We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel
Ranked #215 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed here for about 6 days during August. As a first caveat,the building is old, and so the rooms and the interior also look a bit old. If you're looking for a very fancy hotel with well-decorated, luxurious interiors, I wouldn't exactly suggest this hotel.

However, if you are looking for value, I would absolute recommend the VIP. Though they are a bit older, the rooms are cozy and well kept. The rooms have air conditioning, coffee, tea and even a small balcony. The staff is very friendly and the cleaning services do a nice job as well. On a side note, the rooms are fairly larger than average, which is good if you need some extra space for your stuff. Location-wise, this hotel is very close to the best sights. The metro, which take you anywhere is about 5 min away, and if you even wanted to walk, it's about a 15-20min walk to the downtown core.

Overall, though it may not be a super luxurious hotel, if you're looking for quality for a good price, I would highly suggest the VIP. It's comfortable, close and best of all, cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Nice Hotel close to the main Avenida da liberdade, clean rooms, quiet. Room had TV, air conditioning and kettle ...my only dissapointment was that the tea did not offer normal tea only flavoured ( I am not a coffee drinker) but that is only a little critism. Slept like a baby and the staff were friendly and polite... make sure you have a credit card with you (or visa) as they need it just incase you use any services.... also obviously your passport or identity card.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwenllian49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The best thing about vip diplomatic is the price quality relation (52€ double room) the rooms are large and quiet with comfy beds and balcony! The location is the best in lisbon 2 min walk to the metro right in lisbon city center you can walk to the main attractions! The car park is free. The staff was very nice and helpfull. I think it s a good choice,the hotel is not super fancy but has everything you need for a nice weekend trip to lisbon.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frederico_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Definitely not 4 Star. Nothing VIP about this hotel. Room on 7th Flr and have to tell you our room looked very very tired. Carpets worn out, beds hard as rock and walls paper thin and disturbed every night with noises from next door. For 4 days they were fixing the WIFI and no internet. Don't think they have had internet for a while.
Last day noticed bites suspect bed bugs unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FUNDIHONGKONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed here three nights. This is run down and old compared to other options at the same price in better locations. The elevator is downright scary. A large group of us were in town for a major event and this place was bottom of the barrel amongst all of our friends. Our friends all paid about the same and stayed at way better, more modern places than this by the exhibition grounds. We chose this place because it looks close to barrio alto on the expedia map. It's not. In fact, it isn't really close to anything worthwhile.

During our visit, the front desk sent us merrily walking up a steep hill to a closed restaurant, sent us to what turned out to be a known and notoriously slummy (among the locals) part of the beach on overcrowded public transportation, and suggested a nightclub where a friend (also a guest of this hotel) was robbed and beaten. Upon returning from the robbing and beating incident, front desk staff, despite speaking OK English, made no effort to communicate with the Portuguese people we needed to work with (we don't speak Portuguese).

Next beef - we purchased wifi access and were given a card with a username and password. Which the maid stole or threw away while we were out. Upon telling our amigos at the front desk, they grudgingly replaced our access card with a total of three non-working cards. We finally got a username with like 12 minutes of access despite paying for two hours. Losing a few buck is no big deal. Running up and down stairs for twenty minutes trying to figure this out in the process of losing a few bucks was infuriating.

Next- these guys have actual, metal keys for the rooms that they will not let you take out of the hotel. So, you have to ask the wonderful staff to have the key to your room every time you come back. I felt like I was asking my dad for something.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mparallel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This is a nice hotel. I was so fortunate as to have a room at the back, facing the courtyards and not the road. "Sound Proof Rooms" as mentioned in descriptions (found on other websites) however do not really exist, unless this is available for business meeting rooms only. At several times, I was woken up by people in the next room having a shower or flushing the toilet. In the mornings it was the cleaners making a noise in the hallway.
All in all, it was decent, clean and the staff nice. Room was spacious. There was a kettle and cups for making tea, a telly and a small balcony. All rooms are air-conditioned.
Wireless Internet access was available, but had to be paid for. I found it at €3.00/1hr, €5.00/24hrs and €10.00/3 days fairly expensive, though. I agree with previous reviews that it does not really deserve the 4 star rating as the hotel does need some TLC.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I stayed at the VIP Diplomatico Hotel for three nights at the end of April/beginning of May with my girlfriend.

We had been due to visit Lisbon a couple of weeks before staying at the Residential Alegria, but had to cancel due to volcanic ash. We were unable to rebook at the Residential Alegria as it was full (and we lost the cost of one nights accommodation) but were able to get a double room at the VIP Diplomatico. We paid 52 Euros a night, as part of a promotion they were running.

If you are thinking about staying at the VIP Diplomatico then don’t be fooled by the website, grand name or it’s four star rating. It is a rather dated hotel, with old fashioned and tired furnishings, worn carpets and an old style lift. The bed was also two singles pushed together, which I know causes a problem for some people.

The bedroom had a TV with a number of English channels, limited tea and coffee making facilities, a mini-bar and a safe (which I believe you had to pay extra for). The staff were helpful and spoke good English. We didn’t have breakfast or use the bar, so I can’t comment on that.

It is a good 25 minute walk to the centre of Lisbon (potentially longer depending upon where you were going). It is well placed for buses and the metro, but we found it somewhat inconvenient and too far out for our liking.

We would also laugh as we walked past the very grand looking Sofitel hotel on Avenida da Liberdade as it had the same four star rating as the dated VIP Diplomatico! Whilst there is nothing particularly wrong with the VIP Diplomatico, I don't believe it deserves a four star rating. I would stay there again, but I would try and find somewhere more central first.

I would also suggest that if you are expecting luxury or modern facilities that you look elsewhere. However, if you are able to get a good rate and don’t mind being some way out of the centre then this could be the place for you. Just don’t expect too much.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staines27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.3 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel 3K Madrid
Hotel 3K Madrid
#174 of 255 in Lisbon
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
VIP Executive Marques Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lisboa Central Park
Lisboa Central Park
#181 of 255 in Lisbon
271 reviews
1.3 mi away
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
#239 of 255 in Lisbon
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vip Executive Saldanha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 74, Lisbon 1250-071, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £46 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel is a four star hotel with a unique design. With 90 rooms all equipped to provide the highest comfort both for leisure and business travellers. After a working day you can have a drink or a cocktail at the Hotel Bar.For events the Hotels offers 4 meeting rooms where you may hold meetings, seminars and conferences.The Hotel VIP Executive Diplomatico is located in the Downtown Lisbon, next to Marques do Pombal square and the Parque Eduardo VII. Its privileged location makes this Hotel the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Diplomatico Lisbon
Hotel Vip Diplomatico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing