We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of SANA Reno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SANA Reno Hotel
Ranked #95 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night before an early flight departure. The hotel is cheap and in a good location. The bed was comfortable, but as some users have previously mentioned the pillows are of very poor quality. I must note that the hotel itself is dated and feels very dark and somewhat tired. The rooms are small, dark, and the restaurant and bar are also very dark and dreary feeling. The pool deck and terrace are a reasonble place to escape, though the views leave something to be desired. We ordered food at the restaurant and the server gave us both the incorrect meals (I ordered vegetarian pasta and got some noodles with bacon, my husband ordered the quiche and got a ham and cheese sandwich- these items weren't even listed on the menu???).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    386
    102
    11
    6
See reviews for
106
308
28
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here across the easter weekend. The hotel is well situated across from the metro line(San Sebastiao stop on blue and red line) The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was just ok, nothing special but sufficient.The staff were courteous and friendly.
We were disappointed that upon checking in we were informed that the hotel was over booked and we would have to stay in their sister hotel which was located much further out of town. This mix up did dampen our overall experience, however the hotel did ensure we were driven to the new hotel and back the next morning at their expense, which was the least they could do.
Overall the hotel is well located with friendly multi lingual staff. I would recommend it as an ideal base to explore the city of lisbon from.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is in a great spot for access to the Metro, across the road! If you like walking and seeing the sights it's around the corner from the Gulbenkian museum and park. Up the hill to he amazing Avenida Liberdade where all the designer shops are next to each other and stroll down there to the coast and see the trams and the amazing lift in the square. Get back to the hotel and relax in the pool on the roof (not overlooked) bar service by the pool available at very economic prices too. Service is spot on, crisp white sheets and cleanliness in rooms great! Only one negative, the restaurant is a little small and there can be a bit of a queue sometimes.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lifts as returning revellers can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomagwya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askdfn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my father in April and it was a lovely experience.
As many other reviews mentioned, it is not in the centre of Lisbon, however the Metro station is right outside the door, quite literally! It doesn't take long to get anywhere you want to go, so don't be put off by this aspect.

Walking into the hotel, the entrance is spacious and fresh, although the decor of the lobby is dated, there is a big TV on which they will play the football on request in the evenings.

The staff at reception are all bilingual and can speak fluent English. They are very friendly, perhaps they could be slightly more efficient.
Possibly every morning, we asked them for directions/ideas for the days activities and they provided free maps and fantastic suggestions.

There are 8 floors in total in the hotel, on the 8th in the pool and some other rooms.
The two lifts work perfectly, no clunking or getting stuck and having your room near the lift proves no problem at all. The lift plays gentle music which we thought was a nice touch.

The hallways are very energy efficient and the lights click on as you walk towards them.

Our bedroom was very clean, two single beds and a big window. We have a wardrobe, with a lot of space although more hangers were needed. There was a safe which was adequately sized - passport, keys, phones, iPads and perhaps a small laptop. As the maid cleans the room, usually while you are at breakfast, we found this a good place to keep everything secure. There was a TV, which did have some English TV on it but the majority was Portuguese with English subtitles. There was a mini-bar with some drinks/snacks but obviously very expensive as you would expect. The wifi around the hotel was free, on check-in, you request the username and password and contrary to other reviews, I found it speedy and efficient. FYI -you can watch YouTube, but Netflix does not work.

The bathroom was immaculate, similar to the rest of the hotel. In our twin room, there was a toilet, a bidet, a sink and a bath/shower unit. The bath was very comfortable, although small on first glance was very good and filled up with hot water in seconds. There was a hair dryer (with weak power as most hotels have, but good enough) and behind the huge sink was a huge mirror with a magnifying mirror also.
My only compliant for the bathroom would be that I would like hooks on the back of the door to hang clean clothes while showering.

THERE WERE NO TEA/COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES IN ROOMS. This is something I would change!

The rooftop pool was nice. I think they read and understood previous reviews and added more sun loungers. There were plenty to go round. The pool is not heated and the April weather was not hot enough to provide a warm pool, but it was pleasant to sunbathe up there.

Breakfast was a strange but pleasant affair. The room was dated and could use some upgrading but mostly the offering was slightly weird - Brussels sprouts and all...
Also, if you like tea, bring your own teabags for the morning, the tea is not nice.

There is a computer room for the guests free use to browse and a luggage holding room if you have a late flight.

El Corte Ingles is a 2 min walk down the street. It is a huge department store, including a food court at the bottom.
There is a Zara clothes shop at the end of the road too.
Sephora is in most malls, and easy to find.
Although most places say Columbo Shopping is a great place to go, it's really not worth it, don't bother!


Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Isthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for a four day city break.

Rooms. Not big not small, clean and smart, beds comfy but as mentioned pillows are like wet tea bags but nothing to put you off, some street/corridor noise at night , air con worked ok as did the wi- fi no problems at all

Location. A little out of the way and the area as a whole is quite quiet, but the metro is literally a stones throw away. The area is not packed with restaurants but has enough nearby if you do not wish to travel to anywhere to eat.

Breakfast:- typical buffet breakfast continental /chain hotel style , if you want a full English it's not going to happen ! But a large selection of bread,cake,yogurts,cheese,ham,cereal,coffee,tea,juice, scrambled egg,hash brown,tinned mini sausages ,tinned mushrooms etc is there and yes there are carrots and Brussels sprouts available for breakfast and I did see at least two people eating them ! And it wasn't Xmas . Does get a bit busy later on in the morning and saw people queuing a couple of time but not for long.

Swimming pool, nice to come back to after a day out but don't expect an Olympic size pool with sun beds coming out of your ears, 13 beds in total and it can a little busy. But very pleasant .

Overall a good pleasant stay nothing to put anyone off ;-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just returned from a long weekend break, staying at the Sana Reno Hotel. As others have stated, this is really convenient to the Metro, and direct from the Airport...a little confusing at first on exits from the Metro (you need to go from the Red Line, through to the Blue line platforms to get out directly opposite the hotel) but it's very easy once you work it out. Others have also said that the walk into the main district is only half an hour (fairly true), though with the many steep climbs, I'd save my energy next time and use the bountiful (and cheap!) taxi's or metro to get around.
The hotel itself is modern, clean and functional - can't comment on the rooftop pool as the weather didn't warrant its use. Rooms are spacious, with everything you need for a short break. Small gripes would be the heating/temp controls that didn't seem to be able to be altered in individual rooms, the pillows (terrible, polyester things that in no way provided any support) and the thin towels in the bathrooms. The bath itself was a marvel - plenty of hot water, and the tub fills up very quickly!
Breakfast is okay, not great, not awful - I'd stick to the continental rolls and fruits - didn't try the "cooked" options as they just weren't appealing looking...watery scrambled eggs, little artificial looking sausages and flaccid bacon.
Overall, and for the price, I'd definitely recommend this hotel, though for my next visit would probably prefer something a little closer in to the central part of the city.
Do visit El Corte Ingles, in the new Shopping Centre on the corner - the supermarket is huge, cheap and has an excellent selection of wines, ports and local specialities as well as any essentials you might need for your trip. And, at the end of a day's hard walking about the city, head up the hill from Avenida metro station to Pavih-o Chines on Rua Dom Pedro V - a wonderful cocktail bar (fairly hidden) next to the American Vintage store. It has an extensive list of wonderful cocktails (be aware that service is a little on the slow side) and small snacks to bide you over until dinner, and the decor is well worth a visit in itself. Down the hill (towards the Parthenon) from Cathedral you'll find wonderful little bars and restaurants too, where most nights they have performances of Fado - choose ones where the performance is free, and the drinks plentiful and inexpensive!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank City_Traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covilha, Portugal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I think I finally may have found the right place to stay at an affordable price in Lisbon.
The room was large, with two comfortable beds, nice bathroom, good wifi, looking clean. The breakfast was Ok, not too good, but not under standard for a 3 star hotel. In the summer, the hotel must be even nicer, because of the small swimming pool in the 8th floor. View from there is great, but it was raining when I visited so I didn't stayed long. It seems that the parking at the hotel is complicated, but the hotel is close to the underground station (some 7 minute walk), in a nice neighborhood. The hotel is central, I walked from there to the Saldanha square. Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGarcia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.7 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
SANA Executive Hotel
SANA Executive Hotel
#96 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#62 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#132 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#85 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Reno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Reno Hotel

Property: SANA Reno Hotel
Address: Avenida Duque de Avila 195 197, Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Reno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Lisbon, SANA Reno Hotel offers a privileged location for those that come to Lisbon for business or pleasure: The underground station opposite the hotel allows you to reach, in just 10 minutes, both the historical centre, and the new area of Lisbon, Parque das Nações. With a classic style that characterises the rooms, the lobby and bar, the SANA Reno Hotel stands out through its unique comfort, spaciousness and infrastructure. At the top of the hotel, the swimming pool allows you to enjoy the sun and heat of Lisbon and the sauna, relaxing after a day of leisure or work. SANA Reno Hotel also offers 4 rooms for organising Meetings and Events in Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SANA Reno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Classic Reno Lisbon
Hotel Sana Classic Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing