We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel
Ranked #195 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Nottm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We stayed at the VIP Diplomatico from 14 - 18 May 2008. We read a lot of hotel reviews and were non the wiser to which hotel to choose: so many differing opinions but we found the hotel to be more than adequate for a few nights and would not hesitate to stay there again, or hesitate to recommend it. It was a good walk down to the centre and back - but we like to walk so it wasn't a problem for us. There are ample busses just round the corner from the hotel if you prefer. The rooms were very clean and we especially liked the little ante-room between the corridor and the bedroom which mean't we didn't hear any noise from the hallways. The previous reviewer didn't like the beds but we loved them - the bedding was immaculate and having tea/coffee making facilities in the room was a real bonus. The breakfast was repetitive but that would go for any hotel. There was a hot / cold savoury selection; sweet pastries; fresh fruit salad / yoghurts and fresh fruit. The coffee was especially excellent. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The Airport Shuttle bus stops right outside the hotel (both ways) and is €3 each. We took a taxi to the hotel which cost €14 - although there was only €6 on the clock - someone else we spoke to had been charged €25! Going back to the airport we had the bus to ourselves! Lisbon was great and we will definitely be back - a trip to Sintra is a must only €3.60 return on the train and extremely easy to do. If you turn right as you come out of the train station there is a little scenic tour bus which costs €4 return. This takes you up to the palace which was spectacular.

  • Liked — We liked the whole package - especially the fact we could relax with a tea/coffee between 'treks'
  • Disliked — The magnifying mirror in the bathroom - scary if you are over 21!!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    132
    120
    48
    24
See reviews for
53
141
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Near metro and buses. Many attractions were within a 25 min. walking distance. Our room away from the street was quiet and had a nice view of the city. The staff spoke fairly good English and were helpful. Our biggest complaint would be that the bed and pillows were hard.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — hard bed/pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DHDUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2007

We stayed at the Diplomatico in Lisbon in September 2007. We got two rooms for which we paid $76 Euro each. The rooms are very adequate, spacious, and clean. The location is excellent for sightseeing. Parking was complimentary, and breakfast first class. Internet was available for a small fee, and the Wi-fi worked very efficiently.

We highly recommend this hotel for a short stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
where else..
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We drove our jeep with 2 kids (9 &11) from London via Tours and Biarritz, Michelin guide in hand , without having booked anything in advance. Our priorty was to find a clean hotel with a room that would accommodate all 4 of us and its own car park- with a budget of no more than £100/night- not that easy,in high season with no notice. Ideally we wanted somewhere with charm and character that was recognisably Portuguese rather than an anonymous chain hotel that could be anywhere in the world...well we certainlyhad to compromise on that, given that we were tired and hungry. The Diplomatico is, as its name suggests, an efficient, officey, functional sort of place that a conservative civil servant might like, not arty or stylish or bohemian.. Nevertheless we really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The elderly gentleman at Reception was very polite and respectful, very helpful giving us a map and suggesting a wonderful restaurant nearby which we could walk to and order inspite of the late hour ( it served the most scrumptious and exquisitely fresh octopus salad).
Unlike some other Portuguese hotels, breakfast was included and plentiful.Deliciously crispy bacon, eggs, sausages. Different varities of cakes and breads, cereals, juices ( not tang/ squash), fruit salads, yoghurts, teas, coffees, etc- all fresh and regularly replenished.The atmosphere was calm and civilised and metropolitan.
The decor certainly wasn't Conran Shop- stylish nor was it unbearably naff, just rather dated and in need of a makeover,
though well cared for and maintained and not at all sad or scruffy. We've stayed in far classier hotels, but felt this one was very good value indeed, all we needed to explore the city from a central base.Tea/ coffee and kettle in the room was a nice touch.
The room was spacious, well lit and spotless. The view from the window was nothing to write home about, but all we needed was somewhere to crash, and this suited us admirably. We would certainly stay there again with the kids. What more could one want for only £50 a night!

Helpful?
1 Thank culturedlondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

After leaving the Algarve we made our way to Lisbon. We stayed here and was not sure what to expect. I read many reviews about this hotel and again was very surprised. It was adorable. The location is Perfect, it is not in the center of everything it is about a 10 - 25 minute walk to the Barrio Alto and Baixa. Along the way you pass great shops and cafes (check out Bela Ipanema). The hotel is clean, the staff is extremely friendly. They exchange currency by the way. The rooms were clean and large with very comfortable beds. Its a small hotel only about 6 floors, they have breakfast in the morning and its pretty good... the coffee in Portugal is great!!! Its a great stay and affordable... but stay longer then 2 nights there.... we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — The location - the rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fanny300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. Great little hotel, large room, nice view, liked the balcony. The only drawback was the scary lifts! I think they need to be replaced.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2007

Went for a long weekend and loved Lisbon.
The hotel is just ok, the rooms are large but in need of modernisation, everything worked fine but very dated.
The location is only suited to those who love walking which was lucky for us as it was at least 20 minutes of hill walking to the centre. The staff were not very friendly but then again we did not speak Portuguese so thats not a very fair comment.
Overall I would not stay there again but was not unhappy with out time there.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LH&JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
VIP Executive Marques Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Vip Executive Saldanha Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel 3K Madrid
Hotel 3K Madrid
#165 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#110 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#147 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel

Property: VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel
Address: Rua Castilho 74, Lisbon 1250-071, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel is a four star hotel with a unique design. With 90 rooms all equipped to provide the highest comfort both for leisure and business travellers. After a working day you can have a drink or a cocktail at the Hotel Bar.For events the Hotels offers 4 meeting rooms where you may hold meetings, seminars and conferences.The Hotel VIP Executive Diplomatico is located in the Downtown Lisbon, next to Marques do Pombal square and the Parque Eduardo VII. Its privileged location makes this Hotel the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Diplomatico Lisbon
Hotel Vip Diplomatico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing