We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Star Hotel?? Are you having a laugh??!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel
Ranked #198 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“4 Star Hotel?? Are you having a laugh??!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

So we pulled up and the heavily creased flags outside were just the start! We go through to reception and its not too bad, a little dirty but I can live with that.

We then go up to our room in the tiniest ever list that smells of an unwashed man. We come out of the lift to a very dated and damp ridden landing. We then walk in to the room which from a distance doesn't look to bad. The wardrobes were battered and need to be refurbished but again I can live with that.

Then I went into the bathroom and had to wade through a sea of hairs (YES HAIRS!!!) on the bathroom floor. I felt sick!! Never in my life have I been so disgusted!! The shower curtain was closed so I pulled it back to reveal a dirty, scummy old bath with as many hairs as what were on the bathroom floor! Between the broken shower head and heavily stained towels I couldn't have had a shower even if I had wanted one!!

I then went around the room to check if everything else was ok. To my disgust I pulled back the bedding to reveal even more hairs!! Seriously this person must have had no more hairs on there body! They were all over the room!

In my opinion they need to scale down the size of the TV and invest in some decent cleaners.

Never in my life will I step foot in that hotel I would have given it 1 star let alone 4!!!!

Please do not enter!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiex5x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    129
    116
    48
    24
See reviews for
52
139
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel is very outdated. My room had a filthy carpet and all the furnishings looked very tired. Wardrobe horrible and smelly inside. Tea and coffee comprised 5 sachets of sugar and a crumpled camomile tea bag. Minibar had drinks but no snacks, and was not replenished. No clock/bedside radio. Wifi signal extremely weak and frequently dropped out. In room info there is a passing mention of room service available for drinks, breakfast and snacks, but you don't get a menu anywhere telling you what you can order. Walls between rooms very thin, and plumbing very loud. Reception staff lovely, and my bed was comfy and spotless - which are the only good things I can say. Five mins steep uphill walk from major metro station, which is good, but there is nothing to do at all in the area outside the hotel. I would not even class this timewarp of a place as a 3 star, never mind a 4. Not what I expected at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrabarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you like the plastic chains this one is not for you. It has old-world charm and spacious interiors tastefully furnished, especially the foyer is worth a second look. It is quiet (excellent lifts), and the staff are calm and courteous - nothing too much trouble. Location in a quiet street just behind the main Avenida Liberdade a nice walk away from the centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is somewhat old but it is quiet and clean. (A somewhat negative is that rooms have integrated carpet which I personally dislike despite the fact that they looked clean).
People at the reception are polite and helpful.
The hotel is really close to metro station Marques de Pombal (5 mins max walking) and at the same close to the exit of the city towards the airport.

The only negative thing is that they tried to charge us a bottle of water on our check out but I guest this was an administrative mistake.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Excellent care to the guest.
As I have been several times in Lisbon and in so many in hotels I was a litle anxious because I was there to participate in the Lisbon Half -Marathon which took place at 10:30 as a consequence I was thinking that it would be complicated to took a bath afterwards but in the moment that I told that on the concierge the staff promptly told me to stay until 14:00 without any extra charge.
So after the race I went back to the hotel relaxed a bit and then leaved the hotel at more or less at 14:30 . Hotel staff always with a very polite atitude.
They have two customers!

Room Tip: Room 603 big by Lisbon or Portuguese standards a big window with the possible view to Praça do Marqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank messup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

It was my second stay at this hotel. Although it is an old partially renewed hotel, its location, staff friendliness which gives a "brazilian" comfort and overall services, as its breakfast, offers a good stay in the wonderful Lisbon. I should consider staying at Vip Diplomatico even compared to the other Vip hotels in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gljamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had the misfortune to spend 2 nights here after our chosen hotel (Clarion Suites) had a power failure.

The hotel is NOT a 4 star. It may have been 40 years ago but it is now definitely a 3 star. The decor does not appear to have been touched since the 1970s and many of the stains in the room probably date from that period. The staff were decidely unfriendly, with the aged breakfast waiter a real stand out.

The only upsides were the power shower and the comofrtable bed.

Unless you get this hotel at a snip, my advice is to stay away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dar268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
VIP Executive Marques Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Vip Executive Saldanha Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel 3K Madrid
Hotel 3K Madrid
#168 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#100 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#180 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel

Property: VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel
Address: Rua Castilho 74, Lisbon 1250-071, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel is a four star hotel with a unique design. With 90 rooms all equipped to provide the highest comfort both for leisure and business travellers. After a working day you can have a drink or a cocktail at the Hotel Bar.For events the Hotels offers 4 meeting rooms where you may hold meetings, seminars and conferences.The Hotel VIP Executive Diplomatico is located in the Downtown Lisbon, next to Marques do Pombal square and the Parque Eduardo VII. Its privileged location makes this Hotel the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Diplomatico Lisbon
Hotel Vip Diplomatico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing