We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel
Ranked #215 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It might not be a luxury hotel, but it is definitely a good hotel - clean, comfortable beds, very spacious room and bathroom, a big wardrobe and space in front of it to place your suitcases, very good location, double glazing to protect from the noise outside. Very good value for money. If we visit Lisbon again we shall definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfaldjyiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Most definitely not a 4 star hotel!! The bedrooms are bleak to say the least. The furnishings are dated and would look more at home on The Antiques Road Show.

There is no atmosphere or people in and around the hotel.

The bar was open one night in the three that we stayed - and the one night we did order the bartender was so surprised she had a customer it took her at least 10 minutes to serve a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. She was lovely, but not very efficient.

It's not the worst place I've ever stayed, but be under no illusion this is not a 4 star establishment by any stretch of the imagination. It's not even 3.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank comml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It´’s a renewed old hotel from the sixties.
The lobby is wide and nice. The bedrooms are comfortable. Its location is very good – in the center of Lisbon with underground and taxis around.
If you don’t need luxury and want to pay a low price, take this chance.

Room Tip: Ask first to see the room. Feel free to ask to change if you don't like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArturVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I book this Hotel as a 4 starts, but the Hotel is very old, it is as much a low 3 star Hotel. The breakfast is mild. The room furniture is very old and is falling apart. The walls are very thin, we can ear the rooms next door easily.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nbcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I just returned from staying at this 4 star hotel. I am confounded by some remarks. I am a perpetual complainer, and I expect value for money. I have written many reviews. This is the first hotel that I have only a positive impression about. Clean, comfortable, every facility, great location and on the whole excellent value. It is not a 5 star but then again, I dare say the rates will continue to be very reasonable. Staff friendly, accessible and accommodating. Rooms clean and comfortable. For the first time ever I experience no noise. When approaching staff for information/requests, they clearly couldn't do enough to please guests. If you find greater value for the money in Lisbon n a central location adjacent to the metro, I will eat my hat. Bes rest assured, this is a secure, reliable find and a very comfortable, quiet stay.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are silent and many have lounges attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soletraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's OK, but a bit far from the sightseeing area. It's close to the main Avenue of the city, but it's the other end of it. It's about 30 min walking to the actual downtown and all the other sightseeing areas.
Nevertheless it's in a nice area, connected to buses, subways etc and next to a very nice park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed for 8 nights at the Diplomatico. Booked in haste as a Lastminute.com secret hotel. The hotel is advertised as a 4 star, as the other reviews all say, it is no where near a 4 star hotel. In the early 80s it definitely would have been at the top of its game. The reception is reasonably impressive but clearly no money has been spent in the remaining areas of the hotel. We paid £18 per night each to stay here and personally for that money it was adequate, if we had booked earlier we would have found a nicer, more modern hotel for a similar price. If you are looking for luxury or a business class hotel this is not for you. For us it was somewhere to put our head down whilst we were at a festival and out drinking/exploring.

The Room,
Positives: Twin room, very big and split into two separate rooms with almost a lobby room then a bedroom with a bathroom in between. Their was also a balcony with a good view of the street. The room was clean and the beds were comfy.

Negatives: Safe costs €3 per day, The bathroom is very dated, 90s white tiles and a poor shower. The fridge didn't work and the tea/coffee facilities were terrible. The cleaners just make the bed and give the bathroom a quick spruce.

I wouldn't stay here again as I know that there are much nicer hotels for the same money. The staff are older Portuguese with less emphasis on great customer service but they are pleasant once you break down the barriers and get to know them a little.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Qifuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.3 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel 3K Madrid
Hotel 3K Madrid
#174 of 255 in Lisbon
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
VIP Executive Marques Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
#239 of 255 in Lisbon
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vip Executive Saldanha Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#131 of 255 in Lisbon
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 74, Lisbon 1250-071, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel is a four star hotel with a unique design. With 90 rooms all equipped to provide the highest comfort both for leisure and business travellers. After a working day you can have a drink or a cocktail at the Hotel Bar.For events the Hotels offers 4 meeting rooms where you may hold meetings, seminars and conferences.The Hotel VIP Executive Diplomatico is located in the Downtown Lisbon, next to Marques do Pombal square and the Parque Eduardo VII. Its privileged location makes this Hotel the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Diplomatico Lisbon
Hotel Vip Diplomatico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing