and stayed here - memorable in many ways.

The location is good - quiet area, but just a few minutes anywhere by Metro or half an hour leisurely stroll downtown (recommended!). The staff was very positive and helpful, room was light and clean - we had one on the top floor with a balcony - that can be recommended as well. Even so, the price was very reasonable.

Breakfast was OK, room service menu as well. Since there is no restaurant in the hotel, this is understandable. You won´t really notice it, though, there are many good wateringholes within 5-6 blocks if you feel hunger og thirst.

We will consider this seriously if we return to Lisbon.

Room Tip: On top, with a balcony, is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjetil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This Hotel is side by a Metro Station. It takes about 15 minutes from/to the airport Station. It is Two blocks way from El Corte Ingles Mall and offers a very good price. Nice breakfast and new room (710) was clean enough. Recommend when in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laporte07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my brother stayed there for two nights nothing to complain about except the lack of free wifi otherwise cheap and clean you could see the metrostation from over window and there is a pool area on the roof with a sauna aswell and the staff spoke good english and was really helpful. Would return

Thank Freyr L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#104 of 255 in Lisbon
683 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
0.5 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#39 of 255 in Lisbon
1,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#119 of 255 in Lisbon
2,821 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#154 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Reno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Reno Hotel

Address: Avenida Duque de Avila 195 197, Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#78 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £55 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Reno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Lisbon, SANA Reno Hotel offers a privileged location for those that come to Lisbon for business or pleasure: The underground station opposite the hotel allows you to reach, in just 10 minutes, both the historical centre, and the new area of Lisbon, Parque das Nações. With a classic style that characterises the rooms, the lobby and bar, the SANA Reno Hotel stands out through its unique comfort, spaciousness and infrastructure. At the top of the hotel, the swimming pool allows you to enjoy the sun and heat of Lisbon and the sauna, relaxing after a day of leisure or work. SANA Reno Hotel also offers 4 rooms for organising Meetings and Events in Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SANA Reno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Classic Reno Lisbon
Hotel Sana Classic Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing